Page 1 of 1

Interface graph > 600Mbps

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:40 pm
by tberg
I haven't tested this in a lab to verify yet, but it seems like our Dude interface graphs start cutting out at around 575 Mbps. At first I thought this was an issue with the Cisco 3750 we were using for the graphing. But I changed to graph the interface on a CRS317 and get the same results. Graphing on the CRS show peaks around 700M, but the Dude shows 'holes' on anything over about 575M. I don't see any settings for the link graphing other than SNMP and setting interface type to gigabit ethernet.

Re: Interface graph > 600Mbps

Posted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 1:47 pm
by cdemers
Sounds like possibly a snmp counter problem, are you using snmp v1? That would have a problem with using 32bit counters, need to use snmp v2/v3 for 64bit counters.


Sent from my SM-A520W using Tapatalk


Re: Interface graph > 600Mbps

Posted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 8:19 pm
by pe1chl
Or use a smaller polling interval, e.g. 1 minute instead of 5 minutes.

Re: Interface graph > 600Mbps

Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 7:51 pm
by tberg
I think you are right on the snmp counter, but I don't see how to change the default for graphing bit rate on a link. I just have the 'Graph bit rate' box checked for the link and using SNMP for mastering type. The SNMP profile for the device is SNMP v2. Also, the monitoring interval is 1 min and setting it to less than 60 sec doesn't make a difference. It seems to use a 1 min avg no matter what I set the polling interval to, although I didn't try going more than 60 sec.

As a work around, I created a custom probe for the device using, rate(diff64(oid("1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.10.5")))*8/1000000. This seems to be working correctly, but is a lot of work to do for every interface that may go over 500 Mbps.

Re: Interface graph > 600Mbps

Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2019 7:24 am
by vgdorneles
Go in Settings > Map > Label Refresh Interval

The shorter the time set, the greater the limit that the Dude avoids cutting the chart

I'm currently using 00:00:10 to graph 2gbps on interfaces

Re: Interface graph > 600Mbps

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 4:36 pm
by tberg
That worked. Thank you very much!!