Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
truefriendcz
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 11:07 am

2 WAN and IP Cloud

Thu Jan 20, 2022 5:33 pm

Hello. I have two ISP WAN connection and one have Public IP but IP Cloud get IP from second connection (non-public IP).

How can I define which MT connection to use for the IP Cloud service?
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11736
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: 2 WAN and IP Cloud

Thu Jan 20, 2022 6:34 pm

I believe the IP cloud service automatically connects to the primary WAN, the default route of choice.
SO if WAN1 is your primary WAN and has the shortest path I believe that should work for you?

What does your IP routes look like take a snapshot of the page and in paint rub out enough of the public IP so its visible but not known......


One may be able to force the service to a particular WAN but that is mangling and more......not easiest to do.

This is the closest I can find to your question.
viewtopic.php?p=875262&hilit=IP+CLOUD+m ... te#p875262
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
truefriendcz
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 11:07 am

Re: 2 WAN and IP Cloud

Fri Jan 21, 2022 6:15 pm

I followed this guide... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7HgrUmRA6Ac

I believe the IP cloud service automatically connects to the primary WAN, the default route of choice.
SO if WAN1 is your primary WAN and has the shortest path I believe that should work for you?

What does your IP routes look like take a snapshot of the page and in paint rub out enough of the public IP so its visible but not known......


One may be able to force the service to a particular WAN but that is mangling and more......not easiest to do.

This is the closest I can find to your question.
viewtopic.php?p=875262&hilit=IP+CLOUD+m ... te#p875262
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11736
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: 2 WAN and IP Cloud

Fri Jan 21, 2022 10:39 pm

What is your point?

a. your config is now working and you dont need futher help?
b. that you like to link to youtube videos that have nothing to do with the title of the thread? ( 2 Wan and iP Cloud does not equal 2 WAN and 2 LAN ?? )
c. that you are lost trying to fix a wet noodle up a straw??
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
truefriendcz
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 11:07 am

Re: 2 WAN and IP Cloud

Mon Jan 24, 2022 1:46 am

What is your point?

a. your config is now working and you dont need futher help?
b. that you like to link to youtube videos that have nothing to do with the title of the thread? ( 2 Wan and iP Cloud does not equal 2 WAN and 2 LAN ?? )
c. that you are lost trying to fix a wet noodle up a straw??
a. Yes, it has already started working. I played with it a bit until I managed to come up with a working configuration
b. I sent what I did to configure the router
c. If you consider MikroTik a straw, I'm still wet, but it's not about water but about sweat

I'm sending a working configuration in the screenshot.

However, another problem arose, namely that I could not access the IP server (srv) from a client in a bridge of a different network scope.

PING to a given IP address from a Windows client fails at all and from MikroTik sometimes yes, sometimes no (tools, ping). Can you determine where I have something wrong?
("Firewall - Filter Rules" is empty)
I want access from 192.168.55.254 (bridge-LAN-Clients) to 192.168.70.5 (bridge-LAN-Servers).

lte1 (WAN1) = public IP - access from internet to "srv" device
lte2 (WAN2) = private IP - used for surfing on mobile network
wlan2 (WAN3) = private IP - using for surfing on WiFi
2022-01-24-MTac3.PNG
2022-01-24-MTac3-2.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8178
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: 2 WAN and IP Cloud

Mon Jan 24, 2022 2:02 am

/ip route rule
add action=lookup-only-in-table dst-address=192.168.0.0/16 table=main
Come on people, do you really have to quote full posts? It's annoying and in most cases useless.
 
truefriendcz
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 11:07 am

Re: 2 WAN and IP Cloud

Mon Jan 24, 2022 3:47 am

/ip route rule
add action=lookup-only-in-table dst-address=192.168.0.0/16 table=main
It's working! Thank you!
And I want to ask why ping to IP 192.168.70.5 works from a Windows station but does not work from MikroTik - Tools - Ping (with selected interface bridge-LAN-Clients)?
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8178
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: 2 WAN and IP Cloud

Mon Jan 24, 2022 4:43 am

According to your screenshot, 192.168.70.5 should be connected to bridge-LAN-Servers, not to bridge-LAN-Clients.
Come on people, do you really have to quote full posts? It's annoying and in most cases useless.
 
truefriendcz
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 11:07 am

Re: 2 WAN and IP Cloud

Mon Jan 24, 2022 10:56 am

According to your screenshot, 192.168.70.5 should be connected to bridge-LAN-Servers, not to bridge-LAN-Clients.
I do not know for which direction this value is determined whether pinging NA ... LAN-Clients or FROM LAN-Clients is performed. But what I was watching was that ping Z LAN-Clients worked despite the addition of a routing rule.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8178
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: 2 WAN and IP Cloud

Mon Jan 24, 2022 7:17 pm

Direction is always from router itself. If you expect that it somehow tests ping from one interface to another, it doesn't do that. Normally you don't use that parameter at all, destination interface is determined by routes. And route to 192.168.70.5 (192.168.70.0/24) points to bridge-LAN-Servers.

What worked or didn't is difficult to see from screenshots, as they don't show all details. It's better to post exported config (/export hide-sensitive file=myconfig).
Come on people, do you really have to quote full posts? It's annoying and in most cases useless.
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3272
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: 2 WAN and IP Cloud

Mon Jan 24, 2022 8:08 pm

If you want to update the cloud IP address from another WAN than your default ( main ) without changing who is the main one or not you can see a working example from @sindy here viewtopic.php?t=167396#p821750

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 27 guests