Community discussions

MikroTik App

mutluit
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author

How to delete a list in reverse order?

Sat May 02, 2020 3:34 pm

Hi, I'm an experienced programmer, but newbie to RouterOS scripting.
I want to delete all entries under "/ip firewall filter/" in reverse order.

One method is by "remove numbers=55,54,53, ....", but this is of course too much work.

I wanted to do it in a reverse for-loop like this, but it brings an error:
/ip/firewall/filter
/for i from=55 to=1 do={ remove numbers=$i; }
bad command name remove (line 1 column 26)

So, what is the best method to delete such a list?

Thx

mutluit
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author

Re: How to delete a list in reverse order?  [SOLVED]

Sat May 02, 2020 3:46 pm

Solved as folows:
/ip/firewall/filter
:for i from=55 to=1 do={ remove numbers=$i }

Jotne
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: How to delete a list in reverse order?

Sat May 02, 2020 5:09 pm

Can you explain why you are doing this. I would not have dared to delete any access list (filter rule) just by number.
If this are temporary access list I would have used some form of naming, and deleted them by name.
This way script can not by accident delete important rules, and in worst case prevent access to it.

mutluit
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author

Sat May 02, 2020 6:09 pm

Can you explain why you are doing this. I would not have dared to delete any access list (filter rule) just by number.
If this are temporary access list I would have used some form of naming, and deleted them by name.
This way script can not by accident delete important rules, and in worst case prevent access to it.