Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
dadep
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 4:46 pm

The dude newbie: need some info

Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:10 pm

:? :? :?
Hi all,
I'm a newbie of the dude. I've found it very interesting tool, but with some limitations (or I haven't found how to do).
I'm using 3.0rc3 release
I need to discovery only a range of ip addresses and the blacklist solution is not so flexible. Is possible to configure the discovery in this way.

the other question is that in my maps I have only colored boxes, instead of device icons. I've tried to delete and rediscover the network, but device icons never appears. Is this a bug of this release ?

thanks in advance
regards Davide
 
rebellion
newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:25 pm
Location: Russia_tlt

Re: The dude newbie: need some info

Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:35 am

1. in settings of discovering you can add net to ignore-list
2. configure groups of devices with ident-services and needed pictures
 
dadep
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: The dude newbie: need some info

Thu Nov 20, 2008 10:41 am

I know the ignore-list in discovery, but, for example:

I have 192.168.10.0/24 network where:
192.168.10.10-99 are DHCP clients I want not to monitor
192.168.10.100-200 are servers I want to monitor
192.168.10.201.250 are switches I want to monitor
192.168.10.251-254 are network printers I want not to monitor

It would be more simple discover only the range 192.168.10.100-192.168.10.250
instead of explicitly declare the addresses to ignore.

Is this possible with The dude ?
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1616
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: The dude newbie: need some info

Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:50 pm

You can put specific range of addresses in if you just put a dash between them like "192.168.10.66-192.168.10.78". And if it falls on a class boundry "The Dude" will change your range to a /27 or what ever the boundary is. i.e. 192.167.10.64/27.

Device icons are based on what services are discovered on each device. More specifically when you create the range to discover allow it to discover "device types" and the dude will take a best guess as to which type of device it is. You will probably need to disable certain services and require others to force devices to be identified correctly.

Once you discover what you want to you can disable discovery or remove discover device types. You can also manually change the devices to the type you want them to be. This way they won't change.

After the initial discovery I just manually add anything that is new so I don't have to worry about devices changing and disable discovery all together.
 
dadep
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: The dude newbie: need some info

Fri Nov 21, 2008 10:23 am

Thank you very much for the explanation.

regards
Davide

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests