Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
hgkdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:31 pm

Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sat Jan 22, 2022 1:40 pm

Hallo,

I have several hAP ac2 working in my house. One of these reboots quite frequently (approx every 1-3 houres).

Here ist what log shows after reboot:
 jan/21 09:18:59 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown by watchdog timer
 jan/21 09:19:00 system,error,critical kernel failure in previous boot
 jan/21 09:19:05 interface,info vlan10 link up
 jan/21 09:19:05 interface,info vlan20 link up
 jan/21 09:19:05 interface,info vlan1 link up
 jan/21 09:19:05 interface,info vlan50 link up
 jan/21 09:19:05 interface,info vlan61 link up
 jan/21 09:19:05 interface,info vlan62 link up
 jan/21 09:19:05 interface,info vlan60 link up
 jan/21 09:19:07 interface,info ether1-Trunk link up (speed 1G, full duplex)
 jan/21 09:19:12 wireless,info 64:D1:54:5D:B1:4E@wlan2-wire established connection on 5500000, SSID EGLink
 jan/21 09:19:16 dhcp,info dhcp-client on vlan1 got IP address 192.168.178.8
 11:05:28 system,critical,info ntp change time Jan/21/2022 09:19:48 => Jan/22/2022 11:05:28
 11:34:50 wireless,info FA:4D:9D:44:98:30@wlan1-Heim: connected, signal strength -81
 11:35:06 wireless,info FA:4D:9D:44:98:30@wlan1-Heim: disconnected, extensive data loss
 11:35:23 system,info,account user admin logged in from 10.10.10.37 via winbox
 11:35:29 wireless,info 60:03:08:A8:A0:26@wlan1-Heim: connected, signal strength -54
 11:37:12 wireless,info 9E:85:68:0C:E7:E5@wlan1-ff-gast: connected, signal strength -64
 11:42:44 wireless,info 9E:85:68:0C:E7:E5@wlan1-ff-gast: disconnected, extensive data loss
 
Configuration is attached.

I can't find an error in the configuration, but of course there might be a configuration issue.

What could I do to find the cause of the issue?

Thank you!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3286
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sat Jan 22, 2022 7:27 pm

I 've not seen your whole config line by line, however you have a watch address enabled and that is 192.168.178.1, so if your device can't reach that address it will finally reboot...
So, is there a chance it can't reach the watch address ?

Another chance for the device to be rebooted from watchdog, is if it is unresponsive for a minute...

What seems strange is the kernel failure in previous boot
 
hgkdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:31 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sat Jan 22, 2022 9:11 pm

Thank you for your reply. I activated the watchdog in order to regain access to the device without the need of a physical reboot at the device.

So, I'm quite sure that this is not the origin of the "kernel failure in previous boot". I'm looking for a way to get more information from the device.
 
User avatar
Znevna
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 644
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 1:04 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sat Jan 22, 2022 10:40 pm

try setting cpu frequency to 716MHz
MTKEK Certified, IP Sparky
Check yer peers!
 
hgkdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:31 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 11:00 am

try setting cpu frequency to 716MHz
Ok, I will will try and report. Did you observed that before or is it just trial and error?
 
hgkdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:31 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 2:07 pm

try setting cpu frequency to 716MHz
Ok, I will will try and report. Did you observed that before or is it just trial and error?
Unfortunately, that didn't helped. Swiched back to 'auto'.
 
hgkdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:31 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 3:35 pm

Another strange thing: After each reboot I get an ntp log entry like
13:04:26 system,critical,info ntp change time Jan/21/2022 09:19:33 => Jan/23/2022 13:04:26
How can it be that clock is running that wrong with just 1-3 hours between reboots?
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1020
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 4:24 pm

Logical if time is not written to storage before reboot happens.
It is strange though it goes back some days whereas reboots happen each couple of hours.
I've seen it happen as well on some previous version of ROS7.
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1020
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 4:31 pm

Adding
Do you also have this problem on 7.1 or 7.2rc1 ?
Already tried clean netinstall on that device of 7.1 1 ?
 
hgkdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:31 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 5:39 pm

Adding
Do you also have this problem on 7.1 or 7.2rc1 ?
Already tried clean netinstall on that device of 7.1 1 ?
As far as I can see there is no 7.1 for the hAP ac2. I'll try 7.2rc1 later. I will also try to get netinstal run on my mac under wine.

Thank you very much for you suggestions!
 
kalamaja
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 3:13 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 5:45 pm

As far as I can see there is no 7.1 for the hAP ac2. I'll try 7.2rc1 later. I will also try to get netinstal run on my mac under wine.
There definetly is. Download https://download.mikrotik.com/routeros/ ... .1-arm.npk, upload to Files and reboot.
Don't go to 7.2rc1 yet.
 
hgkdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:31 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 6:33 pm

As far as I can see there is no 7.1 for the hAP ac2. I'll try 7.2rc1 later. I will also try to get netinstal run on my mac under wine.
There definetly is. Download https://download.mikrotik.com/routeros/ ... .1-arm.npk, upload to Files and reboot.
Don't go to 7.2rc1 yet.
Well, isn't this 7.1.1? I'm already running that version.
 
biomesh
Member
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:25 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 7:24 pm

Have you tried a different power supply (swap the one with the bad device with one of the good ones) or maybe netinstalled the device?

It could be some sort of nand/flash issue and that it why I mentioned netinstall.
 
User avatar
Jotne
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2838
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:17 am
Location: Magrathean

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 7:27 pm

Do it reboot with default config?
My guess is that here are some config/function that do eat memory or other resources. Router the reboots.

Do you need to use 7.x?
 
Use Splunk> to log/monitor your MikroTik Router(s). See link below. :mrgreen:

MikroTik->Splunk
 
 
hgkdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:31 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 7:35 pm

Have you tried a different power supply (swap the one with the bad device with one of the good ones) or maybe netinstalled the device?

It could be some sort of nand/flash issue and that it why I mentioned netinstall.
Thank you! I will try a different power supply and netinstall. I will report back!
 
hgkdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:31 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 7:37 pm

Do it reboot with default config?
My guess is that here are some config/function that do eat memory or other resources. Router the reboots.

Do you need to use 7.x?
No, I don't need 7.x. Will try older version asap. Will also try default config.

@All: Thank you all for your suggestions. I will take a while to perform the tests (also because I have to work ;-) . I will report...
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3286
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 8:00 pm

Do it reboot with default config?
My guess is that here are some config/function that do eat memory or other resources. Router the reboots.

Do you need to use 7.x?
I agree...

Also, did you have that configuration on v6 and upgraded to v7 ?
If yes, did you have same problems on v 6?

I would suggest you downgrade to v6, reset to defaults and test the device for a few days...
 
hgkdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:31 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 8:12 pm

Do it reboot with default config?
My guess is that here are some config/function that do eat memory or other resources. Router the reboots.

Do you need to use 7.x?
I agree...

Also, did you have that configuration on v6 and upgraded to v7 ?
If yes, did you have same problems on v 6?

I would suggest you downgrade to v6, reset to defaults and test the device for a few days...
Yes, will do this later.

BTW: Kind of a record right now. Up for more than 6 hours. Don't think that it' a memory problem according to this:
 uptime: 6h5m36s
                  version: 7.1.1 (stable)
               build-time: Dec/21/2021 11:53:05
         factory-software: 6.45.9
              free-memory: 54.3MiB
             total-memory: 128.0MiB
                      cpu: ARMv7
                cpu-count: 4
            cpu-frequency: 448MHz
                 cpu-load: 3%
           free-hdd-space: 2024.0KiB
          total-hdd-space: 15.2MiB
  write-sect-since-reboot: 15803
         write-sect-total: 37106
               bad-blocks: 0%
        architecture-name: arm
               board-name: hAP ac^2
                 platform: MikroTik
 
User avatar
Jotne
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2838
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:17 am
Location: Magrathean

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:39 pm

To see memory problem, write down memmory usage every 30 min or 1 hour (depends how often it reboots.)
If memory usage goes up and not goes down again, you may have a problem.
You can use an external program like SNMP tools or use Splunk from my signature to monitor the router.
I had a memory problem with DoH
 
Use Splunk> to log/monitor your MikroTik Router(s). See link below. :mrgreen:

MikroTik->Splunk
 
 
East2
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 6:50 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Mon Jan 24, 2022 11:22 am

Disable watchdog...or config ip.
Old problem with watchdog reboot.
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3286
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Mon Jan 24, 2022 11:23 am

Disable watchdog...or config ip.
Old problem with watchdog reboot.
What do you mean its an old problem ?
 
hgkdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:31 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Mon Jan 24, 2022 11:35 am

Disable watchdog...or config ip.
Old problem with watchdog reboot.
Thank you! At the beginning the watchdoc was disabled. I enabled watchdog and configured ip to my internet router because I allway had to physicaly reboot the device that was not reachable over ethernet anymore. Activating watchdog has not changed typical time between reboots for this device.

But anyway: could you please elaborate what ols watchdog rebbot problem you are addressing?
 
hgkdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:31 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Mon Jan 24, 2022 11:39 am

To see memory problem, write down memmory usage every 30 min or 1 hour (depends how often it reboots.)
If memory usage goes up and not goes down again, you may have a problem.
You can use an external program like SNMP tools or use Splunk from my signature to monitor the router.
I had a memory problem with DoH
Thank you very much for your comment. I'll put "set up SNMP" on my to do list for that device. And also thank you for pointing out Splunk - I will have a look.
 
East2
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 6:50 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2

Mon Jan 24, 2022 11:41 am

Disable watchdog...or config ip.
Old problem with watchdog reboot.
What do you mean its an old problem ?
Have some reboots in x86 and ARM... 46...ROS versions.
 
hgkdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:31 pm

Re: Frequent reboots of hAP ac2  [SOLVED]

Sun Jan 30, 2022 5:38 pm

Finally, I have a stable setup.

As you could see from my original post, I used a wireless trunk with nv2. This hAP ac2 is a station. AP for this nv2-trunk is a RB922UAGS-5HPacD. The RB922 was stable all the time.

Now I have replaced the wireless nv2 trunk with G.hn (ethernet over coax) connection. The hAP ac2 is running stable (for more than one day now) since I disabled the nv2 connection.

My impression is that the hAP ac may be to weak to handle the nv2 wireless trunk.

Thanks again for all your sugestions!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], sebacho0956, Semrush [Bot], Zacharias and 53 guests