Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Multiple Probes but single notification?

Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:12 am

If an element has multiple probes and you only want to be notified when all of the probes go down or return to up state, is there a way to do that with notification?

I'm using pings and specific defined probes for each element in the network. However, I'm finding that pings are sometimes timing out (UDP packets so not gauranteed) and go down but the other probe for the unit is still up. Thus, I don't want to be notified until both ping and the second probe go down or come up.
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:47 pm

Normis/Uldis?
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:10 am

I guess the only way to do this is create another probe and select logic and add each the other probes to it. Not exactly what I want but I guess its better than false reports (can't tell which probe is down with this method). Would be nice to hav an option on the notification tab to OR all probes for Down state.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:26 am

First of all you should think about tuning 'Probe Down Count' for your
frequently failing ping probe to eliminate false alarms.
You can make logic probe with type 'or' and add all other services to it and
add all those services in regular way also, but disable notifications for
them. That would result in double probing, but would do what you want.
We are thinking about adding service dependencies as requested here
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=15254
 
nms_user
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:57 pm

yea, dependencies on services would be an very very great feature!
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Fri Apr 20, 2007 9:41 pm

Thanks Uldis. What do you suggest for probe count down? Basically, I'm having issues with every element in the network with ping timeouts. It's not an issue with the elements. The current config is:

Probe interval: 1 minute
Probe timeout: 10 seconds
Probe downcount: 5

That should try a 5 probes spaced a minute a part before it declares it down, correct? If it fails 5 probes, then making it larger isn't going to help. The only thing that is failing is pings. No other probe has false failures. The failures are occurring on APC UPSs, Trango equipment, Mikrotik routers, Netopia routers, etc. As soon as I do a reprobe, the ping works fine. This is with v2Beta12

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests