Page 1 of 1

[Problem] Monitoring tunnels OpenVPN with Dude

Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 11:35 pm
by alissonb
Hello all.

I think I'm experiencing a bug of the Dude. We monitor him over 50 OpenVPN tunnels, and it associates an "id" for each of them. When the RouterBOARD is restarted, it does not keep correct tunnels on each device as the internal id is changed.

Look this example:

When RB is restarted, this tun13 is changed because the internal id 48 is changed (he should keep it!).
Image

Any tips? Thanks!

Odp: [Problem] Monitoring tunnels OpenVPN with Dude

Posted: Tue May 21, 2013 12:37 am
by ohara
I had seen a similar behavior with monitoring dynamic vpn interfaces. since I changed them to static in Winbox I've been able to monitor all its metrics with Dude, even after hardware restart or reconnects. I am not sure how this applies to your scenario, but maybe it's something for you to look at.

Re: [Problem] Monitoring tunnels OpenVPN with Dude

Posted: Tue May 21, 2013 5:07 pm
by alissonb
Where can I change to static?

Thanks.

Re: [Problem] Monitoring tunnels OpenVPN with Dude

Posted: Tue May 21, 2013 8:53 pm
by ohara
In Winbox go to Interfaces and manually add OVPN Client interface. Once done I recommend to disconnect and remove your existing dynamic OVPN Client in order for the new configuration to take effect.

http://imgur.com/mGzeBFa.png

Re: [Problem] Monitoring tunnels OpenVPN with Dude

Posted: Tue May 21, 2013 9:53 pm
by alissonb
Hello, I will illustrate the scenario.

Interfaces of Dude Server:

Image

Main screen of Dude:


Image

In the server, the tunnels are like this (OpenVPN):

tun9 - 192.168.9.1
tun10 - 192.168.10.1
tun11 - 192.168.11.1
[...]

This method serves for this scenario?