Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
hkunnana
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:11 am

Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Wed May 31, 2023 2:18 pm

I hope you provide a x64 version of The Dude Client for windows, besides/instead of the 32bit version.
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11704
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Thu Jun 01, 2023 2:35 pm

Is there any practical reason, except for the fashion of the moment?
What is wrong that a mere "transposition" from 32 to 64 bit, without touching anything else, would solve?
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2976
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Thu Jun 01, 2023 5:06 pm

I hope you provide a x64 version of The Dude Client for windows, besides/instead of the 32bit version.


i think yes is too much to ask

i think currently there is other much more pressing tasks

The Dude has stopped its development for a good reason, it needs a complete overhaul to 64 bit not only for client but in the server side thats not a minor task, maybe with containers does not make much sense to invest time and resources in The Dude when you can deploy a container with a much more capable monitoring solution

most people asking for 64bit client is not for use in windows per se, is for use in windows emulated on ARM Mac which only emulates 64bit so its a very niche use

I use windows 64bit and use the dude client 32bit without problem
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11704
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Thu Jun 01, 2023 5:11 pm

most people asking for 64bit client is not for use in windows per se, is for use in windows emulated on ARM Mac which only emulates 64bit so its a very niche use
THANK YOU, finally someone who speaks for facts, and not just for requests,
THANKS again for pointing this out, I hadn't thought of that...
 
User avatar
Amm0
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2734
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 7:12 pm
Location: California

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Mon Jun 26, 2023 9:09 pm

I hope you provide a x64 version of The Dude Client for windows, besides/instead of the 32bit version.
most people asking for 64bit client is not for use in windows per se, is for use in windows emulated on ARM Mac which only emulates 64bit so its a very niche use
Correct, the "need" for 64-bit Dude client is for non-Window users ;). And not just ARM Macs, the Intel ones can't use 32-bit wine either since the MacOS kernel dropped 32-bit support long ago. Whether that's "very niche" case given Windows market share down to 53%, IDK ;)

... and we're a long way from some "new Dude" or "cross platform winbox" that offer non-wine options for us Mac users.
 
optio
Member
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2022 2:57 pm

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Mon Jun 26, 2023 9:32 pm

dud_mac.png
It runs on M1 MacOS Ventura with wine
~ % wine --version
wine-6.0.2 (WineskinCX 21.2.0)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Scruffyedc
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 7:48 am

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Wed Nov 01, 2023 6:15 am

how did you install it, I get the dude setup clean window and then crash
 
User avatar
Amm0
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2734
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 7:12 pm
Location: California

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Wed Nov 01, 2023 7:52 am

how did you install it, I get the dude setup clean window and then crash
On Linux, you can install the i386 libs and 32-bit wine. Now...for Intel-based Mac, wine wouldn't work with 32-bit Dude.
 
Scruffyedc
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 7:48 am

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Wed Nov 01, 2023 9:07 am

Optio obviosly made it work somehow…
 
optio
Member
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2022 2:57 pm

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Wed Nov 01, 2023 1:39 pm

On Linux, you can install the i386 libs and 32-bit wine. Now...for Intel-based Mac, wine wouldn't work with 32-bit Dude.
Must be CrossOver wine, it can run 32bit applications with emulation on 64bit CrossOver wine https://www.codeweavers.com/blog/jwhite ... ially-cool.
Wine Is Not an Emulator acronym doesn't sound right here :)
For Mac, I'm using builds from: https://github.com/Gcenx/winecx
Here is on my Mac Intel:
ss_mac_int_wine.png

$ wine --version
wine-8.0.1 (WineskinCX 23.5.0)
It's actually wine64, I created symlink to wine64 for convenience, but it's not necessary
$ file $(which wine)
..../wine: symbolic link to wine64


All these MT windows applicatins work on Mac, 32bit and 64bit (some are 64bit, just renamed without 64 in name like winbox.exe and netinstall.exe):
ss_finder_mt_wine.png
Also created wrapper app with Automator using AppleScript to directly run them from Finder.

Edit: And just figured out that Winbox when is updated replaces itself with 32bit build if is named winbox.exe instead winbox64.exe, I guess I need to download 64bit again and keep winbox64.exe filename... lol
$ file btest.exe 
btest.exe: PE32 executable (GUI) Intel 80386 (stripped to external PDB), for MS Windows, 10 sections
$ file $HOME/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files\ \(x86\)/Dude/dude.exe 
$HOME/.wine/drive_c/Program Files (x86)/Dude/dude.exe: PE32 executable (GUI) Intel 80386 (stripped to external PDB), for MS Windows, 10 sections
$ file flashfig.exe 
flashfig.exe: PE32 executable (GUI) Intel 80386 (stripped to external PDB), for MS Windows, 10 sections
$ file netinstall.exe 
netinstall.exe: PE32+ executable (GUI) x86-64 (stripped to external PDB), for MS Windows, 12 sections
$ file winbox.exe 
winbox.exe: PE32 executable (GUI) Intel 80386 (stripped to external PDB), for MS Windows, 10 sections
$ file winbox64.exe 
winbox64.exe: PE32+ executable (GUI) x86-64 (stripped to external PDB), for MS Windows, 12 sections
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 9966
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Wed Nov 01, 2023 6:39 pm

On Linux, you can install the i386 libs and 32-bit wine. Now...for Intel-based Mac, wine wouldn't work with 32-bit Dude.
Must be CrossOver wine, it can run 32bit applications with emulation on 64bit CrossOver wine
No idea, when installing wine64 on Debian Linux (64-bit) and using it to run winbox64.exe it keeps whining (wining?) that "it looks like wine32 is missing, you should install it." even though the winbox64.exe then just works.
On another system I gave in and installed wine32 and that works as well, but it installs many dependent i386 architecture packages (libraries), not everyone likes that.
 
User avatar
Amm0
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2734
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 7:12 pm
Location: California

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Wed Nov 01, 2023 7:18 pm

Basically it's just Intel-based Mac where there is no possibility for the 32-bit Wine needed for the 32-bit Dude. While annoying, i386 arch files are needed on Linux, but it's at least solvable. The only solution for Dude on Intel-based Mac is a VM (either with windows, or linux with i386). Or, perhaps CrossOver, but I've used that. I already have VMs, so I just run Dude there.
 
optio
Member
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2022 2:57 pm

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Wed Nov 01, 2023 7:26 pm

Did not try Winbox on vanilla wine so I can't tell my experience. Unfortunately there are no packages with CrossOver wine build from official sources of any major Linux distro (afaik), Codeweavers are charging premium subscription for their builds and frontend GUI to easily set up wine prefix to run windows application. Users are usually using CrossOver for gaming but their modifications on wine makes it more optimized and windows applications runs better on it and it supports 32bit to 64bit emulation.
Gcenx is creating Mac builds from Codeweavers official sources as stated on his github repo since they must reveal modified source due to wine GPL licence, then it will be possible to create Linux builds from it if someone is willing to do, maybe it can be found somewhere, I didn't search thoroughly.
Last edited by optio on Wed Nov 01, 2023 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
Amm0
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2734
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 7:12 pm
Location: California

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Wed Nov 01, 2023 7:40 pm

For Linux, there is also Value's Proton emulator: https://github.com/ValveSoftware/Proton

I know Dude works on a ARM SteamDeck, which runs ArchLinux-based SteamOS with Proton. But I don't know if it works on normal Linux, but there is source for it.
 
optio
Member
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2022 2:57 pm

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Wed Nov 01, 2023 8:26 pm

"Proton is developed by Valve in cooperation with developers from CodeWeavers." Thats why is working with it, probably same wine code in it.
 
User avatar
Amm0
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2734
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 7:12 pm
Location: California

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Thu Nov 02, 2023 3:02 am

"Proton is developed by Valve in cooperation with developers from CodeWeavers." Thats why is working with it, probably same wine code in it.
Yeah I'd imagine that's right.

I don't have a system to check, but maybe the Linux Steam Engine client gets you the CodeWeaver wine...
 
Scruffyedc
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 7:48 am

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Thu Nov 02, 2023 3:16 am

I am very unsuccessful with the crossover, just downloaded it.

when I wanna run the install for dude using wine crossover, it just shows the bottle and then in 60s the bottle disappear

wine64 shows this:
PastedGraphic-1 3.png
crossover shows nothing

Mac intel with Sonoma
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
Amm0
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2734
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 7:12 pm
Location: California

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Thu Nov 02, 2023 3:29 am

You may to use just use "wine" to start Dude, not "wine64". But I've never used CodeWeavers, but I do know Steam on Mac doesn't support 32-bit code. I gave up and just use Windows VM on my Intel Mac once Darwin stopped provide 32-bit code support.
 
Scruffyedc
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 7:48 am

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Thu Nov 02, 2023 5:07 am

do I have to use the installator from the website? or there is just the exe somewhere?

this is what I get, no window visible
PastedGraphic-1 4.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
stmx38
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Thu Nov 02, 2023 7:33 am

 
Scruffyedc
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 7:48 am

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Thu Nov 02, 2023 7:42 am

here is my windows :))))))
PastedGraphic-1 5.png
very small

when I hit enter twice new exec icon shows... if I press enter again it closes
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 9966
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Thu Nov 02, 2023 11:03 am

Did you not read the text is showed?
 
optio
Member
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2022 2:57 pm

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Thu Nov 02, 2023 8:13 pm

@Scruffyedc this is not right place to discuss wine issues. Just tip, did you try to install missing freetype library over MacPorts or Homebrew? Personally I use MacPorts. Also library is installed with XQuartz: https://forum.winehq.org/viewtopic.php?t=35920
 
User avatar
Cha0s
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1104
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:53 pm

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Sat Nov 11, 2023 9:46 pm

maybe with containers does not make much sense to invest time and resources in The Dude when you can deploy a container with a much more capable monitoring solution
Such as?
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1924
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Mon Nov 20, 2023 4:28 pm


most people asking for 64bit client is not for use in windows per se, is for use in windows emulated on ARM Mac which only emulates 64bit so its a very niche use

I use windows 64bit and use the dude client 32bit without problem
Yes. But the niche is growing. Got a new MAC-Book. Basic stuff like closing and opening the lid, I am suffering with windows for years, is just working. All day battery. Perfect device for Network admins. Single stuff missing is Winbox and Dude.

And there is Qualcom Snapdragon X Series (ARM) for Windows arriving next year. And I guess windows will drop 32bit SW at some time, too.

So there should be some effort to bring Winbox/Dude Client from the past to the future.
 
riv
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 4:16 am

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Wed Dec 06, 2023 4:44 pm


most people asking for 64bit client is not for use in windows per se, is for use in windows emulated on ARM Mac which only emulates 64bit so its a very niche use

I use windows 64bit and use the dude client 32bit without problem
Yes. But the niche is growing. Got a new MAC-Book. Basic stuff like closing and opening the lid, I am suffering with windows for years, is just working. All day battery. Perfect device for Network admins. Single stuff missing is Winbox and Dude.

And there is Qualcom Snapdragon X Series (ARM) for Windows arriving next year. And I guess windows will drop 32bit SW at some time, too.

So there should be some effort to bring Winbox/Dude Client from the past to the future.
And what's ironic?

https://mikrotik.com/software is displaying MacBook Pro and iMac for showcase ( yea I know, they're displaying webfig ) , but MT is still not supporting Mac apps :D
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1924
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: Is too much to ask for Dude x64 windows client?

Wed Dec 06, 2023 4:53 pm

I worked around with a virtual Win11-Arm-64bit in Vmware Fusion. Winbox and Dude works with the integrated emulation. Attached a USB-Networkadapter. Works fine so Dude works with MAC-Address based connect, too. MacBooks are crazy fast so the emulation runs fine.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests