Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
bokad
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:34 pm

How to completely remove The Dude

Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:03 pm

I installed a newer version after removing the old but now when I try to access it via the web, it goes to the logon page but then nothing after that and also displays the following error on the server "BUG in dude version 0.91: ASSERT !"most probably you have mismatch in client and server part"

How can I completely remove the old version and replace it with the new?
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:50 am

Did you try Add/Remove Programs Uninstall Dude?
And then install again?
Btw, I also found new version loging endessly, so I rolled back to beta 19...
I drink like a pirate and smoke like a hippie...
 
bokad
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:34 pm

Sat Feb 11, 2006 7:32 pm

Does beta 19 still support the traffic graphs? Do you know where I can download it from, I can't find that version on the MT site.

I also saw where it was endlessly loggging in the the boxes. However, it only happened if you had them defined as being RouterOS but without an accurate username and password.
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:18 pm

Beta 19 supports traffic graphs, you can download it from here

http://www.mikrotik.com/download/dude-i ... beta19.exe

Cheers...
I drink like a pirate and smoke like a hippie...
 
bokad
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:34 pm

Tue Feb 14, 2006 3:42 am

Unfortunately that didn't fix the problem. Still get the same error message. I installed the software on another machine though and it worked fine so it's definitely some problem with removing the older version. Besides running the uninstall I also went through the registry, etc... still no joy. Anyone else have any idea what could be wrong?
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Tue Feb 14, 2006 6:31 pm

We have found out that uninstallation of The Dude might not be complete if you
had enabled web service. (Becouse it might not get stopped when uninstalling).
Anyway, to completely remove dude go to task manager, stop any running
processes (dude, dudes, dudew) and then uninstall. You should see that there
is no C:\Program Files\Dude directory, and no dude processes running. After
that you should be safe to install a new version.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 34 guests