Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
nbhatti
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 09, 2022 10:20 am

CRS317-1G-16S+ packet loss in LAG

Mon May 09, 2022 10:27 am

Hi, I have a pair of CRS317-1G-16S+ connected over 2 fibers with UN-10G-LC-40-B, 10G modules. Port 1 and 2 of SW-A are connected to port 1 and 2 of SW-B in an active LAG configuration and were working fine until today I started to see packet loss at the router connected to the far end of the second CRS317-1G-16S+ which is port 9. If I disable any of the ports from the LAG, the packet loss goes away. Errors page in the gui is not showing any packet drops or any other errors and since there are not much of logging mechanism available, I can't seem to figure out why the packet drops.

Any ideas/hints on what to look for or how to troubleshoot?

Thanks,
 
adcre
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2021 4:18 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+ packet loss in LAG

Mon May 09, 2022 4:31 pm

Hello

What version are you using?

Can you post configuration on the bridge and bonding interfaces?

Best Regards,

Diego
 
nbhatti
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 09, 2022 10:20 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+ packet loss in LAG  [SOLVED]

Mon May 09, 2022 7:45 pm

I am running SwitchOS 2.13, there is no bond or bridge, it's just a plan LAG. But I figured out the issue was a VLAN creating a loop across the network. Removed the VLAN and things seems stable for now.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1985
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+ packet loss in LAG

Mon May 09, 2022 9:06 pm

thank you for sharing the issue and the resolution for it
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7679
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+ packet loss in LAG

Mon May 09, 2022 9:08 pm

I am running SwitchOS 2.13, ...
which means you posted question in wrong part of forum. You would have better chance to attract attention of some experienced SwOS use in SwOS section.
BR,
Metod
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7004
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Italy, but my Heart is in Україна

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+ packet loss in LAG

Mon May 09, 2022 9:16 pm

( @mkx, just ask ;) )
 
nbhatti
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 09, 2022 10:20 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+ packet loss in LAG

Tue May 10, 2022 9:18 am

Issue seems to be back. This is not a VLAN issue. Attached are my configs, since there is no CLI, so only screenshots are attached. I am still failing to understand if this is switch issue or something wrong with the LAG.
Screen Shot 2022-05-10 at 11.17.52.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-10 at 11.15.00.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-10 at 11.15.10.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-10 at 11.16.21.png
Appreciate any pointers to figure out what's happening.

Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
adcre
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2021 4:18 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+ packet loss in LAG

Tue May 10, 2022 10:01 am

Hello nbhatti,

I do not use swos only routeros but there are two things I consider strange from your screenshots:

1.- You got lots of rx pauses in sfp4 port. What is in that port? does it work at 10gbps or at 1gbps
2.- You got only tx flow control, I think it should be configured in both tx and rx but I can be wrong.

From (1): Is it posible that whith that number of pauses you lost packets.

Best Regards,

Diego
 
nbhatti
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 09, 2022 10:20 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+ packet loss in LAG

Tue May 10, 2022 10:58 am

Hello nbhatti,

I do not use swos only routeros but there are two things I consider strange from your screenshots:

1.- You got lots of rx pauses in sfp4 port. What is in that port? does it work at 10gbps or at 1gbps
2.- You got only tx flow control, I think it should be configured in both tx and rx but I can be wrong.

From (1): Is it posible that whith that number of pauses you lost packets.

Best Regards,

Diego
Those rx pauses are for some other port. It's a 10G uplink for Broacde switch, but I have enabled both rx/tx on both LAG ports but still seeing packet loss.
 
adcre
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2021 4:18 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+ packet loss in LAG

Tue May 10, 2022 12:40 pm

I think diagrams can help understand the problem (L2 and L3 needed)

Also you post only partial data, no both switches data.

Source ip and destination ip of traffic with losts pings.

Best Regards,

Diego
 
nbhatti
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 09, 2022 10:20 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+ packet loss in LAG

Tue May 10, 2022 2:24 pm

It's a simple network, I am pinging from the firewall on the left side and the firewall is connected to Brocade which has an 10G uplink to CCS. My port utilization is around 150 Mbps average.
Screen Shot 2022-05-10 at 16.18.07.png
With both links ON, I see the the following packet loss on the router which is direct connect to my firewall.
Screen Shot 2022-05-10 at 16.22.29.png
10.2.20.23 is the firewall which has direct VLAN interface 999 as well. When I turn off any of the 10G link from the LAG, I don't see any of these packet loss. Both of the CCS have identical config except the right side has router connected and left side has switch->Firewall.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 915
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+ packet loss in LAG

Fri May 13, 2022 8:35 pm

You're doing well to run 10Gb/s over a 6KM multi-mode fiber - but maybe the technology has improved from what I am used to. However that does not seem to be the issue.

I knw you state that you don't think this is a VLAN related issue (and you may well be right), but can you post screen captures of the VLAN and VLANs tabs.
RB4011iGS+, RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission

Warning: I know enough to be dangerous...

Jim
 
nbhatti
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 09, 2022 10:20 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+ packet loss in LAG

Fri May 13, 2022 10:55 pm

You're doing well to run 10Gb/s over a 6KM multi-mode fiber - but maybe the technology has improved from what I am used to. However that does not seem to be the issue.

I knw you state that you don't think this is a VLAN related issue (and you may well be right), but can you post screen captures of the VLAN and VLANs tabs.
I contacted Mikrotik support and they advised to disable "Add Information Option" in "Systems" menu. They thing that it's a possible software issue where this option can cause some problems when DHCP is forwarded over LAG, which was true in my case. Since I have disabled this option on both of the switches, I don't see any packet drops. :)

Thanks.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests