Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
jwab
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2021 12:30 am

Simple routing Q

Tue Oct 12, 2021 2:58 am

Hi guys,

New to the forum and relitivly new to Mikrotik and routing in general so hope you can help. This is what I want to do:

I have a Cambium SM radio powered via ether5 on an hap AC Lite which has a PPPOE interface attached.
I have a bridge with ether1-4 & Wlan1-2.

Address:192.168.1.1/24 Network:192.168.1.0 Interface:bridge1
Address:169.254.1.2/30 Network:169.254.1.0 Interface:ether5
Address pool: 192.168.1.50-254
DHCP server: bridge1 network 192.168.1.0 DNS 192.168.1.1

My question is, currently I can ping and SSH to the cambium station from the hap but I cannot ping or ssh to the cambium from a device on the bridge1 network.

I checked the IP routes and it shows dynamic routes for each network on the correct gateway's. IE to reach 169.254.1.0/30 > ether 5 reachable 192.168.1.0/24 > bridge 1 reachable. Which is why I guess I can ping and ssh from the router to the Cambium.

How come when a request from a device on the 192.168.1.0/24 network doesn't get routed to the 196.254.1.0/30 network? I'm sure it's simple routing 101 but I'm lost.

Hope you can help.
 
akakua
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:52 pm

Re: Simple routing Q

Tue Oct 12, 2021 12:02 pm

 
jwab
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2021 12:30 am

Re: Simple routing Q

Wed Oct 13, 2021 2:50 am

Thanks for the informative link. So I tried something else and set the cambium with a LAN address of 192.168.0.2/30 with the router 192.168.0.1/30, basically swapped out the subsets.
Again I can ping from the router but not from devices on the LAN network of 192.168.1.0/24. dynamic routes show that anything going to 192.168.0.0/30 goes to eth5.

I also tried something else which worked that was I put another hap in place of the cambium and matched the above network settings. Again I could ping/ssh from the router but not from devices connected to it, so I added a default route to the new hap back to the main router and bingo my devices on the main lan could ping/ssh into the new hap.

So how come the cambium won't return traffic out of the interface that is connected and configured?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], LeChuck1988, mducharme, Semrush [Bot] and 48 guests