Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Josephny
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2022 12:11 am

Class C

Wed Nov 23, 2022 1:48 pm

Not sure if this is the right place to ask.

I have a class C assigned by ARIN.

I moved offices and now have Verizon FIOS (personal, not business).

I also have 3 other sites that use Spectrum Internet (personal, not business).

Is there a way I can continue to use the ARIN assigned publick IPs (either at the main FIOS-served location, or split across my multiple locations)? Maybe some 3rd party to route traffic?

I have Mikrotik routers and Ubiquiti UDM Pros at the locations.

Thank you!
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8941
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: 🇮🇹, my 💔 is in 🇺🇦

Re: Class C

Wed Nov 23, 2022 3:02 pm

Since 1993 the "Class"es no longer exist, are replaced with CIDR...
At most you have a pool of 256 addresses with /24 prefix

You can not split /24 to single IPs or subnet less than /24.
Your ISP must take the management of that pool and route all IPs to your main location,
and the other locations must use VPN tunnels to use internally the addresses.
Remote locations can not use directly any IPs if are from different ISP or if the ISP can not internally split IPs.
✂ Rextended Fragments of Snippets

Vld4UmVHUkdhelJUTTJzOQ==
 
Josephny
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2022 12:11 am

Re: Class C

Wed Nov 23, 2022 3:12 pm

Since 1993 the "Class"es no longer exist, are replaced with CIDR...
At most you have a pool of 256 addresses with /24 prefix

You can not split /24 to single IPs or subnet less than /24.
Your ISP must take the management of that pool and route all IPs to your main location,
and the other locations must use VPN tunnels to use internally the addresses.
Remote locations can not use directly any IPs if are from different ISP or if the ISP can not internally split IPs.
Yes, I have a /24

Is there any way for me to manage that pool and the routing of those IPs?
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8941
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: 🇮🇹, my 💔 is in 🇺🇦

Re: Class C

Wed Nov 23, 2022 3:42 pm

I don't know how you've done it so far on previous office/ISP,
but even if the IPs "belong to you" you still have to rotate them from an attested LIR / AS
or give the administration (not the property) to another LIR / AS
Is better you ask your ISP

Can you post anonymized results of ARIN query?
Only the CIDR section, without the Related Entities (the org and the groups sections)

Like this query, replace 8.8.8 with your start x.x.x
https://search.arin.net/rdap/?query=8.8.8.0%2F24

Check inside the results who is the real "owner" of that block
✂ Rextended Fragments of Snippets

Vld4UmVHUkdhelJUTTJzOQ==
 
Josephny
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2022 12:11 am

Re: Class C

Wed Nov 23, 2022 5:18 pm

It's me:


Source Registry
ARIN
Net Range
x.x.x.0-x.x.x.255
CIDR
x.x.x.0/24
Name
[MY NAME HERE]
Handle
NET-x-x-x-0-1
Parent
NET-x-0-0-0-0
Net Type
DIRECT ALLOCATION
Origin AS
not provided
Registration
Thu, 06 May 1993 04:00:00 GMT (Thu May 06 1993 local time)
Last Changed
Wed, 15 Dec 2021 01:28:45 GMT (Tue Dec 14 2021 local time)
Self
https://rdap.arin.net/registry/ip/x.x.x.0
Alternate
https://whois.arin.net/rest/net/NET-x-x-x-0-1
Port 43 Whois
whois.arin.net
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8941
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: 🇮🇹, my 💔 is in 🇺🇦

Re: Class C

Thu Nov 24, 2022 2:54 am

Ok:
Net Type
DIRECT ALLOCATION
Origin AS
not provided

At this point you can ask your ISP if can handle your route (must be created/modified ARIN route entry) for add on global BGP the route to make the IP usable on your connection.
✂ Rextended Fragments of Snippets

Vld4UmVHUkdhelJUTTJzOQ==
 
Josephny
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2022 12:11 am

Re: Class C

Thu Nov 24, 2022 10:14 am

Ok:
Net Type
DIRECT ALLOCATION
Origin AS
not provided

At this point you can ask your ISP if can handle your route (must be created/modified ARIN route entry) for add on global BGP the route to make the IP usable on your connection.
Verizon FIOS (non-buisness) won't do it.

I was hoping there was some other solution that would allow me to put this block to good use.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 5 guests