Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
mmontoya
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 1:54 am

Probe to Monitor a Windows service

Wed Dec 02, 2009 2:06 am

A have a few questions regarding probes that check if windows services are running.

I need a probe that checks if an Avaya services is running or not.
here is the screen shot of the function settings that i plan on using.
SNMPFunction.jpg
the dude is installed on a windows 2003 server the avaya server is alson on windows 2003

does SNMP need to be installed on both servers?

What permissions do i need in order for such function to work?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: Probe to Monitor a Windows service

Wed Dec 02, 2009 2:41 am

There is a good probe for services in the probe thread...

Putting this on a device label "appearance" will tell you how many instances of svchost.exe are running.

[array_element(oid_column("1.3.6.1.2.1.25.4.2.1.2"), array_find(oid_column("1.3.6.1.2.1.25.4.2.1.2"),"svchost.exe"))]
[array_find(oid_column("1.3.6.1.2.1.25.4.2.1.2"),"svchost.exe")]

You need to create both a function and a probe that calls the function for it to be solid.

HTH
SD
 
User avatar
sady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:30 am
Location: Russia

Re: Probe to Monitor a Windows service

Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:01 pm

does SNMP need to be installed on both servers?
What permissions do i need in order for such function to work?
1)You need SNMP server software installed on host, which you want to query. You Dude server only generate SNMP requested, by himself.
2)What do you mean, by "permisions"? If you run your Dude server as Service, you already have all permision. On SNMP readable server you only need right to read snmp values.
Please, please, Open Dude Source! Pleaaaaseeeee!!!!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 27 guests