Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
jasonwhand
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 11:39 pm

Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping

Thu May 02, 2013 11:44 pm

I wanted to know if there is a way to set a threshold on response time on ping. So say you would trigger a notification if the ping response was above 300ms or something.

Does anyone know of a way to do that with the Dude?
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1616
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping

Thu May 09, 2013 12:05 am

Yes create your own ping out of the ping command. The dude will give you false positives and re-pinging things will improve the RTT. RTT in the dude has neat features...

if(array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")), 0) < 200, "", "RTT > 200ms")
Ping2.png
HTH,
Lebowski
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
mysz0n
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping

Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:45 am

can't get this function running on my dude 4.0beta3
rewrite everything, set
if(array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")), 0) < 2, "", "RTT > 200ms")

and with 15ms ping to the device - i didn't get any info about ping response. why ?
 
marcos86
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 2:28 pm

Re: Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping

Wed Jun 12, 2013 2:52 pm

Hi everyone,

Is there a way to define a function which make ping every second. Like we know, Dude can not monitor by less than 2 senconds ping. Maybe creating a new probe which do just that we can solve this problem with a workarround.

Does someone know which exactly function we will have to define?

Thank you so much in advance.

Marcos.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests