Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
mwolfgru
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 7:14 pm

Email notification on (new) discovered device

Wed Dec 02, 2009 7:59 pm

Hello,

i want to get an email from the dude, if the "Auto Scan" (every 6 hours in my config)
of a defined Subnet find a new device or a service.

Do someone know if it works?
And if it is possible how can i configure this?

thanks for your help.

regards
Wolf
http://pichat-wiki.de
Thanks, and greetings from germany

wolf
http://pichat-wiki.de
 
User avatar
sady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:30 am
Location: Russia

Re: Email notification on (new) discovered device

Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:22 pm

there is not such feature, but you can make fake Probe/Function, which will always be "Discovered" on new device, then will go down on first probe, send you notification.
And then, you will need to remove that service from your new device manually.
Please, please, Open Dude Source! Pleaaaaseeeee!!!!!
 
mwolfgru
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 7:14 pm

Re: Email notification on (new) discovered device

Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:58 am

this is a good idea ...
but i tried this with a ping2 probe a few days ago but it does not realy work
which kind of fake probe did you think may work?
I will monitor "normal" foreign Workstation which will connect to my LAN without my authorization
so i have probably no snmp community and no user/password.

THX

greetings from germany

wolf
http://pichat-wiki.de
Thanks, and greetings from germany

wolf
http://pichat-wiki.de
 
mwolfgru
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 7:14 pm

Re: Email notification on (new) discovered device

Mon Jan 25, 2010 2:59 am

i found a workaround ...

i created a probe "autoscan" with the function is_up() in Available and in Error.
So if the scan find a new device and the device is up i get later an unstable->down with alert me.

After this i deactivate this probe in the device manually.
i have only the problem, that the outage is still active ...
see http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=28635
probe_autoscan.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 30 guests