Community discussions

 
delreini
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2019 12:34 pm

600 ports 5 comms rooms

Sat Aug 31, 2019 12:37 pm

Have 600 ports around hotel with few different providers running services, we have to supply infrastructure for them to plug into. Services that are being run are Smart TV, Chrome Cast, IP phones, Wifi access points.

Makeup is of 5 comms rooms 150 ports in each comms room, no need for POE on all ports just for wifi access points and phones.

1. Have few questions around how best to prevision VLans on the ports the way we are doing this in other options is wondering can we do this using MAC address.

2. What is best way to manage 12 switches day to day + core switch.
 
User avatar
SiB
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: 600 ports 5 comms rooms

Sun Sep 01, 2019 11:23 pm

Have 600 ports around hotel with few different providers running services, we have to supply infrastructure for them to plug into. Services that are being run are Smart TV, Chrome Cast, IP phones, Wifi access points.Makeup is of 5 comms rooms 150 ports in each comms room, no need for POE on all ports just for wifi access points and phones.
.
It seams that you should write in RouterBOARD hardware or or General in this forum, not scripting.
.
1. Have few questions around how best to prevision VLans on the ports the way we are doing this in other options is wondering can we do this using MAC address.
.
You should ask this questions. What technology with Mac address you speak and you have some RouterBoard platform on mind? Optic, Ethhernet, with core networking or without etc.
.
2. What is best way to manage 12 switches day to day + core switch.
.
In list form: WinBox, autorun.auto.rsc via ftp, SSH, Telnet, RoMon, MacTelnet, WebGUI, The Dude. <- In my opinion this selection.

BTW, The MikroTik works good router-s but switch features are limited corresponding to other vendor. If you need only vlan stuff then no problem. If you thinking "MikroTik is cheap" then you should check the SwOS and RouterOS changelog to check if this is in switching good solution. For example RB cannot be stack as core and RouterOS haven't shared NAT-table between routers. Every vendor have some + and - and you should ask question.

Realy, you should ask someone for consulting your project at https://mikrotik.com/training/academy because company who do Training in >80% can do consulting stuff too.
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL | WebChat: Tokonda

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests