Community discussions

MikroTik App

KingToastxox
just joined
Topic Author

Beginner to 'The Dude', need some advice for mapping topology

Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:55 pm

Hi all, first off I would like to say that I'm rather new to networking and have a basic understanding. I'm currently interning at a company and they have asked me to map their network topology. The company has a handful of subnets. How do I configure Dude to map each of these subnets while mapping the likes of; routers, switches, printers, machines, firewalls etc. I ran the Dude with default settings on a subnet I supplied, it returned all devices but I couldn't see the switches and firewall it just showed a cloud like image with all devices connected to it? How do I enable it to see firewalls and what switches machines use?

Sorry if my question is vague or incomplete, forgive my ignorance. Any help would be much appreciated!

coylh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Re: Beginner to 'The Dude', need some advice for mapping topology

Wed May 06, 2015 6:55 pm

You'll need to read about the different layers in a network. In particular, the difference between layer 2 and 3. When you want to discover devices in a network, you (or the tool you're using) will use a method of detecting those devices. For example, at layer 3 your tool might send a message to each address in a given range, and see if any devices respond. A device might not respond out of a sense of security (firewall) or because it's not designed to work at the layer you're testing (ethernet hub). I think you'll need at least two methods of discovery to capture both L2 and L3 information, based on what you've said.

Also, there are different types of maps. You can map the physical connections between devices (this cable plugs into that port) but you can also map the logical connections (this subnet connects to that subnet). These two concepts are difficult to express on one page, so people often end up with two maps for just a single network.