Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
SSU
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:31 pm

Probe & notification granularity

Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:21 pm

Hello all,

I have a couple of questions regarding the configuration of probes, notifications, and their granularity.

I have a probe configured to flag any HDDs that exceed 85% usage. This is working properly. However, I've been trying to do a little more configuration to establish some granularity, and thus my questions:

1) Can I establish different probe variables for different devices?

Let's say I have one server that I want to monitor differently to notify me that its HDD is 50% full. How is this done? I can click on the device, then click the Services tab, then double-click the "disk" probe. This launches the Service window for the disk probe, and I then click the single "dot" button next to the probe field, which launches the disk probe properties. However, if I make any change to any variable this change cascades throughout the entire configuration, all devices will show this same config change.

2) How do I get a repeat notification, and can I establish different conditions for different devices?

I have a few devices that I would like to have notifications sent twice daily, and not just when something goes up or down. For instance, I have 5 servers with >85% HDD utilization. How do I get these devices to email me twice daily? I received one email for the disk utilization, and that was when I established the probe parameters. After that I've received no subsequent notifications for these devices. I want to be notified twice daily that these devices have exceeded the established probe value. How is this done? As with the probe, changes I make to a device's notification properties seem to cascade throughout the entire setup and are applied to all devices.

Can any of this be accomplished? Thanks in advance for all assistance.
 
User avatar
gsandul
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: Probe & notification granularity

Thu Aug 12, 2010 10:16 am

[quote=""SSU"]1) Can I establish different probe variables for different devices?[/quote]
No way to pass variables to The Dude functions or probes, just create new probe to check different conditions.
2) How do I get a repeat notification, and can I establish different conditions for different devices?
Just create more notifications (some of them make to be with repeat interval, some - not) and use different notifications for different device services.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests