Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
mattstephenson
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:03 am
Location: UK

Bridge to keep routes up on OSPF when LAN interface is down

Tue Oct 17, 2023 12:11 am

I have an issue where if the ethernet port on an RB3011 that connects to the main LAN switch is physically disconnected (or the switch is rebooting), the IP address on the router for that interface disappears temporarily, and this cascades through OSPF (undesirably) removing the routes at other sites.

I read that making a bridge was the solution to this as the bridge is always up, and then connect the physical interface (ether3) to it.

1. I have the following working, but wanted to know if that was the best way?

2. There is only ONE port that ever connects to the switch (as a trunk), these are RB3011 routers with switch chip - should I do anything else there?

3. If I set the trunk port ether3 on "/interface bridge port" to only allow VLAN tagged frames, LLDP neighbour discovery stops working on that port - I have to set it to 'admit all' because the LLDP is untagged? I have never experienced this on any other manufacturer - is this the solution?

Thanks in advance
/interface bridge
add comment="LAN Trunk" ingress-filtering=yes name=bridge1 protocol-mode=none vlan-filtering=yes
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] comment="LAN Trunk"
/interface vlan
add comment=Main interface=bridge1 name=vlan2 vlan-id=2
add comment=Staff interface=bridge1 name=vlan3 vlan-id=3
add comment=Guest interface=bridge1 name=vlan4 vlan-id=4
add comment=VPN interface=bridge1 name=vlan5 vlan-id=5
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 ingress-filtering=yes interface=ether3
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=ether3,bridge1 vlan-ids=2-5
 
nediis
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:32 am

Re: Bridge to keep routes up on OSPF when LAN interface is down

Sat Oct 21, 2023 9:08 pm

3.
/interface list
add name=LLDP
add interface=vlan2 list=LLDP
add interface=vlan3 list=LLDP
add interface=vlan4 list=LLDP
add interface=vlan5 list=LLDP
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=LLDP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dmitris and 4 guests