Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
Tools
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:30 pm

Finding and disabling previous static DNS script

Mon Feb 01, 2021 4:29 pm

Hello!
I've added a script to my Mikrotik CRS317-1G-16S+ some years ago, that adds and removes static DNS entries regularly from the leases on it's DHCP server, however now times have changed and I'm no longer in need of it, and would like to remove it again.

I'm not familiar with scripts on my router tho, and visiting System -> Scripts in Winbox yields no results.

I've googled around for similar scripts, but haven't been able to find one with similar loggings, so I'm truely clueless where to start.

Here's a picture of my Winbox for reference: https://i.imgur.com/VihZ5j5.png
As can be seen, it just logs "static dns entry added / removed by admin"

Thanks in advanced for any assistance 🥂
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7232
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Finding and disabling previous static DNS script  [SOLVED]

Mon Feb 01, 2021 4:35 pm

Just do a /export and look in the export where your script is configured, then go to that menu and remove it.
 
afuchs
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 11:10 am

Re: Finding and disabling previous static DNS script

Mon Feb 01, 2021 4:44 pm

Or you can look in System Scheduler, because you can add script directly there.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7232
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Finding and disabling previous static DNS script

Mon Feb 01, 2021 5:10 pm

Or you can look in System Scheduler, because you can add script directly there.
But it is not the only place where it could be! In this case it could also be a DHCP lease script.
/export tells you what it is.
 
afuchs
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 11:10 am

Re: Finding and disabling previous static DNS script

Mon Feb 01, 2021 6:00 pm

Or you can look in System Scheduler, because you can add script directly there.
But it is not the only place where it could be! In this case it could also be a DHCP lease script.
/export tells you what it is.
Yes I know, but I want try a simple approach first, because some people have problems to read terminal outputs.
There are a couple of possible triggers, but these two positions are the most common without going deeper into special configurations.
 
User avatar
Tools
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:30 pm

Re: Finding and disabling previous static DNS script

Mon Feb 01, 2021 7:03 pm

Turns out you were both spot on.

Image

I'm so grateful to see there's an option to disable it too,
that way I can keep my functioning script if I ever were to need it again.

Thanks you guys! 🍻

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests