Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
ekarin
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 9:12 pm
Contact:

Script of automatically updating gateway address at routes

Mon Sep 24, 2018 6:01 pm

According to my presentation in the 2018 MUM conference in Thailand, I presented in the topic "Monitoring the Internet Connections of WAN Links
with Only Routing Configuration". https://mum.mikrotik.com/presentations/ ... 743837.pdf
After the conference, I was asked from many people in Thailand on how to automatically update the ISP gateway addresses at routes if the ISP gateway addresses at the WAN interfaces were changed. My presentation showed them how to configure the recursive routes (i.e. routes with the static ISP gateways). As they asked, I realized that some ISPs sometimes change their gateway addresses. I have responded them with a solution to use a script that is able to automatically update the gateway addresses of the routes. I would like to share the following script here. Hopefully it may be useful for others.


In case of PPPoE Client at a WAN Link, the script is as follows:
:local newgw [/ip address get [find interface="pppoe-out1"] network];
:local routegw [/ip route get [find comment="isp1"] gateway ];
:if ($newgw != $routegw) do={
      /ip route set [find comment="isp1"] gateway=$newgw;
}

In case of DHCP Client at a WAN Link, the script is as follows:
:local newgw [ip dhcp-client get [find interface="ether1"] gateway];
:local routegw [/ip route get [find comment="isp1"] gateway ];
:if ($newgw != $routegw) do={
     /ip route set [find comment="isp1"] gateway=$newgw;
}

If you want to apply for more than one WAN links, for example, two WAN links (PPPoE Clients), just copy the above script and paste like this.
:local newgw1 [/ip address get [find interface="pppoe-out1"] network];
:local routegw1 [/ip route get [find comment="isp1"] gateway ];
:if ($newgw1 != $routegw1) do={
     /ip route set [find comment="isp1"] gateway=$newgw1;
}
:local newgw2 [/ip address get [find interface="pppoe-out2"] network];
:local routegw2 [/ip route get [find comment="isp2"] gateway ];
:if ($newgw2 != $routegw2) do={
     /ip route set [find comment="isp2"] gateway=$newgw2;
}

Note that you can run it on the up event of PPPoE/DHCP client
Last edited by ekarin on Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:28 am, edited 2 times in total.
 
adminken
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:24 pm

Re: Script of automatically updating gateway address at routes

Mon Nov 25, 2019 5:14 am

+1 sir.
 
Taymaz1987
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 9:41 am

Re: Script of automatically updating gateway address at routes

Tue Sep 01, 2020 10:18 am

Hello my friend
I have internet from an isp.My isp has made settings that only the modem can connect and no bridge mode is used.
For some reason I have to use this isp.I connect modem to Mikrotik router and active dhcp client and always receive ip with CIDR 24 and the gateway is always 100.0.0.1 but it is not reachable.
For example, ip is 100.75.15.121/24, I have to find the gateway manually, which for example goes up to 100.75.15.1
I am not very familiar with the script and my isp is not willing to cooperate.
The only idea I have is to get dhcp client network and add it to 1 and put it in the gateway.
please help me.
 
User avatar
FiiMitch
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 8:49 am
Location: Gold Coast, QLD
Contact:

Re: Script of automatically updating gateway address at routes

Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:31 pm

I've installed countless Mikrotik routers using VDSL modems for nothing more than modulation and hardware bridging.

Can you specify:

- The make and model of the modem you are using
- How you have configured the bridging
- How the ISP is terminating the connection i.e. PPPoE, IPoE, DHCP
- What Mikrotik device you are using and how it is connected/configured

Also what exactly is meant by:
ip is100.75.15.121/24, I have to find the gateway manually, which for example goes up to 100.75.15.1

Is this what you are currently receiving at the modem level from the ISP? Or what is being handed to your Mikrotik router from the modem?
MTCNA, MTCRE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BartoszP and 24 guests