Community discussions

 
tareq
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 4:55 pm

how clear Mikrotik Log ?

Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:34 pm

Hi Everybody
Hope all are you fine. I face a problem with mikrotik. I want clear log , but i don't do this. Can any one help me?

Tareq
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24280
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: how clear Mikrotik Log ?

Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:43 pm

you can set log lines to 1 and then back to 1000
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
wcsnet
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:43 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: how clear Mikrotik Log ?

Wed Jul 30, 2014 12:04 pm

/system logging action set memory memory-lines=1

/system logging action set memory memory-lines=100
Kind Regards

WERNER VENTER
Technical Support Engineer

Werner.venter.mail@gmail.com
 
digim
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 12:17 pm

Re: how clear Mikrotik Log ?

Mon Jan 19, 2015 6:20 am

mikrotik really should create some easy command for this like "log clear"
and i dont understand why its not done since so many years of routeros development
btw - command above not working - log window remains full and loads slowly in winbox
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24280
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: how clear Mikrotik Log ?

Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:57 am

why would you want to clear the log, unless you are trying to hide something from the router owner ?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
digim
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 12:17 pm

Re: how clear Mikrotik Log ?

Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:36 am

why would you want to clear the log, unless you are trying to hide something from the router owner ?
it's simple - long log take long time to load and winbox response slows down terribly! takes up to 10sec to just show the log window - and this on broadband connection!

create new command (PLEASE!) - if somebody wants to hide something - he can just simply restart router. but when i want to start log network events for debugging - i want to do it fast and from fresh log - it's just common sysadmin unixway style - "clear" or "echo > log" - not that bunch of commands it needs now.

you can add proper ACL for log clearing for example to sort out problem with unauthorised log clearing
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24280
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: how clear Mikrotik Log ?

Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:41 am

If log is very slow, I recommend using less "lines" per local log (max-lines) and use external syslog to keep the full log
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
digim
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 12:17 pm

Re: how clear Mikrotik Log ?

Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:08 am

If log is very slow, I recommend using less "lines" per local log (max-lines) and use external syslog to keep the full log
not a good way to solve problems by creating new ones ))
 
digim
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 12:17 pm

Re: how clear Mikrotik Log ?

Sun Feb 01, 2015 6:22 pm

it seems lack of this feature start to bother users long time ago :)
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... bb#p141518
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24280
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: how clear Mikrotik Log ?

Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:34 am

clearing the log is never a good idea. just set the number of lines to smaller number, it will clear automatically. I still don't understand this request. Clearing all log away is only needed for hiding some incriminating activity.

Log line limit solved "log being slow"
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
digim
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 12:17 pm

Re: how clear Mikrotik Log ?

Sat Feb 07, 2015 12:54 pm

small log is bad solution. sometimes i want it to be big to store more data. some remote sites didn't have a separate syslog for log storage!
but i want to have ability to clear it
if somebody want's to hide smthing - he can just reboot the router, or disable syslog and do whatever he wants silently. why you keep denying lack of basic features in routeros?
 
katit
newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 6:01 am

Re: how clear Mikrotik Log ?

Thu May 14, 2015 1:07 am

I'm new to router and were looking for solution. Amazing why there is no such simple feature.

I AM an owner of router. I do play with settings, troubleshoot issues with VPN, look at logs. It drives me crazy looking at all the stuff. Let's say I troubleshoot VPN. Wouldn't it be much easier for me to "Clear Log". Initiate VPN connection and then look at what happened in a log? Instead of scrolling through old stuff?

Yes, once it's all set it's OK to keep all of the logs.

Or, if you think we need all this logs, why don't you add log rotate and feature for us "Log Rotate". Log viewer would display everything after log was rotated. And there will be a way to see previous logs.
 
TomosRider
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:51 pm

Re: how clear Mikrotik Log ?

Thu May 14, 2015 2:42 pm

If you administer your network, you should know that log is your best frend. More info, easier troubleshoot.
Clear log? I cant see how this would be a good thing. About "cleaner" view of debug outputs in log, you can simply filter this by enabling/disabling logging information.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Sun May 31, 2015 8:26 am

Set logging to 1 line and then set the original lines value back. If you log into files, delete those files.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests