Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 11816
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 1:43 am

Hopefully Sob does not scour these forums ;-)

Okay using hyperv on a laptop, I managed to get as far as creating the external switch (ether1), the internal switch (ether2), starting up the router,
Starting Winbox and seeing both the router and my other MT devices available for selection.

The laptop hosting this is connected via an access port to my hex acting as a switch back to the main router via another managed switch.
All to say is that the CHR picked up DHCP client address right quick via ether 1, no problems.
I created the DHCP server for the internal LAN, including the IP address and pool etc....
Added the required source nat rule (source address was the subnet of the new LAN, action masquerade).
However the IP Route created by DHCP client settings failed to resolve ?
I tried making a WAN interface list and adding ether1 to it, to use out-interface-list=WAN to see if that made any difference not that it should.
Again no dice.
So I am stuck at the last mile.

I did check the laptop and its actually connected to the main router on a different LANIP than the LANIP given to the CHR (its WANIP from the CHR perspective) .
Any pointers appreciated.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8208
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 1:53 am

I'm everywhere. Procrastination is terrible disease. They should close down this forum, or I won't get any work done. ;)

Are you saying that CHR isn't in same subnet as laptop? Then it's probably some local subnet used by virtualization. I don't know Hyper-V, but look at CHR's virtual network adapter type, you want it bridged with laptop's physical adapter.
Come on people, do you really have to quote full posts? It's annoying and in most cases useless.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 11816
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 2:45 am

Yes that is all done,
The laptop itself and the lanip given to the CHR ( the CHRs WANIP from its perspective) are on the same subnet as expected.
Everything was setup correctly on the ethernet adapter etc..
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8208
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 3:35 am

So what exactly do you mean by:
However the IP Route created by DHCP client settings failed to resolve ?
Is the LAN (CHR's WAN) accessible, can you ping other devices in it (from CHR)?
Come on people, do you really have to quote full posts? It's annoying and in most cases useless.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 11816
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 3:50 am

The LAN subnet is 192.168.22.0/24
I can ping 192.168.22.1
I cannot ping 192.168.0.1

In the routes it shows
diUdH dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 and gateway=192.168.0.1 ALL IN RED.

So how can it get an valid dhcp client from the vlan but not reach the internet.........So weird.
The IP address given to it is dynamic as expected 192.168.0.1/24 etc.......

when I open winbox i see all my devices as the subnet is the trusted vlan.....
Last edited by anav on Fri Jan 14, 2022 4:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8208
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 3:58 am

Where did 192.168.0.1 come from? Is it perhaps time for a drawing? :)
Come on people, do you really have to quote full posts? It's annoying and in most cases useless.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 11816
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 4:04 am

Its dirt simple
CCR1009 trusted vlan is 192.168.0.1/0/24
The laptop is hooked up to a hex switch on my desk.
The hex switch is connected to a dlink switch which is connected to the ccr1009.

The ip address dynamic given to the CHR is
192.168.0.109/24 network 192.168.0.0 via interface ether1 (which is connected to the designated external virtual switch).

(very good video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ln4wCfprZaU&t=1300s )

However if this hyperv attempt fails going to try Haddads, GN3, virtual box, approach.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 8:17 am

FWIW I prefer Virtualbox over Hyper-V as virtualization environment for personal usage.
Some might get all over me for this but I never got Hyper-V to a point where I could reliably use it (given its embedded in some Windows versions, it should be easier).
I know it's being used a lot but again, not by me.

Created lots and lots of virtual servers on Vbox, always was able to get in and out via network.

PS did I get this right you are refusing to provide us a picture and detailed info yet require assistance ?
Yes ?
:lol:
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 11816
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 1:31 pm

I am a terrible artist......... not needed, okay thanks.....
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 2:15 pm

That CHR thing might be interesting to play with ... on VBox.

On Hyper-V, I see in the wiki you can only use Generation 1 Hyper-V virtual machine.
You have that covered ?
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8208
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 3:32 pm

It's probably just some small stupid mistake. CHR gets address from CCR1009's DHCP server, right? And I guess it's possible to communicate with other 192.168.0.x devices from CHR? What if you add another default route manually?

Edit: corrected subnet
Last edited by Sob on Fri Jan 14, 2022 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Come on people, do you really have to quote full posts? It's annoying and in most cases useless.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 11816
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 4:51 pm

I'm everywhere. Procrastination is terrible disease. They should close down this forum, or I won't get any work done. ;)
Amen brother!
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 11816
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 5:22 pm

It's probably just some small stupid mistake. CHR gets address from CCR1009's DHCP server, right? And I guess it's possible to communicate with other 192.168.1.x devices from CHR? What if you add another default route manually?
I am wondering whether the fact that I use a USB to ethernet adapter for the laptop has anything to do with it............doubt it but ya never know.....

Okay, tried it this morning and now its working as I can ping 8.8.8.8 no problem, arggg.
ON the routes though it doesnt say reachable.........
DAd dst=0.0.0.0/0 gwy=192.168.0.1

When I put in another manual route same thing except
AS+ dst=0.0.0.0/0 gwy=192.168.0.1

I tried 8.8.4.4 which didnt work yesterday but it works today as does 9.9.9.9
I tried 1.1.1.1 and I get a lot of timeouts,,,,,,, very weird ....

using CLI I pinged mikrotik.com and it works fine. 130ms time but works.......
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Q. Why am I not seeing reachable in any of the routes??
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8208
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 5:29 pm

Maybe you installed v7? It doesn't say "reachable" anymore.
Come on people, do you really have to quote full posts? It's annoying and in most cases useless.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 11816
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Fri Jan 14, 2022 5:34 pm

Ahh well yes 7.11 of course............... good to know... i am not going bananas........
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 11816
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Sun Jan 16, 2022 5:32 pm

Switched to GNS3 and virtual box and now able to setup a basic LAB.
Will keep you posted on a real lab when I get roundtuit
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
elico
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:23 am

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Wed Jan 26, 2022 4:04 pm

I am using CHR on-top of hyper-v both V6 and V7 for the last couple years.
The basics are that you need:
* Gen 1 VM (will not boot at all on Gen 2)
* Meet minimum RAM requirements, 128MB+ for V6 and 256MB+ for V7, I am using 384MB for 2 CPUS and 8 interfaces for V7
* Basic understanding of how Hyper-v Vswitch/Bridge works and know that it's only possible to connect to a WIFI network behind the Host NAT

Have you tried to use torch+wireshark to see what happens on the interfaces?
Also, not all NICS support VLAN so it's another thing you should verify before testing, ie try non VLAN or "native" port.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 11816
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: MY FIRST CHR POST STUCK no INTERNET

Thu Jan 27, 2022 5:51 pm

Now trying eve-ng, and if easier then will not use GNS3
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest