Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
ilgmars
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2023 1:57 pm

CHR image for ARM systems?

Fri Aug 18, 2023 2:01 pm

Hello,

Is there a CHR image for ARM?
The plan is to deploy it on the Oracles ARM instance.

Thank you,
Ilgmars
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2908
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Fri Aug 18, 2023 2:02 pm

No such image on "Download page" = No :(
 
User avatar
stmx38
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 620
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Sat Dec 23, 2023 9:37 am

Is there a way to run CHR natively on Apple ARM or UTM is a single solution?
 
User avatar
ahmdzaki18
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2023 7:52 pm
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Contact:

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Sat Dec 23, 2023 10:51 pm

Is it for ARM Ampere cpu? If yes, is it coming soon.
 
User avatar
stmx38
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 620
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Wed Jan 03, 2024 11:12 am

Is it for ARM Ampere cpu?
Software run on Hetzner Ampere run fine on Apple ARM M-series.
If yes, is it coming soon.
Did Mikrotik announce it anywhere?
 
User avatar
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11790
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Wed Jan 03, 2024 11:38 am

If yes, is it coming soon.
Did Mikrotik announce it anywhere?

https://mikrotik.com/download ... scroll down past PPC and before X86 architectures.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 19838
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Thu Jan 04, 2024 4:23 pm

What the hex is Ampere..... MT sold with a tazer ??

Assuming its like a new Cloud virtual computer or something not linux, not windows but something else VPS???
https://amperecomputing.com/

Is it software is it hardware.... seems rather vague to me.
 
User avatar
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11790
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Fri Jan 05, 2024 8:44 am

What the hex is Ampere..... MT sold with a tazer ??

It's an ARM processor with some "AI accelerator" silicon parts built in. Since AI is a huge buzz word, everybody is looking at how to make it run faster. They found out that GPGPUs are not optimal for AI (e.g. even single-precission floating point is too precise), they started to design dedicated acceleration chips, specifically to run AI workloads. Ampere looks like one of those. ROS will very likely not benefit from those AI accelerators, but if this Ampere thing is getting widely used in cloud hosting, then demand for Ampere CHR will only rise. I guess that Ampere CHR will be simple ARM CHR, but why not jump on this hype?
 
sinisa
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 12:46 am

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Fri Jan 05, 2024 8:00 pm

Is there a CHR image for ARM?
The plan is to deploy it on the Oracles ARM instance.
My idea when starting search for "CHR+ARM" was to run it on Rapberry Pi (or clone) as a VM.

For example, I'd like to run CAPsMAN on it, instead of on hap ac2, and leave hap as an AP only.

Waiting for first alpha images...
 
User avatar
floaty
Member
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:24 am
Location: 52°08'32.34"N 14°39'05.0"E

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Wed Feb 28, 2024 10:07 pm

over a pita-situation with an ISE-deployment ... I found this ...
.
https://community.cisco.com/t5/security ... -p/4866726
.
start reading at <<Why I chose Traefik to run in OCI>>
 
User avatar
Larsa
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1173
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 7:40 pm
Location: The North Pole, Santa's Workshop

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Wed Feb 28, 2024 11:12 pm

Ampere Computing LLC, with brands like Ampere Altra and Ampere One, is a family of processors with different design objectives where some models are optimized for networking.
 
User avatar
floaty
Member
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:24 am
Location: 52°08'32.34"N 14°39'05.0"E

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Wed Feb 28, 2024 11:39 pm

You are in a Free Trial. When your trial is over, your account is limited to Always Free resources.
.
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ... and there is no thing in the world, which is always free ... I'm standing against the damp in the cabooze for a while now ... to know that
.
but ... let it last ... 3 ... 2 years ... or a half ( if only for "how to learn to hate the cloud" : )
.
where is my ampere-image ? : )
 
User avatar
stmx38
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 620
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Fri Apr 19, 2024 9:04 pm

v7.15rc [testing] is released!

!) system - added support for AMPERE (R) and ARM64 CHR installations (new ARM64 CHR image available);

Download
Last edited by stmx38 on Sat Apr 20, 2024 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
floaty
Member
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:24 am
Location: 52°08'32.34"N 14°39'05.0"E

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Sat Apr 20, 2024 10:14 am

.
oh really !?
.
nope.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
floaty
Member
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:24 am
Location: 52°08'32.34"N 14°39'05.0"E

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Sat Apr 20, 2024 11:22 am

nix Filetto di Manzo !
.
Pizza Margherita senza Mozzarella ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
.
sparse.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
Znevna
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1348
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 1:04 pm

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Mon Apr 22, 2024 10:15 pm

@floaty, you seem to be a little lost, you ok?
 
User avatar
floaty
Member
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:24 am
Location: 52°08'32.34"N 14°39'05.0"E

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Wed Apr 24, 2024 12:25 am

nah ... fine ... just back in reality
.
but not giving up so fast ... just asked my trusted Oracle Cloud Adoption Assistant in which region I can get my free "VM.Standard.A1.Flex"-maschin'sche ...
there is no rest ... until that 'dingen' is booted with a CHR-image : )
 
User avatar
floaty
Member
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:24 am
Location: 52°08'32.34"N 14°39'05.0"E

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Tue May 14, 2024 9:27 pm

... seems it is not happening in the near future ...
.
<<Thank you for reaching out. Always Free services are based on capacity in the data center, if you cannot create the shape you want is due to there is no capacity currently available in your home region.
Please, be aware that paid accounts have higher priority.
.
You have two options: to wait until some of those resources become available or to upgrade your account to PAYG (Pay-As-You-Go), this way you will only be charged for the paid resources that you consume , that are above and beyond the published free limits, see https://www.oracle.com/emea/cloud/free/#always-free
.
Find below the Free Tier FAQ for more information:
https://www.oracle.com/uk/cloud/free/faq/
.
Please, don't hesitate to reach me if you need anything else.>>
.
... mabe I should ask for a paperweight ... ... or warm underwear ... ... summer is coming ...
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 26440
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Wed May 15, 2024 9:02 am

Your posts are off topic. If you want to discuss how to make a free oracle account ... of whatever that rant is about ... you can make a new topic.

CHR Image for ARM/AMPERE is on the webpage and works fine for example in Hetzner
 
User avatar
floaty
Member
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:24 am
Location: 52°08'32.34"N 14°39'05.0"E

Re: CHR image for ARM systems?

Sun May 26, 2024 12:22 am

pardonner ... wishful surmise ... ~ ... sat me adrift

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests