Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
marcopolo
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:17 pm

network bottlenecks

Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:39 pm

Is there an easy process I can go through to show bottlenecks?
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: network bottlenecks

Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:56 pm

Are you trying to find out if you have a bottleneck it in your own network?
 
marcopolo
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:17 pm

Re: network bottlenecks

Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:57 pm

Yes basically, would like to see the packetflow and whether I can identify certain areas, whether switch, server, etc
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: network bottlenecks

Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:14 pm

Do you have a dude server setup? You can you build a map of your network and then determine what is using your bandwidth based on utilization. Watching packets is more about troubleshooting problems but if you looking to visualize the traffic try out Hosts3D on sourceforge.

Are you looking for help setting up a dude server?
 
marcopolo
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:17 pm

Re: network bottlenecks

Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:39 pm

I've got dude already setup, then I've created seperate maps for various items such as Workstation, Servers, Switches, etc.

Should I create another map? If so how do I then show the traffic, etc
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: network bottlenecks

Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:29 pm

Sounds like you might just need to put connections around between your various maps?
So on your top map is it just a bunch of sub maps, something like one submap for each site? If so you could manually add all the routed links between each site.

The best way to find the traffic you are interested in is put all the routed links in your various maps.

What I did for my routed links is to add a connector between each submap on the main dash, and on each submap I put a link back to the dash showing traffic from the other end of the routed link. So I am collecting routed links on the main dash from the center out and from each submap towards the core.
dash.PNG
route.png
Once you have all your routed links being collected you should be able to determine where there is too much traffic.

HTH,
Lebowski

edit: From your post it sounds like you put different device types on each submap? If you have one submap with all the routers you could organize that map to show all the connections between routers.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
marcopolo
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:17 pm

Re: network bottlenecks

Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:46 am

I have a map that has the servers defined and ports they connected to on the switch. Is this a good start?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: network bottlenecks

Mon Oct 04, 2010 5:07 pm

All those links were automatically added from the auto discover process. You might want to turn off auto discover.

With that view you really have no idea where traffic is going. Right click on the map, select add link, place the link between two devices you know are connected to each other. Select the device, mastering type "snmp", change type to match the link speed. Find the interface in the list that is connected to the other device in the interface drop down list.

I put a speed on there so it changes color when there is some traffic. You might delete the other lines if they are not helping you map your network. Also back up your DUDE folder before and after you have made big changes.
Link_2010-10-04_08-02-20.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
marcopolo
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:17 pm

Re: network bottlenecks

Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:53 pm

Done all that but doesn't seem to show much at all
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: network bottlenecks

Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:56 pm

I would delete all the auto discovered router stuff(links with clouds) and replace it with manually added links. That would give you much more information about traffic around the network...
util.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
marcopolo
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:17 pm

Re: network bottlenecks

Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:50 am

The broken link are virtual servers but I've not setup the fixed links.

What I now want to do is monitor activity/performance between one server running an MS application but where the SQL database is located on another server. Is this possible with Dude?

Thanks
 
chrisd13
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 4:05 pm
Location: UK

Re: network bottlenecks

Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:45 pm

Not possible if you are talking about monitoring just the SQL traffic. You will need some protocol analysis software for that, there are some free ones out there.

http://www.monitortools.com/traffic/
Don't forget to give Karma if we help you out :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests