Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
sipj
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 11:24 am

CHR Licence on replicated instance

Mon Sep 27, 2021 10:19 am

I have two Proxmox servers, primary and backup.
On the primary server I have installed a mikrotik with P10 license and whole disk is replicated to the backup server.

In case of failure of the primary server, I run mikrotik from replicated disk (with actual configuration) on the backup server,
but unfortunately the FREE license appears.
The license cannot be reactivated without disabling traffic because it is overwhelmed by normal traffic.

Is there any solution to start a new instance on another server with a correct licence?
 
olgale
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 3:33 pm

Re: CHR Licence on replicated instance

Tue Sep 28, 2021 7:08 am

Hello!

You can use license on one instance in one time. If you want to transfer the license from one CHR machine to another you must transfer the license on your MikroTik account (use button "Transfer" in "All CHR keys") and then run "system license renew" on your CHR machine. You can transfer the license as many times as needed but it should be done manually and second CHR should be registered on same MikroTik account. When you will register CHR on your account it will get Trial license with selected level. Trial license is valid for 60 days.
On other hand if you will have Trial license there is no need to transfer license every time as it will work with same speed as perpetual license. However after Trial ends you will not be able to upgrade ROS on the router with ended Trial license.
More about CHRs you can find here:
https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/pages/vi ... d=18350234
 
sipj
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 11:24 am

Re: CHR Licence on replicated instance

Tue Oct 12, 2021 11:42 am

All of the above is clear.
BUT the problem is that all these operations will take x minutes and must be done by someone who understands mikrotik, licensing, etc. I am talking about a quick and easy way to run a backup to anyone over the phone, which would be possible in Proxmox with one click. If there was no problem with moving the license.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests