Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
effitall
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 17, 2023 7:46 pm

MLAG hopelessly broken?

Fri Jun 02, 2023 9:13 pm

Does anybody have any insight on what Mikrotik is doing with MLAG? It appears that MLAG has been broken since 7.7 and looking at the changelog in 7.7 I see a few bridge changes:

*) bridge - added support for static MDB entries;
*) bridge - disallow port-controller while the bridge has MSTP enabled;
*) bridge - fixed "edge=yes" setting for MSTP;
*) bridge - fixed MSTP compatibility with STP;
*) bridge - fixed R/M/STP bridge identifier on protocol-mode change;
*) bridge - fixed RSTP BCP with bridged PPP interfaces;
*) bridge - fixed STP blocking state on port-controller;
*) bridge - fixed host moving with fast-path;
*) bridge - fixed incorrect root port blocking for MSTP;
*) bridge - fixed master port conversion;
*) bridge - fixed mst-override port priority for MSTP;
*) bridge - fixed port priority for STP and RSTP;
*) bridge - improved port-controller system stability;
*) bridge - improved system stability when using MSTP and many VLAN mappings;
*) bridge - removed "age" monitoring property from the host table;

Not saying that those changes are specifically what broke MLAG, but it's probably related. MLAG was perhaps a little pre-maturely released, but it's now completely broken.

I understand that sometimes things get broken while moving forward, but anything that gets messed up along the way really should be fixed pretty quickly. We're coming up on 6 months that this has been broken. I need to expand some networks and those networks need some sort of redundant access-layer solution, and right now, Mikrotik is apparently broken with no fix in sight.
 
connectlife
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 10:20 pm

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Mon Jun 05, 2023 9:48 am

Hi, what configuration do you have?

We also found that MLAG on ROS versions higher than 7.6 (so 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9) does NOT work, especially if you have two pairs of switches in MLAG (4 devices)

We also have 2 device setups with ROS 7.9 and MLAG works fine...

viewtopic.php?p=1002218&hilit=mlag#p1002218
 
effitall
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 17, 2023 7:46 pm

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Tue Jun 06, 2023 6:33 am

Interesting....I hadn't seen your thread otherwise I would have piled on in there.

In my case I have a pair of CRS326-24S+ switches as a "core" with a pair of CRS328-24p switches below.

When everything is on 7.6, the MLAG on the "core" layer works great. Trying to enable MLAG on the CRS328 "access" pair just creates a big spanning tree loop. Similar MLAG config as with the CRS326's above, but the 328's fail and create a loop.

Upgrading the CRS326 pair beyond 7.6 causes instability. Spannihg-tree blocking, MAC shifting, it's a mess.

I have another pair of CRS326-24G switches on an additional site for that customer and they experience the same issue moving past 7.6.

It's unusable. I'll take a look at your thread more in depth when I get some time tomorrow.

Thanks!!!
 
connectlife
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 10:20 pm

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Thu Jun 08, 2023 2:26 pm

Hi, Mikrotik Support has reproduced and confirmed the bug:

Hello,
Thank you for the report!
We have managed to reproduce the issue locally in our labs and look forward to fixing it on upcoming RouterOS versions, unfortunately, I cannot provide a release date now.
Unfortunately, I cannot suggest any known workarounds.
Best regards,
Edgars P.
 
toto4ds
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2021 10:39 pm

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Thu Jun 08, 2023 7:23 pm

Good news, everyone!
 
BSCC
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 25, 2023 10:06 pm

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Wed Jun 21, 2023 9:15 pm

Is MLAG working on 7.10 for you now?
 
Kalata
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2023 11:09 pm

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Sun Jul 02, 2023 11:58 pm

Please, tell me - is the MLAG working on 7.10?
I have issues with configuring the Mlag, not appear in active port in the following command:
Interface/bonding/monitor “name of the bonding”
 
roadracer96
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 733
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:01 am

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Fri Jul 14, 2023 3:55 am

Mikrotik MLAG has never worked properly. Anyone who says otherwise has never used a REAL working MLAG setup. The entire Mikrotik approach to MLAG is half-baked. Ive been waiting over a year for a fix and they could care less.. I have a pair of nice paper weights sitting here.. Completely worthless equipment.

viewtopic.php?p=986537#p986537
 
ernieball17
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 9:55 pm

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Mon Jul 31, 2023 8:33 pm

Mikrotik MLAG has never worked properly. Anyone who says otherwise has never used a REAL working MLAG setup. The entire Mikrotik approach to MLAG is half-baked. Ive been waiting over a year for a fix and they could care less.. I have a pair of nice paper weights sitting here.. Completely worthless equipment.

viewtopic.php?p=986537#p986537
Hi! Are you refering to the issue that the interfaces after a switch reboot starts sending traffic through only one switch? I'm trying to make 2 CRS326 24S+ 2Q working at the same time balancing the traffic of my network but is impossible. I have to change the mode of the bondings in the switches after a reboot and revert the changes. There's no way to keep that working fine unless you use balance-rr but the interface performance is so much poor.
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2101
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Over the Rainbow
Contact:

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Tue Aug 01, 2023 3:50 pm

Hello,
Thank you for the report!
We have managed to reproduce the issue locally in our labs and look forward to fixing it on upcoming RouterOS versions, unfortunately, I cannot provide a release date now.
Unfortunately, I cannot suggest any known workarounds.
Best regards,
Edgars P.

Has this fix made it into RouterOS yet ?
 
roadracer96
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 733
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:01 am

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Fri Aug 25, 2023 3:11 am

Mikrotik MLAG has never worked properly. Anyone who says otherwise has never used a REAL working MLAG setup. The entire Mikrotik approach to MLAG is half-baked. Ive been waiting over a year for a fix and they could care less.. I have a pair of nice paper weights sitting here.. Completely worthless equipment.

viewtopic.php?p=986537#p986537
Hi! Are you refering to the issue that the interfaces after a switch reboot starts sending traffic through only one switch? I'm trying to make 2 CRS326 24S+ 2Q working at the same time balancing the traffic of my network but is impossible. I have to change the mode of the bondings in the switches after a reboot and revert the changes. There's no way to keep that working fine unless you use balance-rr but the interface performance is so much poor.
I'm referring to the fact that they (mikrotik) have no idea what they are doing. Thr lacp system id changes when devices are rebooted. Causing disruption. The spanning tree bridge id changes when devices are rebooted. Causing disruption. It doest work with igmp snooping. It's a poor attempt.
 
User avatar
spippan
Member
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:00 pm
Location: Austria

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Sun Aug 27, 2023 11:06 pm

if you need reliable MLAG hardware go for cisco, extreme or if you need to be on budget ... fs.com

speaking of fs...
MLAG featuring switches:
N5860-48SC (mlag or stack)
S5860-48SC (stack)
S5850-48S6Q (mlag)

routing ... mikrotik
switching ... cisco, fs, aruba, extreme
 
SilverNodashi
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:18 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Sun Feb 18, 2024 5:04 pm

Interesting....I hadn't seen your thread otherwise I would have piled on in there.

In my case I have a pair of CRS326-24S+ switches as a "core" with a pair of CRS328-24p switches below.

When everything is on 7.6, the MLAG on the "core" layer works great. Trying to enable MLAG on the CRS328 "access" pair just creates a big spanning tree loop. Similar MLAG config as with the CRS326's above, but the 328's fail and create a loop.

Upgrading the CRS326 pair beyond 7.6 causes instability. Spannihg-tree blocking, MAC shifting, it's a mess.

I have another pair of CRS326-24G switches on an additional site for that customer and they experience the same issue moving past 7.6.

It's unusable. I'll take a look at your thread more in depth when I get some time tomorrow.

Thanks!!!
Since MLAG doesn't work properly, how would you rather setup a redundant network, using 2x CRS326-24+2Q switches, connected to a RB301?
I have 5x Proxmox servers, setup with LACP (802.3ad) over 2x SFP+ ports. And each SFP+ port is connected to a CRS3262-24+2Q switch.

Currently I am using ROS 7.13.4
 
roadracer96
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 733
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:01 am

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Thu Feb 22, 2024 2:57 am

Easy. Don't use mikrotik!
 
SilverNodashi
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:18 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Thu Feb 22, 2024 9:45 am

Easy. Don't use mikrotik!
What else then?
 
User avatar
spippan
Member
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:00 pm
Location: Austria

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Fri Feb 23, 2024 1:15 pm

Easy. Don't use mikrotik!
What else then?

EDIT:
i just gave you alternatives RIGHT above your post

if you are on a budget ... fs.com S5850 or N5860. i would recommend the N
definitely heavier on the price tag than mikrotik but quite solid switches

if budget is no concern you could go with juniper or extreme.
if you REALLY do not care about money - cisco nexus 9k, but licensing is an utter shitshow over there ;)
 
SilverNodashi
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:18 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Mon Feb 26, 2024 5:33 pm



What else then?

EDIT:
i just gave you alternatives RIGHT above your post

if you are on a budget ... fs.com S5850 or N5860. i would recommend the N
definitely heavier on the price tag than mikrotik but quite solid switches

Those switches are 7x more expensive than the MikroTiks :shock:
 
User avatar
spippan
Member
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:00 pm
Location: Austria

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Mon Feb 26, 2024 8:16 pm




EDIT:
i just gave you alternatives RIGHT above your post

if you are on a budget ... fs.com S5850 or N5860. i would recommend the N
definitely heavier on the price tag than mikrotik but quite solid switches
but they work quite well.

Those switches are 7x more expensive than the MikroTiks :shock:
yep. i know. but way cheaper than cisco, extreme or juniper
 
roadracer96
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 733
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:01 am

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Fri Apr 12, 2024 4:52 am




EDIT:
i just gave you alternatives RIGHT above your post

if you are on a budget ... fs.com S5850 or N5860. i would recommend the N
definitely heavier on the price tag than mikrotik but quite solid switches

Those switches are 7x more expensive than the MikroTiks :shock:
You are throwing your money away on mikrotik if you intend to mlag. Plain and simple. 7x more and working is a better deal than 1/7 cheaper and doesn't work at all.

Anyone living with a mikrotik mlag setup had never used a real good mlag setup from a number of other vendors.
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2101
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Over the Rainbow
Contact:

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Fri Apr 12, 2024 7:59 am

You are throwing your money away on mikrotik if you intend to mlag. Plain and simple. 7x more and working is a better deal than 1/7 cheaper and doesn't work at all.

Anyone living with a mikrotik mlag setup had never used a real good mlag setup from a number of other vendors.
As one of the people who _heavily_ pushed Mikrotik to add MLAG and tested it from Day 1, I completely agree. They really missed the mark on this feature.

I wish they had brought a couple of cheap Extreme Summits from eBay and set them up in a MLAG to see how to do it properly before they implemented it.
 
connectlife
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 10:20 pm

Re: MLAG hopelessly broken?

Fri Apr 12, 2024 9:58 am

The only version that works decently with MLAG is 7.6

All the others bring serious problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 24 guests