Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
chikito
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:08 am

HOW CAN I GET SIGNAL STRENGHT FROM A DEVICE?

Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:16 am

how can get the signal strenght from a wireless mikrotik device?. For exemple, for puting it in the device appearance at label like a Device variable. It's possible? Any idea?
 
ricrc
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 2:19 pm

Re: HOW CAN I GET SIGNAL STRENGHT FROM A DEVICE?

Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:11 am

how can get the signal strenght from a wireless mikrotik device?. For exemple, for puting it in the device appearance at label like a Device variable. It's possible? Any idea?

Yes, this is possible chikito.

I achieve this using OID, you have to select it in the item.

This is an example of what it looks like in one of my devices.
[Device.Name]
[device_performance()]Signal: [oid("iso.org.dod.internet.private.enterprises.mikrotik.mikrotikExperimentalModule.mtXRouterOs.mtxrWireless.mtxrWlStatTable.mtxrWlStatEntry.mtxrWlStatStrength.5")]

Result is something like:
Radio
cpu: 10% disk: 40%
Signal: -68

There are probably some other ways, but thats how i've achieved it.

Cheers,
Ricardo.
 
chikito
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:08 am

Re: HOW CAN I GET SIGNAL STRENGHT FROM A DEVICE?

Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:40 pm

many thanks ricrc,

but i still without seeing the signal strenght (or whatever oid) in appearance label. This line is copy and paste from my dude:

[oid("iso.org.dod.internet.private.enterprises.mikrotik.mikrotikExperimentalModule.mtXRouterOs.mtxrWireless.mtxrWlRtabTable.mtxrWlRtabEntry.mtxrWlRtabStrength")]

I have tried with anothers too:

[oid("iso.org.dod.internet.private.enterprises.mikrotik.mikrotikExperimentalModule.mtXRouterOs.mtxrWireless.mtxrWlStatTable.mtxrWlStatEntry.mtxrWlStatStrength")]

[oid("iso.org.dod.internet.private.enterprises.mikrotik.mikrotikExperimentalModule.mtXRouterOs.mtxrWireless.mtxrWlStatTable.mtxrWlStatEntry.mtxrWlStatStrength.4")]

I'm using 3.0Beta6 dude version and I've check that in my mikrotik device there's something connected because there's some information in wireless>registration-table

Anyone knows if I've have to do something more for seeing oid? Any idea?

Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
GWISA
Member
Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 2:37 pm
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: HOW CAN I GET SIGNAL STRENGHT FROM A DEVICE?

Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:04 am

How is this wireless link configured? I have found this only works on ap/station mode or bridge+wds/station wds.
It does not work with bridge+wds/bridge+wds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests