Community discussions

 
LifeDS
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:49 pm

Dude lost data

Tue Sep 12, 2017 1:35 pm

Hi,

re-posting on new topic as my previous post was disapproved. :(
Indeed I answered an old topic, but i couldn't find any other post talking about that problem other than a 2013 old one.

We are using RouterOS 6.40.3 on a KVM (Proxmox host) : works great.
We started to use Dude 6.40.3 :
- package is installed on RouterOS VM.
- using Dude client from Windows.

We lost all dude data (network maps, function, etc...) twice in a week on a RouteROS VM reboot.
We found this bug was already known, and supposed to be fixed since 6.38 (which is obviously not).

We are looking for something to monitor our IOTs network.

So my questions are :
Is Dude considered as a stable product ready for production ? or not ?
Is Mikrotik working to fix this "heavy" bug ?
Should we have a look on an alternative ?

Thanks a lot for exposing your point of view.
 
benjamimgois
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 10:36 pm

Re: Dude lost data

Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:17 pm

I also would like to have a official answer to this question. I don´t know if i can trust 6.40.3 yet, i still on version 3.6 that still working fine for me.
--
Telecomunications Engineer
Cisco CCNP, CCNA, CCDP, CCDA
 
eriitguy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:16 pm

Re: Dude lost data

Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:03 pm

LifeDS,

May you provide more details when issue is reproduced?
For example:
1. Start VM with CHR.
2. After 24 hours - reboot ROS from Winbox.
3. After start all data is lost.

I see that we have more that 100 days of uptime on our ESXi without any issue. Some time we reboot it. And also, once a week create a backup.


Thank you!
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5830
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Dude lost data

Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:44 pm

How did you install that VM? On ESXi, using the distributed .vmdk files without changing the disk type to SCSI (i.e. use as IDE)
leads to this problem.
Fortunately now there is a .ova file which has the correct disk type. Install your VM from that and it probably is fixed.
 
empwebs
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2015 3:48 am

Re: Dude lost data

Thu Sep 28, 2017 6:06 am

Would like to have some feedback on this as well.

We consistently experience disappearing bg image. Even on the storage, the background file is deleted.

Our RouterOS is installed in a Hyper-V Environment.
 
Ciambot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:22 pm

Re: Dude lost data

Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:42 am

Every week I lose all my background large images (about 3-5 Mbyte).
Installation on x86 with a lot of resources.
I've tried until 6.39.1

Can this bug solved?
 
empwebs
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2015 3:48 am

Re: Dude lost data

Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:46 am

any update on this???
 
benjamimgois
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 10:36 pm

Re: Dude lost data

Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:28 pm

Every week I lose all my background large images (about 3-5 Mbyte).
Installation on x86 with a lot of resources.
I've tried until 6.39.1

Can this bug solved?
I also have this problem. Every week my custom icons just vanish from nothing... I´m running x86 6.41. Any update about it ?
--
Telecomunications Engineer
Cisco CCNP, CCNA, CCDP, CCDA
 
Ciambot
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:22 pm

Re: Dude lost data

Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:36 pm

Any update?
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Dude lost data

Thu Apr 26, 2018 3:09 pm

Seems that the dude development is postponed again like it was few years ago. What reaction came back to you when you sent an error report to support? Provided you did that...
 
blackangel84
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 7:40 pm

Re: Dude lost data

Thu Jul 05, 2018 7:43 pm

Same problem here

ESXi 6.7 VM of RouterOS.... HELP!!!!
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Dude lost data

Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:55 pm

I am facing the same problem again and again. There is no other solution than importing older backup and loose the recent data.

Mikrotik probably doesn't care about the dude at all. At least there is no other explanation for the silence so far.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1740
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Dude lost data

Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:29 pm

I tried it with CCR and rb750gr3, same problem

daily backups and constant restoring every time a power outage occurs

to reboot router i had to stop the dude and wait several minutes before rebooting, if not the dude corrupts


after the launch of rb1100ahx4 I had believed the dude going something serious to mikrotik,

my only hope is maybe they are rebuilding the dude from ground up to make it better
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Dude lost data

Fri Jul 06, 2018 9:38 am

It would be nice but they at least would tell a word about it. But we all know how it was with last dude development cycle...
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5830
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Dude lost data

Fri Jul 06, 2018 10:40 am

I don't understand why they spend effort on this and not on important routing topics like IPv6 and BGP.
There already is an abundance of monitoring packages on the market (both free and non-free) and there could be a place
for some plugins for those packages. Indeed some users already contribute such things. Running a well maintained
and versatile monitoring package on a general-purpose system is much more sensible than cramming such a thing in a router,
let alone trying to develop such a package independently (rather than e.g. distributing one of the existing ones as a
Linux metarouter image).
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Dude lost data

Thu Jul 26, 2018 5:45 pm

Even I can agree with you, there are many people that find this useful. Me included. And once it is working somehow it is pity that it should be discarded, IMHO.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests