Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Thu Mar 17, 2011 4:56 pm

Having a problem doing backups on v4.0beta02

Trying to export the config before upgrading to v4.0beta03 however I:

Click export button
watch it display "Exporting"
watch it display "Downloading export file..."
Client rate sits at about 400~kbps for about 5-10 seconds then Dude disconnects and logs back in again without completing the file.

Anything I can disable in my maps or remove that'll allow me to get the backup?
Alternatively any way to fire up a new dude server and copy devices across from one to the other?

Dude is running on a RouterOS machine so no chance of copying the folders before upgrading unfortunately.
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1616
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Thu Mar 17, 2011 9:18 pm

Reduce your raw keep time and wait a few days for data to be averaged away. Delete log files.

Can you tell me how long it takes before it gives up? My export is about 500 MB, takes about 4 or 5 minutes but does complete.
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:12 am

Approx storage value reads only 44kb (there's not much stored on this server, just used for basic monitoring but has about 200 devices setup).

Logs are at 22 and 300kb respectively, I expect the output size won't be over 100Mb at the moment but it only goes for about 5 seconds while displaying "downloading" and then dude disconnects.
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1616
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:47 pm

I am running w2k sp3. Maybe different setup?
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Sun Mar 20, 2011 8:13 pm

Yeah lol, as above - running directly on RouterOS. No way to backup the files properly.
I guess I'm stuck now.
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1616
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Mon Mar 21, 2011 8:43 pm

Wow that sucks :(
 
yozhiks
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:35 pm

I have EXACTLY the same symptoms with dude 4.0 beta1, beta2, beta3 on RouterOS even on clean database.
Tried fresh install on RouterOS 4.x and 5.0 running in Virtual machine in RouterOS KVM.

I cannot export immediately after installation (empty database) and with 1 dummy object added. When I push export - export file is prepared and I get disconnected during file download.
System has 512M of ram (492M free) and 512M of disk space (446M free so it is not a ram/hdd space problem.

Debug log shows that right after disconnect dude seems to be re-initialized:
12:30:39 store,debug adding system drive: primary-master (/dev/hda) 
12:30:39 store,debug dude1: disk setup finished successfully 
12:30:39 store,debug web-proxy1: disk setup finished successfully 
12:30:39 store,debug activating store for dude1 
12:30:39 store,debug dude1: activation finished successfully 
Looks like attempt to export data just crashes dude instance.

Export is OK if I install dude on master host, not in VM.

Any comments from MiktoTik?
 
craigmyster
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:26 pm

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:02 pm

I am in the same situation. This really sucks because I have several years worth of data that is at risk of being lost now. Is there any possible way to copy the dude data manually? I was tempted to go back to 3 but I don't want to loose the last 2 or 3 months of data.
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:52 pm

Took the plunge and upgraded to v4.0beta3 but still have the same issue (2 seperate boxes running the Dude on top of RouterOS) >_<
 
lorell
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 3:15 am

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Sat Apr 09, 2011 8:35 pm

I'm using Dude v4.0beta3 and have the same experience.

I am on the same ethernet segment, same logical subnet and click export. It says "Exporting...." in the lower left corner. Once it is done with that it briefly says "Downloading export file...." and then crashes.

Every once in a while it will actually work. I just got a 73MB file downloaded from a host on the same physical and logical network.
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Sun May 01, 2011 7:38 pm

Arghhh.

Attempted to do a backup from v4.0beta3 tonight, backup completes, starts transferring to my machine and stops.
Dude disconnects and tries to reconnect, gives invalid username and password error.

Fearing the worst I try to connect with the default details and sure enough, blank config. :-(
brightwifi.com | mikrotik-routeros.com | MTCNA,MTCWE.MTCTCE | Give karma where due
 
User avatar
genPSI
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:07 pm
Location: Kyiv

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Wed May 11, 2011 10:38 am

I have the same problem ( bag ) , that is describe in the first post, but it still not solved :(
 
User avatar
Valdis
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 1:48 pm
Location: Riga
Contact:

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Fri Jun 17, 2011 4:54 pm

Same problem here, get disconnect and cant get my backup-data. Really need solution.
Best regards, Valdis
 
iam8up
Member
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:12 am

Same problem here, get disconnect and cant get my backup-data. Really need solution.
Handful of people have the exact same claim. Could we get some update on this, Mikrotik?
 
andreacoppini
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 489
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: Malta, Europe

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Sun Jul 10, 2011 5:18 pm

+1 here with Dude 3.6 running on RB600 (ROS 3.30). I try to export data, 5 seconds later it disconnects.
- No strings attached -

<< Please give good Karma if this post helped you. Press the + button above the Location entry
 
andreacoppini
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 489
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: Malta, Europe

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Sun Jul 10, 2011 6:58 pm

sorted by deleting large files from the Files window and truncating the logs to a minimum.
- No strings attached -

<< Please give good Karma if this post helped you. Press the + button above the Location entry
 
User avatar
bysard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Wed Jul 18, 2012 5:07 pm

No solution to this yet?
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:53 pm

No solution, personally we ended up moving to hosting the service on a Windows box where we could backup the entire directory itself.

That said, so long as only keep a few router-os version on there and make sure we're not keeping 100~s of MB worth of logfiles, the backup process is now quite quick and the export quite small, under 100MB for a network of over 2300 devices at present. Haven't had it crash on the windows box yet.
brightwifi.com | mikrotik-routeros.com | MTCNA,MTCWE.MTCTCE | Give karma where due
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3819
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Dude v4.0beta02 export dies

Mon Aug 06, 2012 6:50 pm

i got a backup file downloaded with the web interface on dude running on routeros. its corrupt, but it gave me some file. i wonder if there is a workaround using website url to download backup.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests