Page 1 of 1

Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 4:31 pm
by cryptinitedemon
So everyone keeps saying the betas support it. Does it actually and how do I set it up? I already have my routers forwarding trap info to my IP address. What else do I have to do?

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:50 pm
by cryptinitedemon
Anyone?

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:50 pm
by nms_user
Same question here.

My experience: Syslog-functionality != snmp-trap.
Syslog listens on port 514 UDP per default, snmp-traps are sent to port 162 UDP. When i configure Dude's syslog-server to listen on this port 162, the incoming traps are not readable (messed up).

I don't know about a trap-receiver-option in dude (yet).

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:20 pm
by cryptinitedemon
Well I keep seeing old posts from over 2 years ago saying that trap support is coming soon. And then every time I try to find info about it everyone goes all quiet on me like I'm harry potter and have just said Voldemont or something.

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:45 pm
by fearthewopr
any updates here? I want to have my servers send traps to the dude, and then have the dude send out alerts.

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:36 pm
by normis
we are making support for SNMP traps, but it's not supported now, sorry for delays and not answering

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 2:20 pm
by lajf
Is there any new information about supporting snmp traps?

Is there any timedate for this feature?

Thanks for the answer.

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 3:01 pm
by FIPTech
I would be interested as well in SNMP trap feature.

For rare evenements, it is very bandwith consumming to pool SNMP with a dude probe. SNMP polling is most of the time a waste of bandwith.

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:58 am
by rmichael
Well I keep seeing old posts from over 2 years ago saying that trap support is coming soon. And then every time I try to find info about it everyone goes all quiet on me like I'm harry potter and have just said Voldemont or something.
Like great wizard once said, ROS support for SNMP traps is not late, it'll be delivered to us precisely when they mean to.

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:11 am
by lajf
So nothing new on this feature?

Is there any news about working on this feature?

We use dude for monitoring our network elements and its working great, so this feature will be very helpful.

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:47 pm
by gr8boy
Ok, The dude does not support SNMP traps yet.

Can anyone recommend some other application for traps that is free? What are you using now?

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:28 am
by gsandul
Can anyone recommend some other application for traps that is free? What are you using now?
You can use net-snmp as a trap handler and simple script to translate received messages to The Dude Syslog server.
dude_and_traps.png
You can also make a notification when translated message is received (based on syslog processing rules)

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:40 pm
by anaktos
Some tips to configure net-snmp in windows?

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:39 pm
by gsandul
Some tips to configure net-snmp in windows?
Ok.
Let assume net-snmp should be installed on the Windows server, where The Dude is running.

1) Download and install by default net-snmp http://www.net-snmp.org/.
2) Run c:\usr\registertrapd.bat it will setup windows service named "Net-SNMP Trap Handler"
3) Edit C:\usr\etc\snmp\snmptrapd.conf
ignoreauthfailure  yes
disableAuthorization yes
authCommunity log,execute,net public
traphandle default C:\Python27\python.exe C:\usr\etc\snmp\handler.py
This will accept traps from any device and will redirect received trap to python script.
handler.py should have following code
import sys
import socket
import time 

host='127.0.0.1'
port = 514
trapdata = sys.stdin.read()

#   Uncoment for debug
#f = open('c:\snmptrapdlog.txt', 'a')
#f.write("------ " +time.strftime('%X %x') + " ---- New trap received\n")
#f.write(trapdata)
#f.close()

result_trap = ''
for datastr in trapdata.split('\n'):
	result_trap = result_trap + datastr + ';\n'

sock = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_DGRAM)
sock.sendto(str(result_trap), (host, port))
sock.close()
4) Download and install python 2.7. http://www.python.org/getit/releases/2.7/
5) Make new log file in The Dude
NewLog.png
6) Make new notification
NewNotif.png
7) Make new syslog rule
syslog_rule.png
8 ) Start "Net-SNMP Trap Handler" or C:\usr\bin\snmptrapd.exe (the last one for debug)
9) The default net SNMP installation has only basic MIB's for Traps. To add more traps for different equipement consult yourself on http://www.net-snmp.org/ how to add new MIB's support.
10) Read net-snmp documentation to make it more secure or setup firewall.

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:51 pm
by anaktos
Excellent, as in the beta 3 version is not fixed it will try to follow your instructions to see if I can make it work.
Tanks!!!

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 5:05 pm
by plethoras
I am trying to make a snmptrap log but i have some problems. I uncomment the debug part of the .py and I get the snmptraplog.txt with correct information but i have nothing in my trap log in Dude.
Is this solution only for the 4.x beta? (I dont have the enable check in the notification creation panel)

Thanks and sorry for my english ;)

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 9:53 pm
by rhance
This is a big missing feature and this thread is old. When will this feature be added? Adding another piece of software into the mix is a bit ridiculous. Can we please get support for SNMP traps in The Dude?

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 2:33 pm
by rasha
Is this solution only for the 4.x beta? (I dont have the enable check in the notification creation panel

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:46 am
by machack
we are making support for SNMP traps, but it's not supported now, sorry for delays and not answering
in version 6.41 work?

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:44 pm
by MikrotikOdessa
Waiting for trap support...

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:52 am
by WildCat
Guys?
This thread is 10 years old.
It's a very important feature to ignore it.

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Fri Mar 29, 2019 11:28 pm
by machack
Any news? about TRAP support?

Re: Does this program support SNMP traps?

Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 3:51 pm
by isabella54
no this program does not suppor tsnmp traps, you have to configure your router, fro snmp traps this feature is yet to be introduced by Mikrotik.,