Community discussions

 
User avatar
pcunite
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 945
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 5:13 am
Location: USA

Changing a connection mark after a certain number of bytes and connection rate. No longer works in 6.30.2.

Sun Aug 02, 2015 3:51 am

I have been using the following script for 6.25 to great effect. I created it for this post to help people mark their traffic. However, this particular section of script does not work correctly under 6.30.2.

Logic:
  • 1. If the connection has not been marked as HTTP_BIG yet, then mark it as HTTP.
    2. If the connection has transferred over 5MB AND the current rate is 200K or more, change the connection mark to HTTP_BIG.
    3. Mark the packets.
Has there been a change to 6.30.2 that prevents this type of logic? Connection-Rate appears to be broken. Connection-Bytes works correctly.

Note: remove the slash (\) below. It is there for display formatting only.
/ip firewall mangle
add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting \ 
connection-mark=!HTTP_BIG connection-state=new new-connection-mark=HTTP port=80,443 protocol=tcp

add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting \ 
connection-mark=HTTP connection-bytes=500000-0 connection-rate=200k-100M new-connection-mark=HTTP_BIG protocol=tcp

add action=mark-packet chain=prerouting \ 
connection-mark=HTTP_BIG new-packet-mark=HTTP_BIG passthrough=no

add action=mark-packet chain=prerouting \ 
connection-mark=HTTP new-packet-mark=HTTP passthrough=no
 
freemannnn
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:29 pm

Re: Changing a connection mark after a certain number of bytes and connection rate. No longer works in 6.30.2.

Wed Aug 12, 2015 4:41 pm

i confirm also that this no longer works with 6.30.2
if i remove connection-rate, it works!
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Changing a connection mark after a certain number of bytes and connection rate. No longer works in 6.30.2.

Thu Aug 13, 2015 2:00 am

im on 6.30 connection bytes is working but connection rate dont

i will upgrade to 6.30.2 bug fix to test
 
freemannnn
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:29 pm

Re: Changing a connection mark after a certain number of bytes and connection rate. No longer works in 6.30.2.

Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:47 am

anybody knows in which previous version of ros "connection-rate" is working ok?
mikrotik can u confirm that this is a bug of 6.30.2 ?
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Changing a connection mark after a certain number of bytes and connection rate. No longer works in 6.30.2.

Thu Aug 13, 2015 1:54 pm

anybody knows in which previous version of ros "connection-rate" is working ok?
mikrotik can u confirm that this is a bug of 6.30.2 ?
i have a 6.26 implementation with connection-rate working
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Changing a connection mark after a certain number of bytes and connection rate. No longer works in 6.30.2.

Thu Aug 13, 2015 1:56 pm

im on 6.30 connection bytes is working but connection rate dont

i will upgrade to 6.30.2 bug fix to test

same issue, connection bytes working but connection rate dont
 
freemannnn
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:29 pm

Re: Changing a connection mark after a certain number of bytes and connection rate. No longer works in 6.30.2.

Thu Aug 13, 2015 2:35 pm

connection-rate will catch also traffic like "youtube,skype,apple facetime,streaming radio,streaming videos", right?

please edit 1st post...

If the connection has transferred over 5MB AND...
to
If the connection has transferred over 0.5MB AND...
 
freemannnn
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:29 pm

Re: Changing a connection mark after a certain number of bytes and connection rate. No longer works in 6.30.2.

Thu Aug 13, 2015 6:01 pm

i just downgrade to 6.26 and yes it works!
 
freemannnn
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:29 pm

Re: Changing a connection mark after a certain number of bytes and connection rate. No longer works in 6.30.2.

Sat Aug 15, 2015 2:28 pm

does not work also in 6.31 with reset configuration!
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Changing a connection mark after a certain number of bytes and connection rate. No longer works in 6.30.2.

Sun Aug 16, 2015 7:05 pm

does not work also in 6.31 with reset configuration!
please report it at

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=99531

maybe we can achieve it solved on bugfix release

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 65 guests