Community discussions

 
rodolfo
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 543
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:50 am

is it mandatory to use snmp?

Tue Nov 15, 2011 9:33 pm

is it mandatory to use snmp or I can use the routeros mode?
which are the main differences ?
thanks
rodolfo
IZ0UQV
 
ID10T
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 12:52 am

Re: is it mandatory to use snmp?

Tue Dec 06, 2011 1:05 am

No. It is not mandatory to use snmp but it is extremely useful. If you just wish to see if a device is on, you can just use "ping" as your only service and your icon will be green if the Dude receives a response and red if it doesn't. If you are using the Dude to manage a device that uses RouterOS, you can use some of the built in functions to monitor a few services (memory, cpu, etc). Using snmp allows you to monitor a wide variety of different aspects of your devices. The great part is that they don't have to be made by MikroTik (I use the Dude to monitor Cisco switches and routers as well as the MikroTik devices). Using snmp, you can monitor how much data is flowing through an interface, the temperature of equipment, etc. It is just another tool to make life just a little easier for the network administrator that has a lot to manage.
 
rodolfo
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 543
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:50 am

Re: is it mandatory to use snmp?

Thu Dec 08, 2011 6:28 pm

thank you
rodolfo
IZ0UQV

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 9 guests