Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
davidw
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:11 pm

Issuing command(s) to multiple routers

Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:30 pm

Has anyone written a program to do the following:

1. Issue a command(s) to multiple routers via ssh
2. Upload / Download a file to /from multiple routers
3. Have in tabular form the results of the command that is executed in option 1.

Alternatively, Mikrotik are these feature that you guys are currently working on ?

Tried googling with little success

I Have approximately 400 routers that I need to manage
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24749
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Issuing command(s) to multiple routers

Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:34 pm

these things are planned for the Dude, to make some kind of mass management possible. I think there exist also some privately made software for mikrotik
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
davidw
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:11 pm

Re: Issuing command(s) to multiple routers

Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:39 pm

Any idea how far away these features might be ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24749
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Issuing command(s) to multiple routers

Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:51 pm

never :)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
sady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:30 am
Location: Russia

Re: Issuing command(s) to multiple routers

Tue Jul 28, 2009 6:59 pm

never :)
Not funny :(

If you add list of selected on map devices, which can be passed to custom "tool"(command), it would be enough. Like ip addresses list, separated by spaces, or like variables Device1 Device2 Device3 and so on, with possibility to get parameters([Device3.FirstAddress] [Device1.SecondAddress] and so on.

Currently, if you select more than one device, and right click on any of them, there is no "Tools" options.
On other hand, in "Tools" list, and tools property editor you can add tick option "Can be runned on multiply devices"

Type of devices can be ignored(if it help you to make this feature faster)
Please, please, Open Dude Source! Pleaaaaseeeee!!!!!
 
davidw
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:11 pm

Re: Issuing command(s) to multiple routers

Wed Jul 29, 2009 4:22 am

Ok so have decided to take matters into my own hands and write the software

Features are as follows :-

1. Imports a dude XML file (this includes Ip Address, username, password, device type)
2. Execute mikrotik script on one or more routers via SSH
3. Filter the list by device type
4. Transfer files to multiple routers
5. Ability to talk to routers that are Natted behind public ip addresses using PORT mapping in the device name
6. Results of commands are presented in table which can be exported easily to excel for review.

If you are interested let me know.

Version 1 of the software should be ready very soon.

Cheers

David
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24749
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Issuing command(s) to multiple routers

Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:33 am

"never" means, I never have any idea on release dates for such things :)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
sady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:30 am
Location: Russia

Re: Issuing command(s) to multiple routers

Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:27 pm

may be more advanced way?
login to dude over http, go to Device list, get needed devices and work on them?

than you don't need to manually export devices to xml(which can't be automated)
Please, please, Open Dude Source! Pleaaaaseeeee!!!!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests