Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
April
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 6:22 am

Can run OSPF on CRS326-24G-2S+RM

Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:42 pm

Hi guys, Can I run ospf on CRS326-24G-2S+RM. I want to use it as a layer 3 Distribution Switch in my network. Thanks.
 
elbob2002
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 8:15 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Can run OSPF on CRS326-24G-2S+RM

Mon Mar 25, 2019 5:22 pm

Yes you can. With RouterOS only though.
RB5009, RB3011UiAS, RB750GR3, CRS328-24P-4S+, CRS125-24G-1S, CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD, 8 x CHR, Chateau LTE12
 
April
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 6:22 am

Re: Can run OSPF on CRS326-24G-2S+RM

Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:20 pm

Yes you can. With RouterOS only though.
Hi, elbob2002. Do you mean I can run ospf in CRS326-24G-2S+RM only booted with RouterOS.
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1065
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: Can run OSPF on CRS326-24G-2S+RM

Mon Mar 25, 2019 11:59 pm

Yes you can. With RouterOS only though.
Hi, elbob2002. Do you mean I can run ospf in CRS326-24G-2S+RM only booted with RouterOS.
OSPF is a routing protocol. Requires a router. When run under SwitchOS, the CRS326 is functioning as a switch - not a router.
RB4011iGS+, RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them into submission, or they beat me into submission

Warning: I know enough to be dangerous...

Jim
 
joegoldman
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 2:05 am

Re: Can run OSPF on CRS326-24G-2S+RM

Tue Mar 26, 2019 12:36 am

also all routing is done in CPU - CPU's are quite limited in the switches. You may not get much data routed on a switch.
 
PortalNET
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:24 pm

Re: Can run OSPF on CRS326-24G-2S+RM

Thu Sep 29, 2022 4:59 am



Hi, elbob2002. Do you mean I can run ospf in CRS326-24G-2S+RM only booted with RouterOS.
OSPF is a routing protocol. Requires a router. When run under SwitchOS, the CRS326 is functioning as a switch - not a router.

Hiya..

first of all let me thank your for your comment as i having problemas setting up OSFP in point to point mode on 2 devices via SFP+ , because i was using a CRSXXX in the middle running SwitchOS mode.. now i know why OSFP is not running.. thanks alot.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests