Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
etocalini
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:54 pm

Dude inLinux?

Thu Aug 11, 2005 2:39 pm

Is it possible to run Dude in linux (with WINE) as we do with Winbox :?:
 
tully
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 505
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:07 am

Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:03 pm

Yes, but I understand that the web server part of the Dude won't work - but the regular GUI works fine.
 
ghostlip
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:20 pm

Dude + Linux

Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:26 pm

Hi all

I Just use Linux in my Servers and Desktops. So I'd like to know if are there any project to run Dude with Linux OS ? Without Wine or any emulator? Or... An Idea could be run Dude as an Operation System Like Mikrotik, Why not? For me And I think for lot's of administrators It would be so much better.

Thank You So much....

Best reguards for all you :)
:shock:
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24387
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:11 am

what's the problem to use wine?
 
ghostlip
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:20 pm

Tue Dec 13, 2005 2:31 pm

first because it's not a real linux aplication, second with wine I cold not connect to local just remote, and when i tried to see the network map It was black and ugly. and the web server does not work. I'd like to use it to monitor all my network. Why not run it effectively in Linux OS?

Sorry if my opinion contests other...
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24387
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Dec 13, 2005 2:53 pm

ok thank you, we will see what we can do. thank you for input
 
aviper
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:48 pm

Mon Apr 24, 2006 7:52 pm

Why don't you make dude server Mikrotik package? It would be great. When you install MT you will have - router, wireless, monitoring, User Managment and etc. I will marry to this system :).
 
ghostlip
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:20 pm

Mon Apr 24, 2006 8:10 pm

aviper,

So you're telling me to create a package for dude server to run on Mikrotik, right? But. how can i do it? And have you already done ? Does it have a good functionality ?

Thank you so much for the atention!

Best reguards!
 
aviper
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:48 pm

Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:14 pm

My post was for Dude programmers. Sorry for the misunderstanding :). It would be great to see Dude Server as package for MT.
 
ghostlip
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:20 pm

Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:18 pm

It's all right :)
I'm sorry and Thank you!!

Peace...
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:34 pm

The dude (beta testing) packge for the RouterOS x86 will be ready in few weeks.
 
aviper
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:48 pm

Wed Apr 26, 2006 5:55 am

The dude (beta testing) packge for the RouterOS x86 will be ready in few weeks.
I'm gona name a peak - "Mikrotik". The only problem is that ppl should select me as a president next mandate. :)
 
ceacu
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 12:22 am

Sun Jun 04, 2006 11:48 pm

Any news about the Dude for mikrotik package?
 
User avatar
nisse
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Hilleroed, Denmark
Contact:

Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:25 pm

The perfect Dude:

First: The dude is an amazing piece of software - someone should give U guyz a prize for that tool!

Next - (more wants more) - the Dude could be even more perfect:

1. Dude "server" (agent or whatever) running on MikroTik OS as a package. Due to limited ressources a requirement of remote storage is OK

2. Dude "server" (agent or whatever) running on Linux native. Just like above it should be a service that requires a client to be configured and monitored.

3. Dude integration with Nagios or even better: SMS gateway integrated in Dude.

This could make me throw out my Nagios server...

/Niels
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24387
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:36 pm

#1 is in development, #2 is maybe possible, #3 ... not sure
 
trtmrt
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:44 pm

Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:10 pm

#2 ...

running as deamon and producing HTTP .. HTML page ..
big one .. then one HTTP BROWSER w/ hydra 3x2 big screen in
some noc :0 .. that what i need... :) .. dude to produce http ... :0
 
User avatar
nisse
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Hilleroed, Denmark
Contact:

Sun Aug 13, 2006 6:00 am

Normis: Great to hear that it may be possible (some time) to use Dude on MT as package.

The problem (at least in my case) is that we only have a few public IP adresses in the net and externally hosted servers (to save bandwidth). SNMP'ing into a NAT'ed net isn't comfortable, thus the request to have a "Nagios - like" agent running on the NAT gateway and reporting any and all activities on the local network.

Etocalini:
I have "solved" your request (while the super-coders @ microtik work on making all our weird requests feasible) - with a simple "workaround" to publish our net status:

1. Make Dude generate .PNG files for the nets you wish to publish status for. Set this to be done sequentially (I do it every 5 minutes).

2. Install OpenSSH (http://sshwindows.sourceforge.net/) for windows (or the entire CygWin package) - to get ssh access to the Windows-box running Dude (and sshd with one of these packages).

3. On the web-server, create a cron-job to obtain the files using scp to the website (I do this every 5 minutes).

Alternatively:

1 (as above)

2. Install Apache on the Win-box running Dude

3. Use the generated files to publish images of net-status. Maybe even generatin an image every minute in this case since there is no net activity unless users request the websites from the Dude-box.

I am considering to switch to this second approach soon but for now the first approach works like a dream for me - look at: http://www.ranumnet.dk/pmwiki/pmwiki.ph ... lineStatus for a sample of this (In Danish only - sorry - but I think You will get the picture if you click on it :-)

/Niels
 
slipstream1
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:55 pm

Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:39 am

I have noticed problems with the Dude, Wine, and PCBSD. I cannot get it to run properly. I am sure it is something that I am doing.
 
User avatar
chimaster
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:54 am
Location: Queenstown
Contact:

More Wine DUDE?

Thu Jan 11, 2007 2:09 am

I've got Dude running fine in Wine on Debian Etch. I'm sure there should be little hassle on most Wine Systems. Problems though...

1. The network map I use (PNG of my town) displays fine, but redraw is slow.
2. Dynamic items in Network map (such as load, Disk, Traffic) doesn't display, perhaps a redraw issue on my side (not sure of correct term). When hovering the status popup does display.
3. Unable to have multiple window panes open for graphs and map or outages at same time.
4. Sometimes needs a boot as screen doesn't refresh.

But otherwise, quite useable. In fact, I had so much trouble on my Windoze XP box with running dude remote that I only use it in linux now.

Love to see a linux Dude server, I was an avid fan of Nagios for a long time, but it just needed so much configuration! Native Dude remote would be great too. Just about to plan my notifications and reporting using dude, so browsing for SMS possibilities.

Keep up the good work guys!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests