Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
foobar42
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2024 4:30 pm

Using CRS309-1G-8S+IN as switch with MLAG

Tue Apr 02, 2024 4:50 pm

Hello,

I'm new to Mikrotik devices and tried to get a working configuration for days.

I would like to use two CRS309-1G-8S+IN as Switches behind a router.
The switches should be in a HA setup with MLAG.
The connection to the router should be with with LACP as the connection to the client. The best description is probably this drawing:
CRS309-mlag.png

At the moment I would like to use it without different VLANs.

The configuration I've tried is like this (I've tried a lot of small changes to that):

# BASE

/system identity
set name=switchy1

/interface bridge
add igmp-snooping=yes name=bridge pvid=1 priority=0x2000 vlan-filtering=no

/ip address
add address=192.168.1.222/24 interface=vlan1

# REST

/interface bonding
add mlag-id=12 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond1 slaves=sfp-sfpplus2
add mlag-id=13 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond2 slaves=sfp-sfpplus3
add mlag-id=14 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond3 slaves=sfp-sfpplus4
add mlag-id=15 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond4 slaves=sfp-sfpplus5
add mlag-id=16 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond5 slaves=sfp-sfpplus6
add mlag-id=17 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond6 slaves=sfp-sfpplus7

/interface bridge mlag
set bridge=bridge peer-port=sfp-sfpplus8

/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge interface=sfp-sfpplus8 pvid=99
add bridge=bridge interface=client-bond1
add bridge=bridge interface=client-bond2
add bridge=bridge interface=client-bond3
add bridge=bridge interface=client-bond4
add bridge=bridge interface=client-bond5
add bridge=bridge interface=client-bond6

/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=bridge tagged=sfp-sfpplus8 vlan-ids=1

# UPSTREAM

/interface bonding
add mlag-id=11 mode=802.3ad name=upstream-bond slaves=sfp-sfpplus1

/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge interface=upstream-bond
As soon as I enable vlan-filtering on the bridge, I loose connection to the switches.
I would be nice if someone could help me or point me in the right direction.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
alexioma
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2024 2:54 am

Re: Using CRS309-1G-8S+IN as switch with MLAG

Wed Apr 03, 2024 2:10 am

Hi there,

It might be because you are missing the VLAN definition as interface (vlan99). I haven't had time to look at the config in details, but here is a great tutorial that helped me set things up.

Let me know if that helps.

A
 
User avatar
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11709
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Using CRS309-1G-8S+IN as switch with MLAG

Wed Apr 03, 2024 9:16 am

How about showing complete config of your switches? What you've shown is not complete. And since you don't know where the error is, I don't think you can decide which part of config is relevant and which isn't.

But I agree that you have lots of holes in your VLAN setup (and errors as well), so it's no wonder things break apart as soon as you enable VLAN filtering.
 
foobar42
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2024 4:30 pm

Re: Using CRS309-1G-8S+IN as switch with MLAG

Fri Apr 05, 2024 5:40 pm

Hello, thank you for your answers!

My current target is to try to get it "without vlans", by just using the default vlan 1. That's why I thought I didn't need more vlan configuration. But I've researched a little bit more.

This is my current configuration. I've added some Comments to explain my thoughts.
[admin@switchy1] > export
# 1970-01-05 00:21:50 by RouterOS 7.14.2
# software id = B96C-HTKC
#
# model = CRS309-1G-8S+
# serial number = HG509Y2F14V
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
# COMMENT: Here I define the two vlans I will use
/interface vlan
add interface=bridge1 name=vlan1 vlan-id=1
add interface=sfp-sfpplus8 name=vlan99 vlan-id=99
# COMMENT: Here I setup the bondings. sfp-sfpplus1 will be used to connect to the router, 2-7 are for servers to connect to the switch.
/interface bonding
add mlag-id=12 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond1 slaves=sfp-sfpplus2
add mlag-id=13 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond2 slaves=sfp-sfpplus3
add mlag-id=14 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond3 slaves=sfp-sfpplus4
add mlag-id=15 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond4 slaves=sfp-sfpplus5
add mlag-id=16 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond5 slaves=sfp-sfpplus6
add mlag-id=17 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond6 slaves=sfp-sfpplus7
add mlag-id=11 mode=802.3ad name=upstream-bond slaves=sfp-sfpplus1
# COMMENT: The next 3 settings were in the "default" configuration, I didn't configure it myself
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=hotspot
/port
set 0 name=serial0
/interface bridge mlag
set bridge=bridge1 peer-port=sfp-sfpplus8
# COMMENT: Here I add the interfaces to the bridge. Do I need to add `pvid=1` to the bondings? I think it should be using vlan-id=1 as default.
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=sfp-sfpplus8 pvid=99
add bridge=bridge1 interface=client-bond1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=client-bond2
add bridge=bridge1 interface=client-bond3
add bridge=bridge1 interface=client-bond4
add bridge=bridge1 interface=client-bond5
add bridge=bridge1 interface=client-bond6
add bridge=bridge1 interface=upstream-bond
# COMMENT: Here I add vlan-id 1 for the mlag peer-port so it can transport these packages.
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=sfp-sfpplus8 vlan-ids=1
# COMMENT: Here I configure the IP for the switch
/ip address
add address=192.168.1.44/24 interface=vlan1 network=192.168.1.0
/system identity
set name=switchy1
/system note
set show-at-login=no
/system routerboard settings
set boot-os=router-os enter-setup-on=delete-key
# COMMENT: This is just some leftover from when I've tried using swos
/system swos
set address-acquisition-mode=static identity=switchy1 static-ip-address=192.168.1.155
I'm sorry for the first incomplete post. The post happened after a frustrating 3 hour learning/debugging session. I'm very grateful for your help here and didn't want to be disrespectful.
 
foobar42
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2024 4:30 pm

Re: Using CRS309-1G-8S+IN as switch with MLAG  [SOLVED]

Tue Apr 09, 2024 1:17 am

I've got it to a working configuration. If someone else is interested:
[admin@switchy1] > export
# 1970-01-02 01:30:06 by RouterOS 7.14.2
# software id = B96C-HTKC
#
# model = CRS309-1G-8S+
# serial number = HG509Y2F14V
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1 vlan-filtering=yes
/interface vlan
add interface=bridge1 name=vlan1 vlan-id=1
/interface bonding
add mlag-id=12 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond1 slaves=sfp-sfpplus2
add mlag-id=13 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond2 slaves=sfp-sfpplus3
add mlag-id=14 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond3 slaves=sfp-sfpplus4
add mlag-id=15 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond4 slaves=sfp-sfpplus5
add mlag-id=16 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond5 slaves=sfp-sfpplus6
add mlag-id=17 mode=802.3ad name=client-bond6 slaves=sfp-sfpplus7
add mlag-id=11 mode=802.3ad name=upstream-bond slaves=sfp-sfpplus1
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=hotspot
/port
set 0 name=serial0
/interface bridge mlag
set bridge=bridge1 peer-port=sfp-sfpplus8
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=upstream-bond
add bridge=bridge1 interface=client-bond1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=client-bond2
add bridge=bridge1 interface=client-bond3
add bridge=bridge1 interface=client-bond4
add bridge=bridge1 interface=client-bond5
add bridge=bridge1 interface=client-bond6
add bridge=bridge1 interface=sfp-sfpplus8 pvid=99
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=bridge1,sfp-sfpplus8 untagged=\
    upstream-bond,client-bond1,client-bond2,client-bond3,client-bond4,client-bond5,client-bond6 vlan-ids=1
add bridge=bridge1 untagged=sfp-sfpplus8 vlan-ids=99
/ip address
add address=192.168.1.222/24 interface=vlan1 network=192.168.1.0
/ip route
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.1.1
/system identity
set name=switchy1
/system note
set show-at-login=no
/system routerboard settings
set boot-os=router-os enter-setup-on=delete-key

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ajmxco, anav, broderick, mszru, unhuzpt and 36 guests