Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
izo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 12:25 am

Where is the dude going

Thu Aug 11, 2005 5:22 am

Hi,
I'm really happy with your newest release. You fixed most of the bugs and responded to most of request.

Thanks !


So now i'm wondering whats the plan and roadmap for "the dude",
what kind of features are planned and if you have any release schedule ?
Whats the future of the program will it remain freeware or you are going
to commercialize it.

On my personal wish list I would put in order of my personal priorities:
Program functionality:
1. graph history of probes (ie. bandwidth graphs for past and present)
2. Ability to send third party notifications
3. Build in syslog with color,filter and notification options

UI functionality
1. Ability to define custom variables per device which would help to create
point below
2. Ability to create custome tool menu per device and display it as first menu instead of second as it is right now
3. Ability to set static widht and height per device (device type) that is not affected by name that is displayed
4. Be able to split screen in separate window the same way i can do it in main window (usefull for dual or multidisplay workstation)
5. Set of nice icons :lol:




regards
m
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24366
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Thu Aug 11, 2005 9:03 am

5. Set of nice icons Laughing
this one is coming :) hopefully
 
User avatar
lastguru
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 9:04 pm
Location: Certified Trainer/Consultant in Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Aug 12, 2005 1:00 pm

me likes the current icons very much. some other suggestions are very interesting
International MikroTik Certified Trainer and Consultant form Latvia.
I do RouterOS Training and Certification worldwide!

skype: lastguru
 
nazemg
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 8:40 am
Location: Baghdad Iraq, Tripoli Lebanon
Contact:

Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:04 pm

How about changing router config, such as user passwords, or even upgrade several routers at the same time.
 
wildbill442
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:29 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:28 am

How about changing router config, such as user passwords, or even upgrade several routers at the same time.
I like the remote upgrade via dude idea. That would be awesome.
 
User avatar
nocune
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 2:51 pm
Location: Granada, Spain
Contact:

Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:54 pm

Hi,

I think The Dude has the correct look, and I think It must be a General Management Console, so the roadmap for this would be to get more variables for the monitorization engine. This is the best app for NOC (Network Operation Center) for little networks.

Greetings
 
sorinbuda
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 6:27 am

Thu Feb 23, 2006 10:00 am

I highly appreciate Dude
and I think it should develop strictly as a monitoring application whille the management of the routers is done via telnet and winbox
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24366
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Thu Feb 23, 2006 10:18 am

i think that all management should be done from the dude, winbox should be integrated into dude, it would make all things easier and more centralised
 
sorinbuda
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 6:27 am

Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:23 pm

it is not always the best strategy to centralize
in my chase the monitoring is done by one person while the configuration is done by another
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24366
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:28 pm

let them both use dude. it is easier to configure your routers if you see how they are all connected.
 
fuatacar
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:19 am

It would be beautiful if there was a full screen mode for the network maps, or any of the screens on the right.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24366
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Mar 01, 2006 9:06 am

nice, thanks. i will recommend this
 
User avatar
jager
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:44 am
Location: Sierra Leone
Contact:

Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:43 pm

Just configured Dude for the very first time, entered all our network nodes. I love this software :)
I would like to make our network map public via http to all users, and it will be nice to have fulscreen mode of map in browser. Please, add this feature!
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Wed Mar 01, 2006 6:49 pm

Just configured Dude for the very first time, entered all our network nodes. I love this software :)
I would like to make our network map public via http to all users, and it will be nice to have fulscreen mode of map in browser. Please, add this feature!
:shock: Don't do that, god knows what one of your users can do to your network...Maybe you also wanna give them passes :D

Just my two cents....

Pozdrav ;)
I drink like a pirate and smoke like a hippie...
 
User avatar
jager
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:44 am
Location: Sierra Leone
Contact:

Thu Mar 02, 2006 1:31 am

Don't do that, god knows what one of your users can do to your network...
:) :) Hahhaha, Djape, I see that you know well how users behave in Serbia :)
A few days ago, a wrong placed NAT made me a lot of trouble... and a lot of free, unlimited internet access to some of my cusomers :) It lasted just for 4-5 hours, and it is unbelievable how fast was the mistake exploited :)
Kids. But SMART kids! :)
Maybe you also wanna give them passes :D
Hell... no! :)
i will be happy if Dude could generate a full screen HTML page of the map I choose, and that it will be viewable in users browser. So, no IP addresses, passwords, editing, nothing! :) Just nodes, their names and traffic between them.
This (I HOPE!) will not make any harm. After all, users already knows how many AP`s I have, and where are they located.
Pozdrav ;)
;) I tebi!
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Thu Mar 02, 2006 3:55 pm

Hell... no! :)
i will be happy if Dude could generate a full screen HTML page of the map I choose, and that it will be viewable in users browser. So, no IP addresses, passwords, editing, nothing! :) Just nodes, their names and traffic between them.
You mean something like live streaming of dude map?
Well, that's not so bad idea. He can see map, but he can't do anything, just watch.

Cheers...
I drink like a pirate and smoke like a hippie...
 
User avatar
jager
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:44 am
Location: Sierra Leone
Contact:

Thu Mar 02, 2006 8:41 pm

Yes, that is exactly what I mean.
I hope Mikrotik will implement this in the next release of Dude. After all, it should not be cool, and useful for a huge number of Dude users.
Anybody from Mikrotik: PLEEEASE! :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Spotegg and 15 guests