Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Valerio5000
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:38 am

EOIP with two Subnet

Sat Oct 15, 2022 1:37 pm

hi all guys I always read this forum but I rarely write as I am a simple fan of Mikrotik and ROS;) I need a hand to have Layer2 traffic between two remote LANs both with HAP AC2 keeping the Subnets different.

Scheme; LAN1 <--- EOIP ---> LAN2

Subnet LAN1 192.168.0.0/24.
Subnet LAN2 192.168.50.0/24.

I would like to keep the Subnets separate and each LAN its own DHCP Server so that I don't have to depend on each other and pass Layer2 traffic (DLNA, find devices etc). Over time I have done various tests but I only get to the point that to make everything work I must necessarily have a single Subnet and a single DHCP Server. For now I don't consider Zerotier as I still want to keep ROS6. Is it possible to do what I ask?
 
Valerio5000
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:38 am

Re: EOIP with two Subnet

Fri Jun 02, 2023 8:17 pm

UP!
 
wiseroute
Member
Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2023 11:06 am

Re: EOIP with two Subnet

Sat Jun 03, 2023 2:49 am

hello
Scheme; LAN1 <--- EOIP ---> LAN2

Subnet LAN1 192.168.0.0/24.
Subnet LAN2 192.168.50.0/24.
did you mean:
you want to extend the lan subnet on the left to right and vice versa?

and how will you interconnect those 2 lans if you don't have any termination point? you don't need one?

if you don't need to link those 2 lans, you could just do 2 vlans on both sides (vlan trunks).
make a bridge on both sides. put bridge port vlan members accordingly.
1 dhcp server for each side, listening to their own vlan.

MT wiki has those how to guide. feel free to read them first.

hope this helps. good luck 👍🏻

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Semrush [Bot] and 1 guest