Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
jmginer
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:56 am
Contact:

SFP info dont appear in ROS v7 x86

Fri Oct 09, 2020 5:16 pm

Hello,

I've installed ROS 7.1b2 iso on a Supermicro server with x710 and 82599ES chipset cards, and I saw that all information related to SFP are not displayed on both.

There is any plan to fix this?
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/ethernet/monitor ether9
                   name: ether9
                 status: no-link
  default-cable-setting: standard

[admin@MikroTik] > system/resource/pci/ print
   33  06:00.0  Intel Corporation         82599ES 10-Gigabit SFI/SFP+ Network Connection (rev: 1)         11
   34  06:00.1  Intel Corporation         82599ES 10-Gigabit SFI/SFP+ Network Connection (rev: 1)         10
   35  09:00.0  Intel Corporation         Ethernet Controller X710 for 10GbE SFP+ (rev: 2)         11
   36  09:00.1  Intel Corporation         Ethernet Controller X710 for 10GbE SFP+ (rev: 2)         11
   37  09:00.2  Intel Corporation         Ethernet Controller X710 for 10GbE SFP+ (rev: 2)         11
   38  09:00.3  Intel Corporation         Ethernet Controller X710 for 10GbE SFP+ (rev: 2)         11
 
Maveick87Shaka
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 9:46 pm

Re: SFP info dont appear in ROS v7 x86

Fri Apr 19, 2024 11:05 pm

Hello,

I've installed ROS 7.1b2 iso on a Supermicro server with x710 and 82599ES chipset cards, and I saw that all information related to SFP are not displayed on both.

There is any plan to fix this?
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/ethernet/monitor ether9
                   name: ether9
                 status: no-link
  default-cable-setting: standard

[admin@MikroTik] > system/resource/pci/ print
   33  06:00.0  Intel Corporation         82599ES 10-Gigabit SFI/SFP+ Network Connection (rev: 1)         11
   34  06:00.1  Intel Corporation         82599ES 10-Gigabit SFI/SFP+ Network Connection (rev: 1)         10
   35  09:00.0  Intel Corporation         Ethernet Controller X710 for 10GbE SFP+ (rev: 2)         11
   36  09:00.1  Intel Corporation         Ethernet Controller X710 for 10GbE SFP+ (rev: 2)         11
   37  09:00.2  Intel Corporation         Ethernet Controller X710 for 10GbE SFP+ (rev: 2)         11
   38  09:00.3  Intel Corporation         Ethernet Controller X710 for 10GbE SFP+ (rev: 2)         11
4 years later, we're at 7.14.2, and this feature that is really important is missing.
I'm just wondering if, since Mikrotik core business after all is sell hardware, is a conscious choice or just a bug or something left over since it's not a priority.
Any official statement will be appreciated, since my CHR trial is ending, and this part is definitely important to understand if stay with CHR or use other OS.
 
User avatar
Larsa
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 7:40 pm
Location: The North Pole, Santa's Workshop

Re: SFP info dont appear in ROS v7 x86

Fri Apr 19, 2024 11:30 pm

When running CHR in a virtual machine, all NICs and drivers are managed by the virtual host.
 
jmginer
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:56 am
Contact:

Re: SFP info dont appear in ROS v7 x86

Sat Apr 20, 2024 10:36 am

When running CHR in a virtual machine, all NICs and drivers are managed by the virtual host.
No, they can also be PCI Passthought linked devices.
 
User avatar
Larsa
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 7:40 pm
Location: The North Pole, Santa's Workshop

Re: SFP info dont appear in ROS v7 x86

Sat Apr 20, 2024 11:26 am

As I wrote in another thread, PCIe passthrough and IO-SRV require specially tailored drivers from the manufacturer, i.e. not something MT is involved with. Additionally, special APIs are needed to manage the driver, and these must be adopted by CHR for each new device to enable ROS management a scenario that probably won’t happen.
 
jmginer
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:56 am
Contact:

Re: SFP info dont appear in ROS v7 x86

Sat Apr 20, 2024 9:12 pm

Was working ok in ROS v6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest