Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
NSimpraga
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:47 pm

The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Mon Sep 21, 2020 12:24 pm

Hi,

Probably the Nth thread of this type but I am pretty stuck by now. Pls help.
Router hardware and RouterOS version can be seen below:
Image

At first I downloaded Dude server for wrong architecture but then I realised my mistake and uninstalled it.
After that I correctly downloaded 6.47.4 ARM64 Dude server version, uploaded to my router and rebooted.
Dude correctly shows up in System->Packages as installed and enabled.

But when I try to run /dude in the terminal it just doesn't detect it (bad command name). Dude client says no package found when I try to connect.
RouterOS is 6.47.4, as is firmware version, as is The Dude version.

Image

What am I missing here? Thank you in advance!
 
User avatar
xvo
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1130
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Mon Sep 21, 2020 12:33 pm

Do Dude menu appear in webfig/winbox?
Have you enabled server in settings there?
 
NSimpraga
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:47 pm

Re: The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Mon Sep 21, 2020 12:58 pm

Nope, can connect with winbox but can't see the Dude tab on the left side panel.
Where do I need to set up the server settings on the router side?
 
User avatar
xvo
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1130
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Mon Sep 21, 2020 1:06 pm

Nope, can connect with winbox but can't see the Dude tab on the left side panel.
Where do I need to set up the server settings on the router side?
In this "Dude" tab.

Try disabling/enabling the package (with reboots in between).
And removing/reinstalling, if the first doesn't help.
 
NSimpraga
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:47 pm

Re: The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Mon Sep 21, 2020 1:56 pm

Ah yes, I can't see the Dude tab so no settings to be altered. Will try reinstalling and rebooting again.
 
NSimpraga
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:47 pm

Re: The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Mon Sep 21, 2020 2:21 pm

Update - same thing. Reinstalled the 6.47 ARM64 version for my router but same thing. Can't see or access the server (other than in the packages section).
Am I missing a step? Is it something with this router specifically perhaps?

Could the original installation of the wrong architecture screw things up, even after uninstallation?
 
User avatar
xvo
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1130
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Mon Sep 21, 2020 2:27 pm

Could the original installation of the wrong architecture screw things up, even after uninstallation?
Could be. If it's a test environment - you can try to netinstall the device and try from scratch.
But arm64 being a new architecture in mikrotik line, I'd rather think that it just doesn't work properly yet.
 
NSimpraga
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:47 pm

Re: The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Mon Sep 21, 2020 2:29 pm

Could the original installation of the wrong architecture screw things up, even after uninstallation?
Could be. If it's a test environment - you can try to netinstall the device and try from scratch.
But arm64 being a new architecture in mikrotik line, I'd rather think that it just doesn't work properly yet.
It's not a test env unfortunately. Already got a lot of things up and running, devices are slowly being connected into the network so I can't just reset the whole device to blank slate.
Such a shame, I would really love to test out the features The Dude has to offer... No other ideas cross your mind?
 
User avatar
xvo
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1130
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Mon Sep 21, 2020 2:39 pm

Such a shame, I would really love to test out the features The Dude has to offer... No other ideas cross your mind?
Unfortunately - no.
If the Dude tab does not appear, that means something is definitely wrong.

You can try it on some other device, dedicated for the dude server only: for example on hEX, or on CHR running on some virtualisation platform.
Anyway it's not a good idea to test something on a machine working in live environment.
 
NSimpraga
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:47 pm

Re: The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Mon Sep 21, 2020 2:46 pm

Such a shame, I would really love to test out the features The Dude has to offer... No other ideas cross your mind?
Unfortunately - no.
If the Dude tab does not appear, that means something is definitely wrong.

You can try it on some other device, dedicated for the dude server only: for example on hEX, or on CHR running on some virtualisation platform.
Anyway it's not a good idea to test something on a machine working in live environment.
It's not a live env as in users are actively connected to it and getting internet access through it. The network is currently under development so this was just a part of the process. Still don't really feel like resetting it all the way to blank slate.
Got the networks, firewall, NAT, IPSec tunnels, PPP, all already configured.

I do have a Mikrotik test env but it's got a RB2011 MIPSBE router in it which doesn't support The Dude... Quite a shame

Is there an official place where I could submit a ticket directly to Mikrotik for this? At least so they're aware of the issue, since this is a new, pretty powerful device.
 
User avatar
xvo
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1130
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Mon Sep 21, 2020 3:14 pm

Is there an official place where I could submit a ticket directly to Mikrotik for this? At least so they're aware of the issue, since this is a new, pretty powerful device.
The official way to contact support is via email: support@mikrotik.com
You can add a link to this thread to your message not to duplicate all the info.
 
NSimpraga
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:47 pm

Re: The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Mon Sep 21, 2020 3:20 pm

Already did raise a ticket on help.mikrotik.com. Thanks for your help, if I find out anything useful will update the thread!
 
gcetera
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 12:50 pm

Re: The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Sun Sep 27, 2020 12:37 am

hello! i have same issue on CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS
 
NSimpraga
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:47 pm

Re: The Dude installed & enabled but not working

Wed Sep 30, 2020 2:10 pm

Well thanks for that info, now we can be pretty sure what the problem is! Hope Mikrotik can see this...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests