Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Wlad3
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:43 pm

Need help setting up my RBSXTR-LTE.

Fri Mar 29, 2024 3:21 pm

Hello everyone.
I’m completely fresh to this topic. Recently bought used RBSXTR&r11e kit. Had some problems at first with detecting it in WinBox but NetInstall helped. After inserting my t-mobile sim I got signal in quick set, however now I’m stuck at sim being detected, but I’m getting no internet output through the Ethernet cable. What am I supposed to do now? I do appreciate the abundance of settings you can set up, but the level of experience and knowledge that is required to do that is unfortunately above me. Can someone walk me through the initial set up so I can get connection to my laptop out of it? I’m also not sure if my kit has Wi-Fi router in it, if not, how can I connect to another router to output Wi-Fi through it?
 
TheCat12
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 9:13 pm

Re: Need help setting up my RBSXTR-LTE.

Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:35 pm

Could you kindly export your configuration here?

/export file=anynameyouwish
 
User avatar
Amm0
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3457
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 7:12 pm
Location: California

Re: Need help setting up my RBSXTR-LTE.

Sat Mar 30, 2024 12:08 am

There are two SIM slots, so you may need to set the alternative one (or swap the SIM cards inside work too). If it's V6, the SIM slots is under System > RouterBoard, or in V7 under Interfaces > LTE tab > Modem.

No Wi-Fi on RBSXTR, just ethernet.

Is this going to another router, or is the idea the SXT is the router for the network?
Also, on some configs, ether1 is a WAN port, which may need to get converted to a LAN port. Is your laptop getting a 192.168.88.x address automatically?
 
Wlad3
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:43 pm

Re: Need help setting up my RBSXTR-LTE.

Wed Apr 03, 2024 2:03 am

Sorry it took so long for me to reply, Holidays prevented me from accessing the modem :)

Here is the exported file:
# 2024-03-30 16:15:51 by RouterOS 7.14.2
# software id = J6J0-E38J
#
# model = RBSXTR
# serial number = xxxxxxxxxxx
/interface lte
# A newer version of modem firmware is available!
set [ find default-name=lte1 ] allow-roaming=yes band="" sms-read=no
/interface list
add name=WAN
add name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/iot lora servers
add address=eu.mikrotik.thethings.industries name=TTN-EU protocol=UDP
add address=us.mikrotik.thethings.industries name=TTN-US protocol=UDP
add address=eu1.cloud.thethings.industries name="TTS Cloud (eu1)" protocol=\
    UDP
add address=nam1.cloud.thethings.industries name="TTS Cloud (nam1)" protocol=\
    UDP
add address=au1.cloud.thethings.industries name="TTS Cloud (au1)" protocol=\
    UDP
add address=eu1.cloud.thethings.network name="TTN V3 (eu1)" protocol=UDP
add address=nam1.cloud.thethings.network name="TTN V3 (nam1)" protocol=UDP
add address=au1.cloud.thethings.network name="TTN V3 (au1)" protocol=UDP
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=hotspot
/interface bridge port
add bridge=*5 interface=ether1
add bridge=*5 interface=ether2
/interface detect-internet
set detect-interface-list=all
/interface list member
add interface=lte1 list=WAN
add interface=lte1 list=LAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.188.1/24 interface=*5 network=192.168.188.0
add address=192.168.188.1/24 interface=ether1 network=192.168.188.0
/ip dhcp-client
add disabled=yes interface=*4
/system note
set show-at-login=no
I have not set up anything yet as you can see. I have only tried connection with my laptop so far, IP I'm getting for the modem is 0.0.0.0
 
User avatar
Amm0
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3457
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 7:12 pm
Location: California

Re: Need help setting up my RBSXTR-LTE.

Wed Apr 03, 2024 5:44 am

Normally the defaults leave you a decent place. But that config ain't going to work and it's multiple things. But even in this state LTE should still come up IF it carrier supports a "network apn" — problem is not all carrier support this.

At the same Terminal, you might try doing a:
/system/reset-configuration keep-users=yes 
That may get a better starting place for the LAN/etc. After the reset, go to the QuickSet screen.

If the modem does not show LTE IP on the QuickSet screen still. You may need to the "APN" there. Some carriers support auto configuration, but not all – in which case you need change the "APN Profile" on the router. You may want to google for your carrier name and "APN" and try that in the QuickSet field for the modem. If the instructions you find mention more than just an "APN Name", you need to go to main UI to set them..

The same APN setting in Interface menu on left > LTE tab > LTE APNs button > double-click "default". So if you want to try a different APN (e.g. google suggests several), just change the APN Profile, and then look at the LTE tab to see if it's running.

Also Log menu should show some errors. Anyway, see if better defaults with the reset-configuration and/or setting the APN help. If things aren't working, include any error and post a new configuration after the reset.
 
jaclaz
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 644
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2023 4:21 pm

Re: Need help setting up my RBSXTR-LTE.

Wed Apr 03, 2024 2:49 pm

Another couple of things that suggest resetting would be a good idea is the presence of items marked as *5 or *4 (very likely there is a missing entry for bridge, but more generally whenever you see something with a leading asterisk it means that the item that was there has been deleted or renamed and the ROS cannot find anymore what that is).

You have this:
/interface bridge port
add bridge=*5 interface=ether1
add bridge=*5 interface=ether2
But you have no bridge defined, it should be something *like*:
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
and then:
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether2
The above is connected to these:
/ip address
add address=192.168.188.1/24 interface=*5 network=192.168.188.0
add address=192.168.188.1/24 interface=ether1 network=192.168.188.0
/ip dhcp-client
add disabled=yes interface=*4
Right now ether1 is not part of any bridge, and the IP address is assigned to ether1 as "standalone" interface, and the first IP assignment line is not used/not working, if you add correctly the bridge you need to correct it so that the IP is added to the bridge (and then the second line should be removed)
The dhcp-client is disabled anyway, so it isn't relevant, still it points to *nowhere*.
This is also "strange":
/interface list member
add interface=lte1 list=WAN
add interface=lte1 list=LAN
lte1 should be WAN only, and the other interfaces and/or the bridge should be normally LAN.

Since these changes may lock you out of the router (except maybe using Winbox with MAC address) it would be easier to reset and start fresh.
 
Wlad3
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:43 pm

Re: Need help setting up my RBSXTR-LTE.

Wed Apr 03, 2024 7:45 pm

Huge success so far, configuration reset did bring big changes!

After reset I did not apply any changes on my side, as it seems to be working.

Here is the config export now:
# 2024-04-03 18:39:26 by RouterOS 7.14.2
# software id = J6J0-E38J
#
# model = RBSXTR
# serial number = xxxxxxxxx
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=B8:69:F4:5A:54:54 auto-mac=no comment=defconf name=bridge
/interface lte
set [ find default-name=lte1 ] allow-roaming=no band="" network-mode=lte \
    sms-read=no
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/iot lora servers
add address=eu.mikrotik.thethings.industries name=TTN-EU protocol=UDP
add address=us.mikrotik.thethings.industries name=TTN-US protocol=UDP
add address=eu1.cloud.thethings.industries name="TTS Cloud (eu1)" protocol=\
    UDP
add address=nam1.cloud.thethings.industries name="TTS Cloud (nam1)" protocol=\
    UDP
add address=au1.cloud.thethings.industries name="TTS Cloud (au1)" protocol=\
    UDP
add address=eu1.cloud.thethings.network name="TTN V3 (eu1)" protocol=UDP
add address=nam1.cloud.thethings.network name="TTN V3 (nam1)" protocol=UDP
add address=au1.cloud.thethings.network name="TTN V3 (au1)" protocol=UDP
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=hotspot
/ip pool
add name=default-dhcp ranges=192.168.188.10-192.168.188.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=default-dhcp interface=bridge name=defconf
/queue type
add fq-codel-ecn=no kind=fq-codel name=fq-codel-ethernet-default
/queue interface
set ether1 queue=fq-codel-ethernet-default
set ether2 queue=fq-codel-ethernet-default
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether2
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=LAN
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=bridge list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=lte1 list=WAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.188.1/24 comment=defconf interface=bridge network=\
    192.168.188.0
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.188.0/24 comment=defconf dns-server=192.168.188.1 \
    gateway=192.168.188.1
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes
/ip dns static
add address=192.168.188.1 comment=defconf name=router.lan
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=\
    established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=\
    invalid
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMP" protocol=icmp
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: accept to local loopback (for CAPsMAN)" dst-address=127.0.0.1
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop all not coming from LAN" \
    in-interface-list=!LAN
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept in ipsec policy" \
    ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept out ipsec policy" \
    ipsec-policy=out,ipsec
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" \
    connection-state=established,related hw-offload=yes
add action=accept chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-state=\
    established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" \
    connection-state=invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat \
    connection-state=new in-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" \
    ipsec-policy=out,none out-interface-list=WAN
/ipv6 firewall address-list
add address=::/128 comment="defconf: unspecified address" list=bad_ipv6
add address=::1/128 comment="defconf: lo" list=bad_ipv6
add address=fec0::/10 comment="defconf: site-local" list=bad_ipv6
add address=::ffff:0.0.0.0/96 comment="defconf: ipv4-mapped" list=bad_ipv6
add address=::/96 comment="defconf: ipv4 compat" list=bad_ipv6
add address=100::/64 comment="defconf: discard only " list=bad_ipv6
add address=2001:db8::/32 comment="defconf: documentation" list=bad_ipv6
add address=2001:10::/28 comment="defconf: ORCHID" list=bad_ipv6
add address=3ffe::/16 comment="defconf: 6bone" list=bad_ipv6
/ipv6 firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=\
    established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=\
    invalid
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMPv6" protocol=\
    icmpv6
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept UDP traceroute" \
    dst-port=33434-33534 protocol=udp
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: accept DHCPv6-Client prefix delegation." dst-port=546 protocol=\
    udp src-address=fe80::/10
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept IKE" dst-port=500,4500 \
    protocol=udp
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ipsec AH" protocol=\
    ipsec-ah
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ipsec ESP" protocol=\
    ipsec-esp
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: accept all that matches ipsec policy" ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=drop chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: drop everything else not coming from LAN" in-interface-list=\
    !LAN
add action=accept chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=\
    established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" \
    connection-state=invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: drop packets with bad src ipv6" src-address-list=bad_ipv6
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: drop packets with bad dst ipv6" dst-address-list=bad_ipv6
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: rfc4890 drop hop-limit=1" \
    hop-limit=equal:1 protocol=icmpv6
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept ICMPv6" protocol=\
    icmpv6
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept HIP" protocol=139
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept IKE" dst-port=\
    500,4500 protocol=udp
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept ipsec AH" protocol=\
    ipsec-ah
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept ipsec ESP" protocol=\
    ipsec-esp
add action=accept chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: accept all that matches ipsec policy" ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: drop everything else not coming from LAN" in-interface-list=\
    !LAN
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/Warsaw
/system note
set show-at-login=no
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
LTE now connects and gives out connection to the laptop. Connection seems extremely slow though, but I assume the sim card could be at fault. Are there any things I should change now for it to work correctly with external router? Are there any setting related to connection speed I could set to make it work as smooth as possible?

+ Thank you for the help so far, without it I don't think I would see any progress :)
 
User avatar
Amm0
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3457
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 7:12 pm
Location: California

Re: Need help setting up my RBSXTR-LTE.

Wed Apr 03, 2024 7:58 pm

Good news. I think this went south when you did the netinstall. I suspect it did work orginally and did NOT need netinstall, but if new and not familiar with using MAC address in winbox to connect... it can look like things don't work and need a netinstall....

If you haven't already upgrade the modem firmware, using Interface > LTE tab > "lte2" > Upgrade Firmware button.

Keep in mind, the SXT is a directional antenna so where it's pointed matters... If you look at the LTE interface "Status" page, you can move it around to see what increases RSRP (there negative numbers, so -80 is better than -100). If you post the various LTE reading me/others can tell more about signal. But try to optimize it by moving around and measuring the RSRP first.

The lights on back should also work to show the signal. If they don't, you should be able to add something like:
/system leds add interface=lte1 leds=led1,led2,led3,led4,led5 modem-signal-threshold=-105 type=modem-signal
which get the lights on back to show signal level.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Grumpy, mrz, yosue111, zabu and 32 guests