Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
frosty024
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 4:23 am

Moto Canopy, The Dude, and SNMP strings in Labels

Fri Nov 06, 2009 4:34 am

Hey all, new user of the Dude here. A great great great program, I love it... I have installed the latest version as of this post (3.4) and have auto-discovered all of my elements. I have several questions.

1. Auto-discover fails if trying to name devices via SNMP. Devices appears at first, then immediately disappear. I am using the correct SNMP version and Community string for my Canopy devices. I am able to SNMP walk these devices as well. My work-around has been to Auto-Discover devices and have them named by IP address. This way, everything works. Strange...

2. The problem is that now, all my device labels are their respective IP addresses, however I want the labels to display their Site Names. So I use (right-click/Appearance) the string [oid("iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2.system.sysName.0")] to acheive this. It works, and everything is great at first, but after a while, the labels intermittently disappear, and come back later. Any thoughts? As you can see in the screen shot below, one device simply loses it's label... It should read "gramNE". It will eventually come back after a random amount of time, and others will lose their labels as well. This makes keeping track of my 600+ radios rather difficult in The Dude. I would like to be able to search by "name" but can't if the label won't stick...

Image

3. Is there a way to go into the devices (right-click/Settings) and tell the "Name" field to be whatever the Site Name of my Canopy devices are (without manually changing each and every device)? This way, the labels will stop constantly disappearing (much like Auto Discover using SNMP/IP *should* work but doesn't)?

4. How can I graph bandwidth on Canopy devices? I am able to do it via MRTG, but manually coding MRTG for over 600 Canopy radios is tedious.
 
exocrypt
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 8:33 pm

Re: Moto Canopy, The Dude, and SNMP strings in Labels

Fri Nov 13, 2009 8:59 pm

Seems no one likes to just give anyone the answer here. So here it is. lol
Took me days to figure all this out but once you start learning how to do it the rest a breeze. I work for an ISP we use Motorola Canopy. We have hundreds and hundreds of Canopys in use as AP's SM's etc. The Dude is an awesome program once you get it down to a science.
Here is some helpful hints etc for getting dude to display canopy info.

First you can start with something simple like your canopy address and just set up a simple ping service on the Item you just created in dude. Next you need to make sure you know what your community string your Canopy is using under its SNMP settings. Once you have that just make an SNMP profile under settings. Lets say your community string on your canopy is named "public" so we go make a new one lets name it V2 Public SNMP the version will be 2c Port number 161. Now we have that made select the SNMP profile you just made by right clicking your canopy Icon we made earlier and in the top right choose the V2 Public SNMP. Now we just have to add some info to the label for Color Code, SM Count etc. Once you are ready to start displaying some info on your canopy Icon right click on the Icon and choose appearance In this window look for "Label" next Click in the box and if there is anything in there just delete it. Add this for starters.
[oid("1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0")]
CC [oid("1.3.6.1.4.1.161.19.3.3.2.2.0")]
Sm Count [oid("1.3.6.1.4.1.161.19.3.1.7.1.0")]
Just like it should show you the up time, Color Code and SM count. There's lots more to do but thats a start.
The above codes can be found with some searches to do with canopy. Now if you wanna monitor speed from and the Canopy you can make a link. Right Click on the Link after its made select SNMP if you did everything right above you will have two choices under Interface. One is Motorola 10/100 FEC, and the other is Canopy MultiPoint. The 10/100 Is of course the Ethernet side of the canopy. The Multipoint is the Wireless side. Now once you have that set up you can right click the link go to Appearance and under label enter this.

Rx: [Interface.InBitRate]
Tx: [Interface.OutBitRate]
[Interface.Speed]

You should be golden now. Let me know if you have any questions. I have to figure this all out by myself I hope I can save you all some time. :D






Canopy's use Version 2 of SNMP.
 
frosty024
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 4:23 am

Re: Moto Canopy, The Dude, and SNMP strings in Labels

Fri Nov 13, 2009 9:31 pm

I already know about using labels... The problem is that the labels keep vanishing intermittently and coming back at random times. Makes for headaches when using the "Find" tool to locate a customer.. As for bandwidth, does that actually GRAPH it or just show the speed on the link?
 
exocrypt
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 8:33 pm

Re: Moto Canopy, The Dude, and SNMP strings in Labels

Fri Nov 13, 2009 9:56 pm

Hmm not sure about your issue ill look into why they could be vanishing and let you know if I find anything.

Yes it does graph it. After you have it set up you can right click on the link and go to settings then to history it will show you a graph. You should be able to hold your mouse over the link for about 2 seconds and it should show the graph as well.
 
frosty024
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 4:23 am

Re: Moto Canopy, The Dude, and SNMP strings in Labels

Fri Nov 13, 2009 10:59 pm

Cool, much appreciated! The Dude is awesome, just a few quirks here and there...
 
User avatar
sady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:30 am
Location: Russia

Re: Moto Canopy, The Dude, and SNMP strings in Labels

Thu Nov 26, 2009 8:52 pm

your labels seems like to disappear because of get_snmp timeout or something like that.
you can try to manipulate all oid function parameters. Maybe it will help.

We have disappearing snmp data too.
Please, please, Open Dude Source! Pleaaaaseeeee!!!!!
 
frosty024
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 4:23 am

Re: Moto Canopy, The Dude, and SNMP strings in Labels

Fri Nov 27, 2009 8:27 pm

Not in front of the Dude at the moment, but is there a setting to increase SNMP timeout? Do you think that will fix the disappearing labels issue? I do remember seeing a setting that controls the frequency at which the labels refresh, though that seemed to have no impact on the issue...
 
User avatar
sady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:30 am
Location: Russia

Re: Moto Canopy, The Dude, and SNMP strings in Labels

Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:07 pm

SNMP timoute can be set in (Server)Setting, SNMP tab, <your snmp-profile>
lower line.
Please, please, Open Dude Source! Pleaaaaseeeee!!!!!
 
frosty024
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 4:23 am

Re: Moto Canopy, The Dude, and SNMP strings in Labels

Wed Dec 16, 2009 3:57 pm

Alas, changing the timeout did not fix the issue. Labels displayed via SNMP still disappear at random. Is anyone else experiencing this?
 
novelty22
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 1:57 pm

Re: Moto Canopy, The Dude, and SNMP strings in Labels

Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:47 pm

more often than not

more often than that is the device images seem to hang when loading (random device type almost everytime....even the .svg files bundled with the Dude do it) ... until i stop/start the server process

it seems to do it less often when the server is on a different machine than the client itself, but everything else seems to disappear more often (it would be a great program if not for such random quirky issues) and I often make much more sense but after 6 hours in front of randomness ...

lol :)
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: Moto Canopy, The Dude, and SNMP strings in Labels

Fri Feb 26, 2010 4:19 pm

I have found that just disconnecting and reconnecting the client will get icons to show up. Also using more than one of any icon gives it a much better chance of loading.
 
novelty22
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 1:57 pm

Re: Moto Canopy, The Dude, and SNMP strings in Labels

Wed Mar 17, 2010 8:26 pm

I have found that just disconnecting and reconnecting the client will get icons to show up. Also using more than one of any icon gives it a much better chance of loading.
so quickly overlooked!

you don't know how much time that one piece of advice has saved me for tons of issues
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: Moto Canopy, The Dude, and SNMP strings in Labels

Wed Mar 17, 2010 10:05 pm

It took me a long time to come up with those two :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests