Community discussions

 
killersoft
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 2:34 pm
Location: Victoria, Australia
Contact:

SFP in SFP+ slot

Tue Oct 27, 2015 1:29 pm

Hi, this has probably been asked before, but can I use say 2x CRS210-8G-2S+IN or CRS226-24G-2S+IN but use 1Gbps SFP's(S-85DLC05D) rather than 10Gbps sfp's.? I guess more generally can I use a standard SFP in a SFP+

Cheer
Greg
MIT, BIT, ITIL, CERT IV Electronics.
 
User avatar
bajodel
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 545
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 8:30 am
Location: Italy

Re: SFP in SFP+ slot

Tue Oct 27, 2015 2:45 pm

Hi, this has probably been asked before, but can I use say 2x CRS210-8G-2S+IN or CRS226-24G-2S+IN but use 1Gbps SFP's(S-85DLC05D) rather than 10Gbps sfp's.? I guess more generally can I use a standard SFP in a SFP+
10Gb SFP+ sockets are usually backward compatible with SFP, but this is not guaranteed.

Take a look here, it seems you have to manually set port speed >> http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=80057
 
User avatar
doneware
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: SFP in SFP+ slot

Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:37 pm

Hi, this has probably been asked before, but can I use say 2x CRS210-8G-2S+IN or CRS226-24G-2S+IN but use 1Gbps SFP's(S-85DLC05D) rather than 10Gbps sfp's.?
the thing with crs2xx is, that only one of the 2 SFP+ slots is backward compatible.
this is true both for the crs226 and the crs210. to my best knowledge, crs212 does
support 10G SFP+ only in it's singe sfp+ slot.

this one however sums it all up:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/MikroTik_ ... lity_table
#TR0359
 
killersoft
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 2:34 pm
Location: Victoria, Australia
Contact:

Re: SFP in SFP+ slot

Wed Oct 28, 2015 8:34 am

Thanks for the info.
MIT, BIT, ITIL, CERT IV Electronics.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 70 guests