Community discussions

 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7601
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Mon Nov 03, 2014 6:03 pm

Plans. Planning stage. No road map. None can expect anything.
 
SystemErrorMessage
Member
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Tue Nov 04, 2014 1:26 pm

How long before the next dude would be out? I am looking forward to it. Is mikrotik expanding their programmer base to cope with the workload of handling routerOS variants, dude and possibly other things mikrotik has?
 
User avatar
rmmccann
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:20 pm

We have a plan to make a completely new dude, that would work with CAPsMAN and have better web interface. Project is still in planning stage.
So, in other words "don't hold your breath" :lol:
A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools. --Douglas Adams
 
User avatar
chimaster
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:54 am
Location: Queenstown
Contact:

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Mon Nov 17, 2014 5:02 am

Nothing wrong with current dude. Just needs updates, bugfix, roadmap and communication. I don't think it needs re-created. It's a network tool, dedicated server, doing its thing. You could add a webinterface on it, but why go back to the drawing board?
 
SystemErrorMessage
Member
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Mon Nov 17, 2014 8:31 pm

maybe because theres a bug in the core of the program/design or perhaps it is just not competitive. Free software doesnt actually need to stand out, it just needs to be easy to use and work. I really do like to use Dude but i really want there to be server for routerboard such as the CCR so it can be the center of the network and map out networks more effectively while saving power by not having your standard desktops to be kept turned on for monitoring and mapping.

Routerboards use very little watts.
 
User avatar
rmmccann
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:35 pm

while saving power by not having your standard desktops to be kept turned on for monitoring and mapping.

Routerboards use very little watts.
Dude doesn't use much for resources. No reason you couldn't run it in a virtual machine on one of your existing servers.
A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools. --Douglas Adams
 
 
partovi64
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:49 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Sun Dec 14, 2014 7:17 pm

we waiting for new ver dude,it have any problem with restore database(above 100 m in ver 3.6 ) so crash in 4.3
 
User avatar
Aveyer
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:17 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Tue Dec 16, 2014 1:31 am

I really hope Mikrotik resumes development of The Dude, out of all the network monitors I have tried, The Dude is still by far the best and easiest to use.
 
icecybe
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:13 am

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:46 am

Greestings.
For the first of all Dude is the real THE DUDE, easy, fast, and verry functional monitoring software. I try'it and in few hours server are up and monitoring a few hundred of devices. What about bugfix is there one that i can't see here on forum explanation. It : charts, monitoring of the data are almost real time (verry fast) but drawing charts take's a while in i5 core machine is a problem with soft or nework. It there any help for the moment to draw chart's or waiting for bugfix. Also maybe this problem aren't on 3.6 version, but i'm stuck with back-up on 4 version. Any help ?
 
abis
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 9:32 pm
Location: Romania

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Sat Mar 07, 2015 3:46 pm

R.I.P. or we need to wait more years?
MTCNA, MTCWE
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7601
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Sat Mar 07, 2015 4:24 pm

You know mikrotik. They do things when they want to. Seems they don't want yet...
 
fabrix
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Wed Mar 25, 2015 11:36 pm

Nothing about Dude ???

Normis can you help the community ?

Thanks a lot !! :D
 
makenadenica
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 3:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Wed Apr 01, 2015 3:30 pm

Interesting.. Comes In time!
[url=http://квартири-велико-търново.com/]квартири-велико-търново.com[/url]
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2278
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Sat Apr 04, 2015 8:20 pm

The latest version is more than 4 years old. :arrow: Please rebirth DUDE. We need it
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
syadnom
Member
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:29 am

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Wed May 06, 2015 6:10 pm

I quit using the dude for lack of updates, perpetual beta status, etc. wish there were a v5 coming
 
meconiotronic
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:50 am

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Fri May 15, 2015 11:27 am

Please we are waiting for a new version.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7601
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Fri May 15, 2015 2:55 pm

... and we will be waiting till the death.
 
snowy1364
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 9:57 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Fri May 22, 2015 10:00 pm

The Dude for Android:

Any one who is using the Dude and has an Android phone should really check this out:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... wy.thedude
 
nomercy14
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:44 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Wed Jun 03, 2015 4:11 pm

Normis, are there news about the new version of Dude?
4 years is a very long time and million things have changed. We are a huge community waiting for something new here...
Please give us some updates...
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7601
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Thu Jun 04, 2015 9:10 am

I have lost my faith.
 
jonashi
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:19 am
Location: Europe

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Thu Jul 02, 2015 8:49 am

Me too. Sorry to say that. I remember a lot. I was at the first MUM ever. I remember The Dude announcement on MUM Praguje. I remember silence about Dude at tenth MUM in Prague. I have been using Dude till today, however, it seems to be inevitable leave Dude for me now. As I wrote here before, I would be even paying 200 USD for new version and probably I'm not allone in this. I will have to migrate to another system this year.
MTCWE, MTCNA. Using Mikrotik ROS since 2003
 
Basdno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:11 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Mon Jul 13, 2015 11:08 am

Me too. Sorry to say that. I remember a lot. I was at the first MUM ever. I remember The Dude announcement on MUM Praguje. I remember silence about Dude at tenth MUM in Prague. I have been using Dude till today, however, it seems to be inevitable leave Dude for me now. As I wrote here before, I would be even paying 200 USD for new version and probably I'm not allone in this. I will have to migrate to another system this year.


We would also gladly pay an annual fee or something for an updated and maintained DUDE!

The DUDE is very nice to use, and I do not understand why Mikrotik does not give it more love!

If it is a cost issue, then just set aside/hire own group of developers for The DUDE and make it a separate product, I am totaly sure the userbase of Mikrotik products are big enough and willing to pay for a product like The DUDE if that is what it takes to reignite this project!

So please Mikrotik, RE-BOOT the DUDE PROJECT! It is a testimony in itself that you still have a lot of users YEARS after you stopped developing it!
And I personally do not want to have the hassle of migrating to another solution(But sadly will soon have to seriously consider it after all this time)!

I Love Mikrotik! I love The DUDE! Plz REBOOT! :)
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7601
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Mon Jul 13, 2015 11:33 am

It is probably more question of willingness than budget on mikrotik side, I think. Or, they are prepairing some surprise for us. Like with android client - there were some requests for that, huge silence from mikrotik and now: Big bang! it is out, you can test the android client using winbox protocol...

Maybe one day, who knows, maybe there will be one big supersurprise with dude v.5.

I wish.
 
Basdno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:11 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:01 pm

We may wish! ;) And if we are lucky the wish might even come true?! :)
 
miko5881
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:09 am

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Fri Jul 17, 2015 4:41 am

I have been monitoring the MikroTik Wiki and I have just noticed that The Dude change log page has just been updated by Krisjanis reverting the last update by Normis removing all the info related to the 4.0 beta and the info for 3.6. Could this mean something is going on?

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/index.php?titl ... ldid=21000
 
Basdno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:11 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Fri Jul 17, 2015 9:42 am

I have been monitoring the MikroTik Wiki and I have just noticed that The Dude change log page has just been updated by Krisjanis reverting the last update by Normis removing all the info related to the 4.0 beta and the info for 3.6. Could this mean something is going on?

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/index.php?titl ... ldid=21000

We are allowed to hope! ;) :)
 
User avatar
itsupportschulen
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 10:57 am
Location: Germany, Herford
Contact:

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:56 pm

IMG_20150721_140647186_HDR.jpg
:wink:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
PLEASE open source the code or let us pay for The Dude!
 
Basdno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:11 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:51 pm

Awsome picture! :D lool :D :lol:
 
doush
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 615
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Fri Jul 31, 2015 1:38 pm

I hope we get the new Dude version soon.
We need to see progress.

The Dude is even better than those paid solutions on the market.

Please put some resources on it.
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1786
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Fri Jul 31, 2015 1:56 pm

The latest ros packages are no longer upgradable with the dude [CRYING FACE]
 
User avatar
jstump
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 6:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:13 pm

We have a plan to make a completely new dude, that would work with CAPsMAN and have better web interface. Project is still in planning stage.
Any updates on this?
 
fabrix
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Sat Aug 22, 2015 1:05 am

We have a plan to make a completely new dude, that would work with CAPsMAN and have better web interface. Project is still in planning stage.
Any updates on this?
I hope !!!
Any news ????
 
HaPe
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 232
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:24 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Tue Aug 25, 2015 11:44 pm

Hi, any update?
In anticipation on new The Dude release.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7601
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Wed Aug 26, 2015 10:08 am

Nothing. Like always.
 
jebz
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Wed Aug 26, 2015 4:12 pm

We have a plan to make a completely new dude, that would work with CAPsMAN and have better web interface. Project is still in planning stage.
You need to put it on Kickstarter. I'm sure this would be a good indicator of desire.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7601
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:09 pm

They don't need funds. They need the will. None can source the will from kickstarter .
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1786
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re:

Thu Aug 27, 2015 11:45 am

They don't need funds. They need the will. None can source the will from kickstarter .
Yes. That's the problem.

But as all competitors start to offer cloud based monitoring/management solutions MT will have to have the will.
Newest announcement is from cambium. I prefer the dude and I prefer a local installed system.
But now I cant use the dude for upgrading as packages are no longer compatible ...
 
dzyan
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 4:17 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Thu Aug 27, 2015 4:32 pm

Good day, Is there any way to generate ping graphs on the dude?
 
User avatar
Cha0s
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 880
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:53 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Thu Aug 27, 2015 5:09 pm

Good day, Is there any way to generate ping graphs on the dude?
If you add the 'ping' service on the device you want, then it will generate graphs based on the ping rtt on the History Tab of the device.

Keep in mind though that it's pretty much not usable since if you have other services also it will monitor them too and the History graphs will become unreadable.
 
benjamimgois
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 10:36 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Sat Sep 05, 2015 8:01 pm

Dear Network Engineers,

i am creating a online petition to ask mikrotik to release The Dude Source code. If you never heard of it, the dude is a extremely powerfull application to manage SNMP networks and devices of any brand. If you like the idea please sign the petition and help us spread the idea.

https://www.change.org/p/mikrotik-relea ... m=copylink
--
Telecomunications Engineer
Cisco CCNP, CCNA, CCDP, CCDA
 
JanezFord
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 10:58 am

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Tue Oct 13, 2015 2:29 pm

For some reason I cant seem to find the dude ppc and mipsbe versions on the download page anymore ... where can I download the dude for ppc and mipsbe?

JF
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7601
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Tue Oct 13, 2015 6:02 pm

Dude packages for ros were retracted some time ago due to incompatibility with newer ros versions.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1651
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re:

Tue Oct 13, 2015 7:07 pm

Dude packages for ros were retracted some time ago due to incompatibility with newer ros versions.

agree

i have to netinstall some rb2011 and 951g some months ago after installing dude, no more dude on routerboards
 
snowy1364
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 9:57 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Thu Oct 15, 2015 4:30 pm

Any one who is still using the dude and uses an android phone should give this a try: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... wy.thedude
 
User avatar
cszolee79
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Mon Nov 09, 2015 7:09 pm

Anyone checked The Dude 4b3 with newest ROS?

After upgrading from 6.32.3 to 6.33, the [Device.RosVersion] is missing in network map.
So I have a dozen of Tiks and no idea what version they are.

This makes me a very unhappy dude :(
One... Hundred... BILLION DOLLARS!
 
sagevorgyan
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 7:31 am

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Wed Nov 18, 2015 8:51 am

Anyone checked The Dude 4b3 with newest ROS?

After upgrading from 6.32.3 to 6.33, the [Device.RosVersion] is missing in network map.
So I have a dozen of Tiks and no idea what version they are.

This makes me a very unhappy dude :(
Dear cszolee79,
Open Dude settings, go to "Map" tab, open "Device Appearance" and in "Label" part change "ROS:[Device.RosVersion]" to

ROS:[oid("iso.org.dod.internet.private.enterprises.mikrotik.mikrotikExperimentalModule.mtXRouterOs.mtxrLicense.mtxrLicVersion.0")]
Image
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7601
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:42 pm

Not a problem with monitoring of 6.33 devices by dude 4b3.

I have just moved the dude from one server to another just by file export - import. It was smooth and without any problems.
 
abis
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 9:32 pm
Location: Romania

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Thu Nov 19, 2015 2:25 pm

Anyone checked The Dude 4b3 with newest ROS?

After upgrading from 6.32.3 to 6.33, the [Device.RosVersion] is missing in network map.
So I have a dozen of Tiks and no idea what version they are.

This makes me a very unhappy dude :(
Dear cszolee79,
Open Dude settings, go to "Map" tab, open "Device Appearance" and in "Label" part change "ROS:[Device.RosVersion]" to

ROS:[oid("iso.org.dod.internet.private.enterprises.mikrotik.mikrotikExperimentalModule.mtXRouterOs.mtxrLicense.mtxrLicVersion.0")]
Image
Any idea how i can solve this? :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MTCNA, MTCWE
 
User avatar
cszolee79
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: Dude v4beta3 released

Thu Nov 19, 2015 4:14 pm

...
Hello sagevorgyan,

Unfortunately this did do the trick :( Still empty. Even the device with 6.32.3
Do I need to download something (oid database?)

http://i.snag.gy/55zM1.jpg
One... Hundred... BILLION DOLLARS!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests