Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
-headstrong-
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 8:04 pm
Location: South Africa

Help with custom probe

Wed Jul 22, 2009 9:02 pm

Hi guys

I want to create a probe that checks the ping times from the dude server to two devices. Then subtract the two values to get the difference which is essentially the latency between the two devices.

This function pings a device from the dude to the device and returns the rtt, ie the latency:
array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")) , 0)

How do I change the function to ping a specific ip address instead if just the device that the function is setup on?

Thanks
 
User avatar
sady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:30 am
Location: Russia

Re: Help with custom probe

Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:00 pm

DUDE!

ping("172.16.1.1")

array_element(ping("172.16.1.1") , 0)
 
-headstrong-
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 8:04 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Help with custom probe

Tue Jul 28, 2009 7:42 pm

I tried that but i think I confused myself

what would be the steps to do something like this:
array_element(ping("172.16.1.1") , 0) - array_element(ping("172.16.1.2") , 0)

Would I create it as a function or a probe? which device to I run the probe on?

thanks man
 
User avatar
sady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:30 am
Location: Russia

Re: Help with custom probe

Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:16 pm

you can create it as function or as probe :) it doesn't matter
if you create function, you will add that function than to probe
or you type you "code" wright in to probe fields
use standard probes as example

and you can run it on any device, because device addresses a statically binded. (May be some fake device)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 50 guests