Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

can someone look at this?

Mon Dec 10, 2007 11:16 pm

This is a screen shot of my logs from my Mikrotik device, its obviosly scanning for best signal but, why? I have played around with (no radar detect) and it didn't seem to change results. I have a lot of devices that do this, is this periodic calibration? Thanks for the help p.s the SSID this device should be locked to is VistaVox, this client is less than 1/4 mile form AP.

jan/01 00:00:28 wireless,debug wlan1: STA starts scanning
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,debug wlan1: STA scan over, results:
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,debug 00:15:6D:63:10:B9: on 2427 SSID VistaVox-PW
caps 0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x1 MT: yes
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,debug 00:12:0E:86:5C:43: on 2437 SSID 07B408806406
caps 0x431 rates 0xff1f basic 0xf MT: no
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,debug wlan1: must select network
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,debug wlan1: no network that satisfies connect-list,
by default choose with strongest signal
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,debug wlan1: selected 00:15:6D:63:10:B9, SSID
VistaVox-PW on 2427
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,info 00:15:6D:63:10:B9@wlan1 established connection
on 2427, SSID VistaVox-PW
jan/01 00:05:25 wireless,info 00:15:6D:63:10:B9@wlan1: lost connection,
extensive data loss
jan/01 00:05:25 wireless,debug wlan1: STA starts scanning
jan/01 00:05:26 wireless,debug wlan1: STA scan over, results:
jan/01 00:05:26 wireless,debug 00:15:6D:63:10:B9: on 2427 SSID VistaVox-PW
caps 0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x1 MT: yes
jan/01 00:05:26 wireless,debug 00:12:0E:86:5C:43: on 2437 SSID 07B408806406
caps 0x431 rates 0xff1f basic 0xf MT: no
jan/01 00:05:26 wireless,debug 00:18:F8:D9:1D:88: on 2437 SSID amy millikin
caps 0x411 rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
-- [Q quit|D dump|down]
 
User avatar
Dragonmen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 6:20 pm
Location: Sabac, Serbia
Contact:

Re: can someone look at this?

Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:26 am

This is a screen shot of my logs from my Mikrotik device, its obviosly scanning for best signal but, why? I have played around with (no radar detect) and it didn't seem to change results. I have a lot of devices that do this, is this periodic calibration? Thanks for the help p.s the SSID this device should be locked to is VistaVox, this client is less than 1/4 mile form AP.

jan/01 00:00:28 wireless,debug wlan1: STA starts scanning
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,debug wlan1: STA scan over, results:
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,debug 00:15:6D:63:10:B9: on 2427 SSID VistaVox-PW
caps 0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x1 MT: yes
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,debug 00:12:0E:86:5C:43: on 2437 SSID 07B408806406
caps 0x431 rates 0xff1f basic 0xf MT: no
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,debug wlan1: must select network
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,debug wlan1: no network that satisfies connect-list,
by default choose with strongest signal
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,debug wlan1: selected 00:15:6D:63:10:B9, SSID
VistaVox-PW on 2427
jan/01 00:00:29 wireless,info 00:15:6D:63:10:B9@wlan1 established connection
on 2427, SSID VistaVox-PW
jan/01 00:05:25 wireless,info 00:15:6D:63:10:B9@wlan1: lost connection,
extensive data loss
jan/01 00:05:25 wireless,debug wlan1: STA starts scanning
jan/01 00:05:26 wireless,debug wlan1: STA scan over, results:
jan/01 00:05:26 wireless,debug 00:15:6D:63:10:B9: on 2427 SSID VistaVox-PW
caps 0x421 rates 0xf basic 0x1 MT: yes
jan/01 00:05:26 wireless,debug 00:12:0E:86:5C:43: on 2437 SSID 07B408806406
caps 0x431 rates 0xff1f basic 0xf MT: no
jan/01 00:05:26 wireless,debug 00:18:F8:D9:1D:88: on 2437 SSID amy millikin
caps 0x411 rates 0xff0f basic 0xf MT: no
-- [Q quit|D dump|down]
It's looses connection and reconnect again. You wanna check both sides to be sure what is causing it.
I don't think this has anything to do with scripting.
 
User avatar
wiirus
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 11:50 pm

Re: can someone look at this?

Tue Dec 11, 2007 6:29 pm

I have same probl. :(
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: can someone look at this?

Wed Dec 12, 2007 10:55 pm

but it seems to do the scan on it's own. I don't think it is loosing connection, just scanning for better signal, notice our main AP always satisfies strongest signal and is chosen.?
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: can someone look at this?

Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:21 am

send through a screen cap of your signal strengths when it is connected.. you'd need to look at both sides thou.

If it's showing the "extensive data loss" then it's either a flaky signal or there's something nearby interfering.
It'd be worthwhile doing a scan and seeing what other wireless networks are showing up in the area.

Regards,
Omega-00
 
User avatar
Dragonmen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 6:20 pm
Location: Sabac, Serbia
Contact:

Re: can someone look at this?

Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:31 am

but it seems to do the scan on it's own. I don't think it is loosing connection, just scanning for better signal, notice our main AP always satisfies strongest signal and is chosen.?
Check for "fake ap" someone might put to spoof your traffic.
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: can someone look at this?

Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:19 pm

Check for "fake ap" someone might put to spoof your traffic.
Where?, like just do a scan and see if I can see another broadcast with same SSID as mine?
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: can someone look at this?

Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:22 pm

"extensive data loss" then it's either a flaky signal or there's something nearby interfering. I wasn't aware of that, thanks. And yes lots of linksys in the area etc.
 
User avatar
GWISA
Member
Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 2:37 pm
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: can someone look at this?

Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:43 am

You could try using snooper to see what's happening. There may be a 2nd SSID that the station sees and gives it a go.

Recently I had a situation like this when I mistakenly left a device configured as bridge with wds after I added a second in station-wds mode and changed the other side of the bridge to ap-bridge.

The station would scan and hop to the bridge when it should have connected to the AP.
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: can someone look at this?

Fri Dec 14, 2007 2:01 am

Another thing to check then, if you can see a lot of other wireless networks in the area, try to pick a channel thats least crowded with the acceptable channels.

In Australia the regular ones are 1, 6 and 11 as these channels have a negliable amount of interference. If you see people sitting on channels inbetween, try to pick the other end of the range as for example, if you had clients sitting on 1 or 6 and someone else was using 3, you'd get interference on both 1 and 6.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests