Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 9:47 am

General (x64) image partition 2 like below:
.
├── bin
│   ├── bash
│   └── milo
├── boot
├── dev
│   ├── bootdev
│   └── bootpart
├── lost+found
├── nova
│   └── etc
│       └── serial
├── rw
│   ├── autorun.scr
│   └── REBOOT
├── SHOW_LICENSE
├── UPGRADED
└── var
    └── pdb
        └── system
            └── image

10 directories, 10 files

Images of ARM64 (7.15beta9 testing) like below:
source: https://cdn.mikrotik.com/routeros/7.15b ... 64.img.zip
├── rw
└── var
    └── pdb
        └── system

4 directories, 0 files

When booting with the above image, cannot find some files.
[    0.740142] process '/init' started with executable stack
[    0.749886]  sda: sda1 sda2
[    0.754014] EXT4-fs (sda2): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
opendir: No such file or directory
ERROR: no system package found!
[    1.758207] Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init! exitcode=0x00000000
[    1.759258] SMP: stopping secondary CPUs
[    1.759869] Kernel Offset: disabled
[    1.760614] CPU features: 0x0000a,68002238
[    1.761060] Memory Limit: none
[    1.761340] Rebooting in 5 seconds..
test procedure (log)
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# curl -skL --retry 3 --connect-timeout 3 -o chr.img.zip https://download.mikrotik.com/routeros/7.15beta9/chr-7.15beta9-arm64.img.zip
unzip chr.*.zip
rm -rf chr.*.zip
Archive:  chr.img.zip
  inflating: chr-7.15beta9-arm64.img
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# # Load nbd module
sudo -E modprobe nbd
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# qemu-img convert -f raw -O qcow2 chr-*.img chr.qcow2
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# sudo -E qemu-nbd -c /dev/nbd0 chr.qcow2
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# sudo -E rm -rf /tmp/chr*
sudo -E mkdir /tmp/chr-test/
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# sudo -E mount /dev/nbd0p1 /tmp/chr-test/

root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# ls /tmp/chr-test/ -l
total 1
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 512 Mar 27 20:41 EFI
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# sudo -E mkdir /tmp/chr-p2/
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# sudo -E mount /dev/nbd0p2 /tmp/chr-p2/
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# tree /tmp/chr-p2
-bash: tree: command not found
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# apt install tree
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
Reading state information... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  tree
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 14 not upgraded.
Need to get 50.9 kB of archives.
After this operation, 169 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Get:1 http://deb.debian.org/debian bookworm/main arm64 tree arm64 2.1.0-1 [50.9 kB]
Fetched 50.9 kB in 0s (1,621 kB/s)
Selecting previously unselected package tree.
(Reading database ... 34031 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../tree_2.1.0-1_arm64.deb ...
Unpacking tree (2.1.0-1) ...
Setting up tree (2.1.0-1) ...
Processing triggers for man-db (2.11.2-2) ...
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# tree /tmp/chr-p2
/tmp/chr-p2
├── rw
└── var
    └── pdb
        └── system

5 directories, 0 files
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~#
Last edited by Luffy on Mon Apr 15, 2024 9:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 12037
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 10:40 am

Wrong comparison method from the start.
Especially because you haven't even explained well what you're comparing and where you downloaded the files from,
what procedure did you use, etc., etc., etc.

You've definitely made some mistakes or the file you're checking is a corrupt or incomplete download.

To me the official download appears to be all correct and without problems.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 26440
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 2:17 pm

They work fine on ARM64 AMPERE machine type on Hetzner. Where are you trying to boot them?
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 8:59 pm

They work fine on ARM64 AMPERE machine type on Hetzner. Where are you trying to boot them?
I want to use them on Oracle Cloud (AMPERE/ARM64) instance.
But I have also tried to use it on Hetzner (CAX11 - ARM64/Ampere plan), and got the same result. I will try it again.
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 9:29 pm

# procedure on CX11 (Intel x86) -> working well
apt update && apt install -y unzip
curl -L https://cdn.mikrotik.com/routeros/7.15beta9/chr-7.15beta9.img.zip > mikrotik-chr.zip
funzip mikrotik-chr.zip > mikrotik-chr.img
dd if=./mikrotik-chr.img of=/dev/sda bs=1M
sync && reboot

# procedure on CAX11 (ARM64/AMPERE) -> still failed
apt update && apt install -y unzip
curl -L https://cdn.mikrotik.com/routeros/7.15beta9/chr-7.15beta9-arm64.img.zip > mikrotik-chr.zip
funzip mikrotik-chr.zip > mikrotik-chr.img
dd if=./mikrotik-chr.img of=/dev/sda bs=1M
sync && reboot

Anyone knows what is the root cause of this? Thank you!
 
User avatar
patrikg
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:38 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 9:40 pm

Can you provide some errors error code, debugging info ??
Is the dev the same in x86 and ARM ?? /dev/sda
And funzip ???
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 10:02 pm

Can you provide some errors error code, debugging info ??
Is the dev the same in x86 and ARM ?? /dev/sda
And funzip ???
The devs are the same (/dev/sda) as below:

(With Hetzner CX11 Intel/x86 plan)
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev            939M     0  939M   0% /dev
tmpfs           192M  628K  192M   1% /run
/dev/sda1        19G  1.7G   17G  10% /
tmpfs           960M     0  960M   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs           5.0M     0  5.0M   0% /run/lock
/dev/sda15      241M  138K  241M   1% /boot/efi
tmpfs           192M     0  192M   0% /run/user/0
/dev/nbd0p1      32M  3.4M   29M  11% /tmp/chr-p1
/dev/nbd0p2      90M   18M   72M  21% /tmp/chr-p2
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~#

(With Hetzner CAX11 ARM64 plan)
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev            1.9G     0  1.9G   0% /dev
tmpfs           383M  812K  382M   1% /run
/dev/sda1        38G  1.7G   35G   5% /
tmpfs           1.9G     0  1.9G   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs           5.0M     0  5.0M   0% /run/lock
/dev/sda15      244M  152K  244M   1% /boot/efi
tmpfs           383M     0  383M   0% /run/user/0
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~#

Full test procedure on x86:
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# curl -skL --retry 3 --connect-timeout 3 -o chr.img.zip https://download.mikrotik.com/routeros/7.15beta9/chr-7.15beta9.img.zip
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# unzip chr.*.zip
Archive:  chr.img.zip
  inflating: chr-7.15beta9.img
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# rm -rf chr.*.zip
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# sudo -E modprobe nbd
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# qemu-img convert -f raw -O qcow2 chr-*.img chr.qcow2
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# sudo -E qemu-nbd -c /dev/nbd0 chr.qcow2
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# sudo -E rm -rf /tmp/chr*
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# sudo -E mkdir /tmp/chr-p1/
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# sudo -E mkdir /tmp/chr-p2/
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# sudo -E mount /dev/nbd0p1 /tmp/chr-p1/
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# sudo -E mount /dev/nbd0p2 /tmp/chr-p2/
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# tree /tmp/chr-p1
/tmp/chr-p1
├── EFI
│   └── BOOT
│       └── BOOTX64.EFI
├── lost+found
└── map

4 directories, 2 files
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# tree /tmp/chr-p2
/tmp/chr-p2
├── bin
│   ├── bash
│   └── milo
├── boot
├── dev
│   ├── bootdev
│   └── bootpart
├── lost+found
├── nova
│   └── etc
│       └── serial
├── rw
│   ├── autorun.scr
│   └── REBOOT
├── SHOW_LICENSE
├── UPGRADED
└── var
    └── pdb
        └── system
            └── image

11 directories, 10 files
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev            939M     0  939M   0% /dev
tmpfs           192M  628K  192M   1% /run
/dev/sda1        19G  1.7G   17G  10% /
tmpfs           960M     0  960M   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs           5.0M     0  5.0M   0% /run/lock
/dev/sda15      241M  138K  241M   1% /boot/efi
tmpfs           192M     0  192M   0% /run/user/0
/dev/nbd0p1      32M  3.4M   29M  11% /tmp/chr-p1
/dev/nbd0p2      90M   18M   72M  21% /tmp/chr-p2
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~#
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 10:06 pm

They work fine on ARM64 AMPERE machine type on Hetzner. Where are you trying to boot them?
# procedure on CAX11 (ARM64/AMPERE) -> still failed
apt update && apt install -y unzip
curl -L https://cdn.mikrotik.com/routeros/7.15beta9/chr-7.15beta9-arm64.img.zip > mikrotik-chr.zip
funzip mikrotik-chr.zip > mikrotik-chr.img
dd if=./mikrotik-chr.img of=/dev/sda bs=1M
sync && reboot
Do you know where I did it wrong?
I have updated the post to give more info about this.
Thank you!
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 10:10 pm

Procedure to analyze the filesystem (due to the kernel panic info)
# Initialize environment
sudo -E apt update
sudo -E apt -y install curl qemu-utils rsync unzip zip dosfstools gdisk tree

# Download image for ARM64
curl -skL --retry 3 --connect-timeout 3 -o chr.img.zip https://download.mikrotik.com/routeros/7.15beta9/chr-7.15beta9.img.zip
unzip chr.*.zip
rm -rf chr.*.zip

# Load nbd module
sudo -E modprobe nbd

# Convert to qcow2
qemu-img convert -f raw -O qcow2 chr-*.img chr.qcow2

# Connect ndb
sudo -E qemu-nbd -c /dev/nbd0 chr.qcow2

# Create tmp dir
sudo -E rm -rf /tmp/chr*
sudo -E mkdir /tmp/chr-p1/
sudo -E mkdir /tmp/chr-p2/

# Mount
sudo -E mount /dev/nbd0p1 /tmp/chr-p1/
sudo -E mount /dev/nbd0p2 /tmp/chr-p2/

# List all files on partition-1
tree /tmp/chr-p1

# List all files on partition-2
tree /tmp/chr-p2

Normally the partition-2 seems have more files as below (for x86 image):
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# tree /tmp/chr-p2
/tmp/chr-p2
├── bin
│   ├── bash
│   └── milo
├── boot
├── dev
│   ├── bootdev
│   └── bootpart
├── lost+found
├── nova
│   └── etc
│       └── serial
├── rw
│   ├── autorun.scr
│   └── REBOOT
├── SHOW_LICENSE
├── UPGRADED
└── var
    └── pdb
        └── system
            └── image

11 directories, 10 files
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~# df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev            939M     0  939M   0% /dev
tmpfs           192M  628K  192M   1% /run
/dev/sda1        19G  1.7G   17G  10% /
tmpfs           960M     0  960M   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs           5.0M     0  5.0M   0% /run/lock
/dev/sda15      241M  138K  241M   1% /boot/efi
tmpfs           192M     0  192M   0% /run/user/0
/dev/nbd0p1      32M  3.4M   29M  11% /tmp/chr-p1
/dev/nbd0p2      90M   18M   72M  21% /tmp/chr-p2
root@debian-2gb-fsn1-1:~#
But with the ARM64 image, it seems not complete.
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~# tree /tmp/chr-p2
/tmp/chr-p2
├── rw
└── var
    └── pdb
        └── system

5 directories, 0 files
root@debian-4gb-fsn1-2:~#
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 10:19 pm

They work fine on ARM64 AMPERE machine type on Hetzner. Where are you trying to boot them?
Could you kindly give me the complete procedure of installation of it?

Because I use the same way to install it on ARM64 as below, and it cannot boot up correctly (which x86 is working fine).
https://community.hetzner.com/tutorials ... asic-setup
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 12037
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 10:27 pm

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CHR_Hetzner

32
curl -L https://cdn.mikrotik.com/routeros/7.15beta9/chr-7.15beta9.img.zip | funzip | dd of=/dev/sda bs=1M

64
curl -L https://cdn.mikrotik.com/routeros/7.15beta9/chr-7.15beta9-arm64.img.zip | funzip | dd of=/dev/sda bs=1M

Inside the image file are present two partitions, and if you use dd for overwrite the filesystem from the same filesystem...
do not save the file on dev/sda but on another or on memory....
Last edited by rextended on Mon Apr 15, 2024 10:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 10:41 pm

Yes, one is for x86. Another one is for ARM64 (which cannot correctly boot with the same procedure).
My question is why ARM64 image (chr-7.15beta9-arm64.img.zip) seems broken and likely it's related to the boot up issue.
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 10:46 pm

Inside the image file are present two partitions, and if you use dd for overwrite the filesystem from the same filesystem...
do not save the file on dev/sda but on another or on memory....
If it's a problem here, why the same procedure is working with x86 images. I think they should have the same problem?
Thank you for replying.
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 12037
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 11:04 pm

Unquestionably

the 32 contains code

0.RouterOS Boot
    map
0.RouterOS Boot\EFI
    (empty)
0.RouterOS Boot\EFI\BOOT
    BOOTX64.EFI
0.RouterOS Boot\lost+found
    (empty)
1.RouterOS
    SHOW_LICENSE
    UPGRADED
1.RouterOS\[SYS]
    Journal
1.RouterOS\bin
    bash
    milo
1.RouterOS\boot
    (empty)
1.RouterOS\dev
    bootdev
    bootpart
1.RouterOS\lost+found
    (empty)
1.RouterOS\nova
    (empty)
1.RouterOS\nova\etc
    serial
1.RouterOS\rw
    REBOOT
    autorun.scr
1.RouterOS\var
    (empty)
1.RouterOS\var\pdb
    (empty)
1.RouterOS\var\pdb\system
    image


the 64 contains code

0.RouterOS Boot
    (missing map)
0.RouterOS Boot\EFI
    (empty)
0.RouterOS Boot\EFI\BOOT
    BOOTAA64.EFI (instead of BOOTX64.EFI)
missing: 0.RouterOS Boot\lost+found
1.RouterOS
missing:    SHOW_LICENSE
missing:    UPGRADED
    var_pdb_system_image (instead "image" on var/pdb/system)
1.RouterOS\[SYS]
    Journal
missing: 1.RouterOS\bin
missing:     bash
missing:     milo
1.RouterOS\boot
    (empty)
1.RouterOS\dev
    bootdev
    bootpart
1.RouterOS\lost+found
    (empty)
missing: 1.RouterOS\nova
missing: 1.RouterOS\nova\etc
missing:     serial
1.RouterOS\rw
missing:     REBOOT
missing:     autorun.scr
1.RouterOS\var
    (empty)
1.RouterOS\var\pdb
    (empty)
1.RouterOS\var\pdb\system
missing:     image
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 11:11 pm

Unquestionably
Yes, this is my question here. Does these missing files cause the problem here?
Or ARM64 image just uses the different behavior or layout for the file system (which I don't know, so I put a question mark)
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 12037
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Mon Apr 15, 2024 11:31 pm

Also missing "bootloader" at the start of the image....

32 bit bootloader code

FA 31 C0 8E D0 BC 00 7C 89 E6 50 07 50 1F FB FC BF 00 06 B9 00 01 F2 A5 EA 1D 06 00 00 BE BE 07 B3 04 80 3C 80 74 23 80 3C 00 75 09 83 C6 10 FE CB
75 EF CD 18 BE 9B 06 AC 3C 00 74 0B 56 BB 07 00 B4 0E CD 10 5E EB F0 EB FE 8B 14 8B 4C 02 89 F5 BF 05 00 BB 00 7C B8 01 02 57 CD 13 5F 73 0C 31 C0
CD 13 4F 75 ED BE 7C 06 EB CC BF FE 7D 81 3D 55 AA 75 C0 89 EE EA 00 7C 00 00 45 72 72 6F 72 20 6C 6F 61 64 69 6E 67 20 6F 70 65 72 61 74 69 6E 67
20 73 79 73 74 65 6D 00 4D 69 73 73 69 6E 67 20 6F 70 65 72 61 74 69 6E 67 20 73 79 73 74 65 6D ...
64 bit is simply empty... all bytes set to 00
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Tue Apr 16, 2024 12:37 am

Also missing "bootloader" at the start of the image....

64 bit is simply empty... all bytes set to 00
Sounds like something wrong with their image packing script for ARM64.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 26440
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Tue Apr 16, 2024 9:01 am

Sorry for confusion, it seems the build server has an issue, internal builds worked, but not public release versions. Please wait for next betas to test this.

In short, publicly downloadable ARM64 CHR is not working right now.
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Tue Apr 16, 2024 9:09 am

Sorry for confusion, it seems the build server has an issue, internal builds worked, but not public release versions. Please wait for next betas to test this.

In short, publicly downloadable ARM64 CHR is not working right now.
Thank you for replying. I will try it again with the next release.
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:02 pm

Sorry for confusion, it seems the build server has an issue, internal builds worked, but not public release versions. Please wait for next betas to test this.

In short, publicly downloadable ARM64 CHR is not working right now.
The files in partition-2 seem complete. But still have problem here:
UEFI Interactive Shell v2.2
EDK II
UEFI v2.70 (EDK II, 0x00010000)
Mapping table
      FS0: Alias(s):HD0a1b:;BLK1:
          PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x5,0x7)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Scsi(0x0,0x1)/HD(1,GPT,82A03785-E9A5-48A2-BAD3-F186DB97256A,0x800,0x10800)
     BLK3: Alias(s):
          VenHw(93E34C7E-B50E-11DF-9223-2443DFD72085,00)
     BLK0: Alias(s):
          PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x5,0x7)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Scsi(0x0,0x1)
     BLK2: Alias(s):
          PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x5,0x7)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Scsi(0x0,0x1)/HD(2,GPT,FA1BF794-8C0D-4CBE-B632-63824D860B6A,0x11000,0x2E000)


Press ESC in 1 seconds to skip startup.nsh or any other key to continue.
Shell> ize: cluster chain corrupt
FATDirSize: cluster chain corrupt
FATDirSize: cluster chain corrupt

Files in partitions:
/tmp/chr-p1
└── EFI
    └── BOOT
        └── BOOTAA64.EFI

3 directories, 1 file
/tmp/chr-p2
├── boot
├── lost+found
├── rw
└── var
    └── pdb
        └── system
            └── image

7 directories, 1 file
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?

Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:06 pm

In short, publicly downloadable ARM64 CHR is not working right now.

Should the following procedure work?
apt update && apt install -y unzip
curl -L https://cdn.mikrotik.com/routeros/7.15rc1/chr-7.15rc1-arm64.img.zip > mikrotik-chr.zip
funzip mikrotik-chr.zip > mikrotik-chr.img
dd if=./mikrotik-chr.img of=/dev/sda bs=1M
sync && reboot
 
User avatar
Luffy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:51 pm

Re: CHR ARM64 images are broken?  [SOLVED]

Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:29 pm

Finally, I have booted it up with qcow2 type of image.

Thank you!
MikroTik 7.15rc1 (testing)
MikroTik Login: 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests