Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
jimmy6300
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2020 7:23 pm

Questions About The Dude

Wed Dec 16, 2020 7:09 pm

Good morning everyone,

I am a new user to The Dude. I work for a small bank and we are wanting to use it to help us map out our locations and to monitor the link between our branches.

My first question is, is there a way I can run The Dude's server on one of our Windows servers? Do I have to do that inside of a virtual machine?
I currently have the server running in a virtual box on my computer, but we would like to find a more long term solution for that.

For my second question, can we use The Dude to monitor cisco devices such as switches? We mainly want to monitor the traffic so we can determine if something goes down.

Thanks in advance for the help!
 
jebz
Member
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Questions About The Dude

Thu Dec 17, 2020 10:31 am

You can run a Mikrotik CHR with the Dude on a VM. This is a very good solution.

It can monitor devices via SNMP.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests