Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
doush
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:11 pm

Dude constantly freezing

Thu Oct 24, 2019 9:23 pm

Dude is constantly freezing on CHR. It needs a reboot in every 2 days.
Most of the time we loose access to the RouterOS aswell. Winbox stucks in "Logging in".
We are forced to reboot it from the Vmware console.

Does anybody else have the same problem ?
Could someone please help in resolving this issue because itis so annoying.
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1022
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: Dude constantly freezing

Thu Oct 24, 2019 10:26 pm

I use Dude, CHR version, without any problems...

What is your version? Anything inside the log?
You can't access from winbox, but how about from telnet? SSH? Have you tried that?

What kind of VMware console?
VMware workstation installed on a desktop computer?
An ESXi version on a Server Machine?
You have other VMs that work while Dude doesnt?
 
LATNET
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 8:36 pm

Re: Dude constantly freezing

Tue Oct 29, 2019 4:23 pm

It does not only happens on CHR. But also on arm.

We have 3x RouterBOARD 1100Dx4 they are running 6.45.1

Two of them are heavily used and have 1000+ devices. They really constantly freeze in random time intervals - it can be a week or a month, but can be a day. The connectivity to winbox is lost, but it is possible to reach the board using mac-telnet and reboot it.

I think, that this behavior started after 6.40 version.
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1815
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: Dude constantly freezing

Tue Oct 29, 2019 6:21 pm

Same here running 6.44.5 on 1100AHx4 Dude Edition. We connected it to a remote switchable PowerSupply.
 
eddieb
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Dude constantly freezing

Tue Oct 29, 2019 9:02 pm

dude 6.45.6 is running here since it was available. No freezes at all ...
Uptime is almost 20 days now, had to reboot OSX a couple of weeks ago.
runs on CHR in VBOX on OSX.
Running 6.46 (stable) on :
CCR1009-8G-1S (2x ipsec/l2tp site-to-site, ipsec/l2tp roadwarrior, dhcpd, dns), CRS125-24G-1S, RB1100, RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT (10pc), RB931-2nD, RB951, RB750GL ,RB2011UAS-RM, CHR running dude (CHR running in VirtualBox on OSX)
 
doush
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: Dude constantly freezing

Wed Oct 30, 2019 4:07 pm

Yes I think the problem is dude crashing the router. Sometimes MAC-Telnet works. Sometimes it doesnt.
We reboot from VM console and everything is up.
We are monitoring 1000+ devices.
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1022
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: Dude constantly freezing

Wed Oct 30, 2019 4:46 pm

I monitor over 1000 devices without a single problem...
So the number of your devices you monitor is not a problem...
 
LATNET
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 8:36 pm

Re: Dude constantly freezing

Fri Nov 22, 2019 9:15 am

I found the solution - after dude freeze I can login to the router via mac-telnet and disable/enable winbox port. After this it starts working. So I will write the script, that will do this a night and hope, that it works.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests